We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not what we expected” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Harbour Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Harbour Hotel
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not what we expected”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We arrived at the Grand Habour for a Hen Weekend, the reception area was lovely. We were taken to the spa area where we were greeted with a notice informing guests the jaquzzi was not in use due to refurbishment. We went to the pool area which was lovely, clean and peaceful UNTIL the extremely loud drilling began, not very relaxing for a spa weekend. 4 put of the group of 6 had massages and the beauticians did a great job. We went to the restaurant for our evening meal, we were sat and we asked for some tap water, we asked twice, took 20 minutes to arrive. We then ordered out starters, again a long wait but they were very good. Our main meals arrived well over an hour after our arrival. One of our guests began eating her meal and it was not as it was advertised on the menu. Unfortunately due to it containing and ingredient she is unable to eat it had to be sent back. She did not have time to reorder as we had somewhere else to be so was offered a starter. We were told this would be bought out immediately and in fact it was left in the kitchen and the poor waitress has not been notified. She received her started as we finished our mains. Destiny then became our waitress who had been working her socks off and is a real credit to the team. We ordered our desserts and she ensured we received these in good time. She was such a friendly waitress and really knew what good quality customer service means. Such a shame the rest of the team were like this.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura R, General Manager at Grand Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Nicola C, Thank you for taking the time to write a review, I am sorry to hear it was not as expected. We have not advertised a Jacuzzi as part of the Hotel since April as we are in the process of building a new feature Hot tub and the old one had been removed. This should have been advised to your main booker when booking, my apologies that this does not appear to have reached you. I am pleased to say the New Hot tub will be open on Friday. I am pleased to hear Destiny was able to assist you during your dinner and ensure that this was turned around for you, although I am very sorry that issues occurred to begin with for your meal. All your comments have been passed to the restaurant manager to encompass in the on-going service training that the team have and your kind comments on Destiny shared with her directly.
Kind regards
Laura.
Laura Roberts / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,605 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    385
    466
    401
    216
    137
See reviews for
260
682
56
262
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We were there for my nephews wedding reception, the hotel looks impressive but service awful.
Reasons as follows.
1. The red carpet was not laid out for the bride and grooms arrival. Which was requested and the cost of the wedding should have been edged in gold as we'll.
2. The meal when served was cold and size a joke, although it did taste ok.
3. If you wanted cheese and biscuits that would cost extra. Unbelievable.
4. We had to complain as the air con was not on, although they said it was, tell that to the people who we're flaking out.
5. Service was terrible, although that was not the staffs fault as there were hardly any there, sure the company is trying to save money.
6. Two guests got stuck in the lift and it took about 10-15 minutes for someone to respond to the lift alarm.
7. Only 3 bar staff on for near on two hundred guests.
I could go on but I know I am not going to be the only one complaining.

Although the concierge desk etc we're very nice and helpful. This has not been my first visit to the hotel, we have stopped twice before, but decided we wouldn't stop there again.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else overrated and overpriced
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Charmed36tracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Southampton hotels

Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

we stopped at the grand Harbour Hotel on 17th and 18th oct 2013 before a cruise,as we had in the past. The only difference this time was we opted B&B plus evening meal,this was around £450 plus extra's. The hotel and room of good quality and the pool was great.However we discovered to our amazement when sitting down to order our evening meal,the fee did not cover most of the menu as this counted as extra's.To add salt into the wounds they stuck 2 days car parking on top.
If the room charge was more with no hidden charges we would have be happy.We will not be stopping there again. Dave Curwood

Room Tip: go to premier inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura R, General Manager at Grand Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Dave C, I am sorry to read your review from last year where you did not fully enjoy all aspects of your visit. There have been many changes in the year since you last stayed at the hotel, including a full £4 million hotel refurbishment and restaurant menus. We do still charge for car parking as do all the hotels in the city of Southampton, I am sorry you were not aware of this prior to arrival. I can assure you we have this in the pre arrival email for direct bookings, listed with travel agents and written on our website in the interest of complete transparency of our charges.
Kind Regards
Laura -
Laura Roberts / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danville, Virginia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

My daughter and I stayed in Southampton prior to boarding the Queen Mary 2 for a transatlantic cruise. I picked the Grand Harbour Hotel because of the reviews and the location. We were not disappointed. The hotel is adjacent to the Old Town which still has remnants of the wall. We walked to a shopping center from there and later walked to Oxford Street to have a drink at the White Star Pub (where the Titanic crew had met) and dinner at Kuti's Indian Restaurant on Oxford Street. The next day we walked around Old Town, had a delicious lunch at the historic Duke of Wellington Pub, then walked across the street to take the Red Funnel Ferry to Isle of Wight. The next day we simply walked across the street and boarded our ship. The hotel was very nice, very comfortable and the people at the desk and the concierge were friendly and helpful. I would certainly recommend staying at the Grand Harbour Hotel when in Southampton.

Room Tip: When we arrived they had us already booked into a room on the front with a view of the harbor and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Harbour H... S, General Manager at Grand Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Reporter

Thank you for your wonderful 5 star review, it was a pleasure to read that you not only enjoyed your time at the Grand Harbour Hotel but that you were able to explore the local area and enjoy some of the delights that Southampton has to offer and are right on our doorstep.

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards
Laura Roberts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

I only have good memories from this hotel. And when we like a place we visit again and we recommend to our relatives or friends. This is not new. There's nothing that I didn't like in this hotel. The breakfast was simply delicious and a lot of diversity, the staff was very very attentive, hotel and our room very clean.... And what a fantastic dinner with my husband. There were 2girls so attentive with us serving our meal. Our room was perfect. Very comfortable. For a visitor the location of this hotel at the city is perfect. Our stay for 3nights in a deluxe king room was a little bit pricey but it worths. Definitely if I visit the beautiful city of southampton I will stay in this hotel again. Thanks staff of grand harbour hotel for a amazing stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BelaPumpkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Harbour H... S, General Manager at Grand Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Belapumpkin

What a delight to read your review following your recent stay at the hotel, thank you for taking the time to share your positive comments about your stay at the Grand Harbour Hotel.

I will of course share your feedback with all our team and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel and Southampton in the near future.

Kind regards
Laura Roberts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
146 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

This hotel is located right next to the water, so in a good location and close to a McDonald's should you feel the need to go in search of a smile. In the time I was there I didn't see one member of staff smile, in fact the staff at breakfast were positively miserable. The breakfast was just about acceptable but is there really still a need to be charged a £1.50 supplement for a cappuccino? I hate it when this happens in hotels, especially when it comes from a machine.
Room was very comfortable but all amenities and condiments are nameless cheap brands, so bring your own...including ketchup...you'll make yourself smile.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank showbizandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura R, General Manager at Grand Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear showbizandi, I pleased to read that you enjoyed the comfort and good night’s sleep while here at the hotel, but saddened to read you did not find the team friendly. I have passed your comments to the team, who I know will be just as disappointed as I that you did not experience the normally friendly team spirit we have grown in the hotel. We will work to ensure this is not experienced by others. Please accept my sincere apologies and my thanks for bringing this to our attention.
Kind regards
Laura -
Laura Roberts / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed only one night before going on a cruise so the package was B & B plus 15 days car parking & taxis to and from the port. The hotel was 5 star & following refurbishment in 2014 is now 4 star plus.

The whole experience was brilliant with staff, friendly, polite and helpful.

The room was large, well furnished & spotless. We had an excellent nights sleep and could not fault the hot cooked buffet breakfast.

Excellent value for money. We will return.

Room Tip: Our romm overlooked the rear & no noise was heard at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Harbour H... S, General Manager at Grand Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear David W

Thank you for taking the time to share your 5 star review with other readers of this site, I was delighted to read your positive comments.

Providing a good night’s sleep and a hearty breakfast are very much a key focus for us at the hotel and I am delighted that we met your expectations on all aspects of your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Harbour Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards
Laura Roberts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.5 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,592 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#16 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
#4 of 24 in Southampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Harbour Hotel

Property: Grand Harbour Hotel
Address: 5 West Quay Road, Southampton SO15 1AG, England (Formerly De Vere Grand Harbour)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Harbour Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set sail for a unique stay at the 4-star Grand Harbour Hotel Southampton. Overlooking Southampton waterfront, this iconic hotel with its towering glass atrium is a cut above the rest. Visit one of two restaurants each with their contemporary cuisine or try the unique candlelit spa. If you are in Southampton on business we can facilitate any meeting requirements with our impressive function rooms and dedicated event co-ordinators. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, Agoda, Ebookers and HRS so you can book your Grand Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Grand Harbour Hotel Southampton
De Vere Grand Harbour Southampton
De Vere Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing