We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Breakfast - shame about the rest!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Harbour Hotel
Ranked #19 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast - shame about the rest!”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

From the outside this hotel looks quite smart, however the check in is usually a good guide as to how things are going to go. We found the whole procedure rather slow and the staff (three of them) seemed quite overwhelmed when 5 people, including us, arrived at the same time. They had a lengthy discussion with one man who was staying at the hotel and basically told him as his name did not come up on the system, he could not possibly staying at the hotel, even though he had just come down from his room. When there attention came to us ( 2 rooms made on the same booking, they found mine fairly quickly, but my colleagues booking seemed more illusive, even though I had confirmation of both rooms printed out in front of me. Rooms were of a good size and in general very clean, although a shoe polish mark along the bathroom floor seemed to surprise them so they left it, wasn't that hard to wipe it off with a piece of loo paper!
That evening we found that the hotel isn't quite on the harbour front as suggested, great for the cruise port but a bit of a hike from everything else! The hotel bar was over brightly lit and the service very slow and impersonal, drinks were very expensive, so if you are going for a hangover, make sure you have been to the cash point first!!
The bed was fairly comfortable although the room warmed up though the night and when I turned the A.C. on found the noise was worse than the heat so the rest of the night was not quite as expected.
Breakfast was the best part of the stay, great choice and good service.

Room Tip: Shop around and book on a 'discount room' website or you could pay twice the price
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DaveLD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura R, General Manager at Grand Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Dear DaveLD1, Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased that you found your breakfast to be great, albeit your overall visit only average, for this please accept my apologies. I can assure you all your comments have been shared with the team so we can work on these points to ensure we give people in the future more than just an average experience. We very much value your feedback and hope we may see you again in the future.
Kind regards
Laura,
Laura Roberts / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,808 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    423
    510
    454
    255
    166
See reviews for
298
775
61
293
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
crowland, lincolnshire, uk
Level 6 Contributor
385 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

Hadn't had afternoon tea for a while and on a sunny day came here. Bar area had clearly been busy some time ago but lots of tables still covered in meal debris, dirty plates and lots of litter on the floor. Found a table outside which was clear and ordered afternoon tea. Liquid came a long time before the edible goodies: just before I was going to go inside on a food search. All OK and unremarkable. At £15.50 per person though each mouthful is on the expensive side, especially as car parking here isn't free either.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mozart21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura R, General Manager at Grand Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Dear Mozart21, Thank you for reviewing your afternoon tea experience. I am sorry you found this only an average experience. All items including the pastries and cakes are baked right here on site and generally very well received. I am truly sorry that this feeling was not the case for yourself. I have passed your comments on to the team so we can use it in our program for continual improvement to ensure our guests have an excellent visit experience when here at the hotel.
Thank you again.
Kind regards,
Laura,
Laura Roberts / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014

I have just enjoyed a lovely stay with my family at the Grand Harbour Hotel Southampton. Every aspect met my expectations and we all thoroughly enjoyed our time in the hotel rooms and facilities. We booked three rooms - a large deluxe at the front over looking the busy harbour and two standard twins for the four kids 16-23. All 3 rooms were spacious and all had balconies. We had a great time celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary and a thoroughly enjoyable birthday breakfast for my daughter. For what we got I also found the price very reasonable. A memorable experience for us all and I would certainly go there again for a similar treat.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura R, General Manager at Grand Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Dear Simon G, Thank you for your fantastic review. I am delighted we were able to be part of your memories for two such fabulous events for your family. Thank you also for your great recommend that you would definitely stay again, it is a wonderful accolade for us, and highly appreciated.
I hope we shall see you all again soon.
Kind regards
Laura,
Laura Roberts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomfield, New Jersey, United States
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

we were spending two nights in Southampton prior to taking a transatlantic cruise back to New York. we booked the Grand Harbour without doing our normal research because of its proximity to the port of Southampton. We made a non-refundable reservation then decided to look at reviews. We were a little concerned as they were not at all good, citing maintenance and service issues. well, for two nights we figured it would be OK. We were actually surprised to NOT find the issues we read about. Perhaps they read some of their own reviews and fixed the issues. We had a standard King room in the front part of the hotel. We were surprised to find a large balcony. We spoke with a few different people at the front desk and all were helpful, friendly and attentive. A friend arrived a head of us with our baggage and when we arrived, we were pleased to find that they already took our bags to our room before we even checked in. The room was spacious and clean. It lacked a refrigerator and ice bucket and there was no ice machine available. We had some champagne were brought to share with friends and no way to chill it. However, we called and the bar provided us with the bucket, ice and champagne glasses. We used the bar and restaurant which were both fine and reasonable. The food was good if not inspiring. They had a breakfast buffet that was included in the price. The hotel was very near the port and it was easy to get to the Red Funnel Ferry to go to the Isle of Wight. The was also a very nice mall 3 blocks away. There were plenty of local pubs nearby and chose the Duke of Wellington as it was off the beaten track and was full of locals not tourists. We had some time after checkout and the concierge checked our baggage for us while we toured the area. All in all, this hotel was good for us. It was reasonably priced, in a good location. We would use it again.

Room Tip: A front room with a balcony is a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John P M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura R, General Manager at Grand Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Dear John P M, Thank you for your review regarding your recent visit. I was very pleased to read that you rated the service, room and value all as very good. It is great that you enjoyed all aspects of your visit. I am sorry to see that you only noted your overall impression as average, however I can assure that as you quite rightly note, we do read all feedback and ensure it is shared with all of the team, to help us continually grow with our guest’s expectations. I hope we may see you again in the near future.
Thank you again for your time.
Kind regards
Laura,
Laura Roberts / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

Central Southampton with parking
Great facilities, pool, health club etc etc
Modern hotel
Good bar
Big rooms with large comfy beds
Great nights sleep
Buffet breakfast , lots of choice
Definitely worth a visit if your ever in Southampton

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Charles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura R, General Manager at Grand Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Dear Charles H, Thank you so much for your great review. I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, and found all of the services and facilities you encountered were great. Thank you also for your fabulous recommend to others, this is very much appreciated.
I hope we may have an opportunity to welcome you back again soon.
Kind regards
Laura,
Laura Roberts / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arundel sussex
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

we booked for a Sunday night and got a rate of £71 which was excellentvalue, hotel has everything, it has a 70's feel, although built in 1992, I couldn't fault the hotel apart from expensive drinks in the bar, but that goes with the terrority when you book a 4 star hote, I used the leisure facilities, the gym and the swimming pool, all good and clean.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pauldendle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura R, General Manager at Grand Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Dear Pauldendle, Thank you so much for your fantastic 5 star review of your visit. I was delighted to read that you found the service, cleanliness and value to be excellent. I hope we may have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the near future.
Kind regards
Laura,
Laura Roberts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

My husband and I stayed at Grand Harbour Hotel one night, on Aug 8, before our cruise to the Norwegian Fjords, and had a comfortable and pleasant stay. We booked the hotel and paid in full last December 2013, and asked for a double bed on an upper floor with water view, if possible. Although they did give us a double bed (which to us in the US is a king size bed) on an upper floor, we did not have a water view and were on the opposite side of the hotel, with a partial view of the City, which was fine since we were only there for one night, it was pouring rain and we were exhausted with jet lag from our 10.5 hour flight from LAX to LHR. The room was really perfect, because it was clean, quiet, comfortable, and everything was in good working order. They brought us a decent tasting room service dinner and check-out the next morning was quick and efficient. They even called a cab for us in advance so that it was waiting at the curb outside to take us to the Pier where our ship was docked. If we had stayed longer, we could have checked out the restaurant and other facilities, which looked good, too. I would probably stay here again if we ever have occasion to overnight in Southampton.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor with water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TaraLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura R, General Manager at Grand Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Dear TaraLosAngeles, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your visit. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay, and in particular that you found your room to be perfect, comfortable and clean. Thank you also for the great compliment that you would indeed stay with us again when visiting Southampton. I hope we may see you again soon.
Kind regards
Laura,
Laura Roberts / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.5 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 24 in Southampton
1,712 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#14 of 24 in Southampton
1,167 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
#3 of 24 in Southampton
1,098 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
6.0 mi away
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Harbour Hotel

Property: Grand Harbour Hotel
Address: 5 West Quay Road, Southampton SO15 1AG, England (Formerly De Vere Grand Harbour)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Harbour Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set sail for a unique stay at the 4-star Grand Harbour Hotel Southampton. Overlooking Southampton waterfront, this iconic hotel with its towering glass atrium is a cut above the rest. Visit one of two restaurants each with their contemporary cuisine or try the unique candlelit spa. If you are in Southampton on business we can facilitate any meeting requirements with our impressive function rooms and dedicated event co-ordinators. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Expedia, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vere Grand Harbour Hotel Southampton
De Vere Grand Harbour Southampton
De Vere Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing