We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently Good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
GreenLeadersBronze level
Warwickshire UK
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Consistently Good”
Reviewed 7 July 2011

I travel to Southampton on business quite often & if I do the booking myself I always try for the Ibis, it's consistently good, check in & out is quick, hassle free, pleasant staff, it's public areas have recently been updated hopefully the guestrooms will follow soon because they are clean & well looked after they're starting to look a bit tired, but they've got most of what a business user needs for an over-nighter, there always used to be a problem with poor TV reception but that seems to have been cured now, it's a good place to lay your head for a night or two.

Room Tip: All rooms appear to be identical but try to avoid the ones opposite the lift doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnS53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southmanager, General Manager at Ibis Southampton Centre, responded to this review, 8 July 2011
Thanks for your review. I’m glad you have a good stay with us. See you on your next trip.
Kind regards
Israel Navarro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

965 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    408
    260
    59
    37
See reviews for
131
441
111
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 7 July 2011

We stayed the night here after a party in Southampton. the staff were excellent and very helpful, the room clean and comfortable and in all was excellent value for money. The location was perfect for central Southampton and we were able to get a taxi very easily to get to the venue at the yacht club and back. Also very convenient for shopping at West Quay!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southmanager, General Manager at Ibis Southampton Centre, responded to this review, 8 July 2011
Thank you for posting your thoughts on here. We really value your feedback. Kind regards
Israel Navarro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 5 July 2011

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights as part of a trip around England and Wales on a Britrailpass. The hotel is an easy walk from Southampton central station and the room was the standard Ibis double: clean with a bathroom, bed and TV set all of a satisfactory standard. The staff were helpful with providing a city map for us to go exploring. However, the best service was provided to us a week after checking out of the hotel when we realised that we had left 2 pairs of jeans behind. When we rang to enquire, the manager Israel Navarro, took down the information and then rang us back to say he had located the missing jeans. He then mailed the jeans to the Ibis Hotel in Carlisle at no cost to us! Thank you!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MamaKerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southmanager, General Manager at Ibis Southampton Centre, responded to this review, 7 July 2011
I'm very happy to read about you! I hope you enjoyed the rest of your UK trip!
Kind regards
Israel Navarro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shoreham-by-sea
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2011

This hotel is really convenient for the cruise docks. It is less than £5 for a taxi from hotel to Mayflower Terminal and the other big terminal is just across the road, although it would be really difficult dragging cases across this busy road so a taxi is needed. It is also really close to the train station, again ok to walk without luggage but taxi about same price as to the terminal. It is also really close and within easy walking distance of West Quay shopping centre and Ikea.
The Hotel is situated together with the Novotel and the ETAP hotels.

Accommodation was fine for one night, we had a room overlooking car park and there was noise disturbance from the bins being emptied early in the morning. Did not really bother us as we were only there for the night. Room was also rather hot but we opened windows which helped. I think if there had been a heatwave we would have roasted without air-conditioning. Tea and coffee making facilities are provided in room.

We did not eat at the hotel but did enjoy a really excellent cup of coffee in the lounge area. The staff were very friendly and there is free internet but only on one computer in the reception area.

The only other worrying thing is that there is only one lift, fine if it is working which it was, but can't help but wonder how inconvenient it would be getting luggage up the stairs if it needed a service.

We would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dragonrapide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southmanager, Manager at Ibis Southampton Centre, responded to this review, 5 July 2011
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for the time you spent to tell us and others about your stay.
We appreciate your feedback and looking forward to welcoming you again!!

Kind regards

Israel Navarro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swansea uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2011

The Ibis is in a great location for ocean cruise terminal,10 mins down the road.
the hotel is next to the Novotel and Etap hotels-all accor group hotels
Nice hotel,good value and pleasant staff,my only gripe would be the uncomfortable beds-very hard.but as we stayed only for one night it was o.k.

for information purposes,
the carpark costs £4 a day you pay at reception.
no hairdryer in room but one is available to borrow at reception.
free phone for taxis,very quick response by taxi firm
I would probably book the Novotel next time,abit more expensive but a few extra creature comforts.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dobs126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southmanager, General Manager at Ibis Southampton Centre, responded to this review, 30 June 2011
Many thanks for your kind words. I’m glad my team made your stay enjoyable. If you want
to come back and stay with us again.
Kind regards

Israel Navarro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2011

im writing this review whilst i am staying at the ibis.this is the first night of a 2 night stay before going on a cruise..i have stayed at this hotel before and have been satisfied with the standard of this budget end hotel.when i arrived, reception was full of hen and stags checking out,the bar and reception area had been redesigned and refurbished.i felt optomistic that the guest rooms had also been improved.i dont think they have.The room was tidy with an open wardrobe and shelves.tea making facilities and a TV.There was a terrible smell coming from the bathroom,i have put the plugs in the plughole of the bath and handbasin as it seems to be emanating from here.The carpet looks dingy not dirty but stale.the sort of carpet i refuse to walk on in barefeet.when we first walked into the room we had to open the window as the room smelt stale.The staff are helpful and pleasant but i do feel the hotel is guest rooms are getting a little tired and could certainly do with a plumber and some fresher floorcovering.There is a brand new premier inn just opened down the road so may try this when i do my next cruise in october.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kokomia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southmanager, General Manager at Ibis Southampton Centre, responded to this review, 24 June 2011
Really sorry to hear that your stay wasn’t up to expectations. I would very much like to
discuss with you in person
Kind regards
Israel Navarro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Southampton hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 24 in Southampton
1,691 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
845 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#14 of 24 in Southampton
1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Southampton Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Southampton Centre

Property: Ibis Southampton Centre
Address: 9 West Quay Road | Western Esplanade, Southampton SO15 1RA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Southampton Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Southampton Centre is an economy hotel located in central Southampton. Book the hotel for ease of access to the West Quay Shopping Centre, the port and entertainment districts. The hotel has 93 modern guest rooms equipped with satellite TV and tea & coffee making facilities, Free Wifi throughout. Light meals and snacks are available at the Cafe and the bar serves a range of drinks. Two meeting rooms can welcome up to 60 guests and there is car parking space for up to 100 vehicles. The hotel is ideally located for Southampton city centre as well as Southampton Port. Southampton Central station is 200m from the hotel, Southampton Airport is 6 km away. The ferry port is 500m from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Southampton Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Hotel Southampton Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing