We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Swedish prisons probably look more comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
GreenLeadersBronze level
Lustleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Swedish prisons probably look more comfortable”
Reviewed 11 September 2012

This hotel doesn't look too bad from outside, and to be fair, the communal areas were pleasant and modern, with a reasonable bar/restaurant area. The location was also good, with other restaurants and the city centre within a short walk. The reception staff were functional, but not particularly functional.

The rooms on the other hand, were simply awful. It was small, with painted pebble dash walls and cheap looking furniture. The mattress was very thin, and very uncomfortable, as were the pillows.

The temperature control was non-existent (or at least not effective).

All in all, this was a very depressing hotel, and I won't be making a return visit. Even scarier is that there is an Ibis budget hotel across the road - if this was the standard of the main hotel, i dread to think what their budget version might be like!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank guard42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southmanager, General Manager at Ibis Southampton Centre, responded to this review, 13 September 2012
Sorry to have disapointed you.
Luckily Accor has different brands with different standards.
I will suggest you to try Novotel next time you have a chance.
Kind regards
Israel Navarro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    400
    251
    59
    32
See reviews for
126
428
107
148
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greer, SC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Let me start with the good things about the Ibis Southampton Centre Hotel, 'cause it won't take up much space. The location is very good...close to shopping, rail and bus terminals. The front-office staff is very good...friendly and as accommodating as possible given the poor property they are working with.

Now for the bad news: No air conditioning; tiny rooms, terrible beds and pillows, no free wifi, no free breakfast, itsy-bitsy hand soap bars, no shampoo, thread bare bath towels, no wash cloths or hand towels, dirty carpets, no ice machines, poor housekeeping services, no comfort.

For American readers, this property is not designed for you. It's a step down from Motel 6. You'd be much better off at another hotel if staying in Southampton, England. Best to do your research before your trip.

The front office staff did what they could to help. They gave us a fan (room temp was above 80F), extra pillows, extra padding to make the beds at least sleep-able, some wash cloths and hand towels (these are by request only, or so it seemed). They also gave us ice by the glass upon request.

There is a McDonald's close by for breakfast and free wifi. There's also a TGI Friday's next door (not a favorite of ours). We didn't find any other restaurant choices within reasonable walking distance.

All this said, we survived our 3 night stay there. It wasn't easy by any means. Upon checkout they tried to bill my CC in US Dollars rather than Pounds. That would seem fine, but their up-charge for this was about $10 based on their very high exchange rate. Our 3 night stay cost us $200. This was a special sale price promoted by the parent company, Accor, which I thought was very high for what they provided (in hindsight). A property like this in the US shouldn't cost more than $35/night IMO. Oh well, Live and learn!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tourpro1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southmanager, General Manager at Ibis Southampton Centre, responded to this review, 13 September 2012
Dear customer
probably is hard for us to get compared with the huge dimensions and services form budget hotel in the USA.
Here in the UK we try our best with a bit less space available.
Kind regards
Israel Navarro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Southampton hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Our experience was terrible, the room was small, there was no moving space, the bed was uncomfortable the mattress slipped from its place! there was no kettle, iron in the room! if you need a tea, you have to go to the reception and pay for it. The breakfast buffet had very limited menu. The room was suffocating as the window was there but locked at all times. we felt we were in sum kinda dormitory! The price that we paid for it was a rip off!

Premier inn n travelodge are budget hotels too but they are far better. We are never going back in any of their hotels.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kochhars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southmanager, General Manager at Ibis Southampton Centre, responded to this review, 13 September 2012
I'm so sorry to read about your experience.
One note; tea and coffee facilities are complimentary in every room and iron can be found i the second floor near the lift.
Kind regards
Israel Navarro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Stayed for one night only and the hotel was comfortable and clean. Admittedley a bit pricey, but stayed in Southampton quite a few times and this is parr for the course in this area. Unlike a B&B though you have to pay an extra £7.50 for breakfast. Southampton is surrounded by lovely villages where you can get a lovely brunch if you can be bothered.

Room Tip: Look for special offers as very pricey for what you get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southmanager, General Manager at Ibis Southampton Centre, responded to this review, 6 September 2012
Thenks for your posting.
Hope to see you in the future.
Kind regards
Israel Navarro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Needed hotel close to Southampton cruise terminal for one night only. Chose Ibis because of its location and value. Overnight stay proved to be perfect. Nothing fancy but perfectly adequate. Only problem was that the one and only lift was out of order when we arrived, although they did offer to carry suitcases up to the third floor room for us. Would certainly stay again. Note that overnight parking is £5 extra.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan197450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southmanager, General Manager at Ibis Southampton Centre, responded to this review, 23 August 2012
Wow! What a nice review!
I will share your post with my team right now.
Kind regards
Israel Navarro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

we enjoyed our one night stay very much the service was very good and helpfull. since we were on our way to a cruise ship the location of the hotel was very convenient and we will recommend people to stay in it when in Southampton

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank judithmil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southmanager, General Manager at Ibis Southampton Centre, responded to this review, 16 August 2012
is very kind of you to post such nice comments!
Thanks you so much!
Kind regards
Israel Navarro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012 via mobile

8 of us stayed for a friends birthday, we're all local anyway but wanted to stay the night. Thought the rooms were clean and is well located within the city centre but a tad overpriced.
Car park is a bit small as well seeing as there is another two hotels around it.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave2483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southmanager, General Manager at Ibis Southampton Centre, responded to this review, 16 August 2012
Thaks for your kind post. your opinion is very much appreciated.
Kind regards
Israel Navarro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#9 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,635 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre
0.5 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,684 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#16 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Southampton Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Southampton Centre

Property: Ibis Southampton Centre
Address: 9 West Quay Road | Western Esplanade, Southampton SO15 1RA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Southampton Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Southampton Centre is an economy hotel located in central Southampton. Book the hotel for ease of access to the West Quay Shopping Centre, the port and entertainment districts. The hotel has 93 modern guest rooms equipped with satellite TV and tea & coffee making facilities, Free Wifi throughout. Light meals and snacks are available at the Cafe and the bar serves a range of drinks. Two meeting rooms can welcome up to 60 guests and there is car parking space for up to 100 vehicles. The hotel is ideally located for Southampton city centre as well as Southampton Port. Southampton Central station is 200m from the hotel, Southampton Airport is 6 km away. The ferry port is 500m from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Southampton Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Hotel Southampton Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing