We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Banging, drilling and an overall bad experience.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ranked #11 of 25 Hotels in Southampton
GreenLeadersBronze level
Write a Review

975 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    414
    264
    60
    37
See reviews for
136
444
111
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

You don't expect luxury with Ibis but on the strength of this latest I've begun to question their value for money. A grim location and room complete with grubby carpet. Breakfast was poor too. All distinctly sub "budget" which make one wonder what the next door Ibis Budget is like!

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Buckleywells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southmanager, Front Office Manager at Ibis Southampton Centre, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Thank you for your comments, we can assure you that the matter is being looked into and will be dealt with accordingly. Kind regards, Joanna Siwiorek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales,GB
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Stayed here yet again for another Boat Show. Excellent location, clean and adequate accommodation, comfy beds, clean and tidy, but could do with some more pillows and bigger towels, however basing it on the price you cannot expect 5* accommodation!! We book it for the boat show so not looking for first class romantic setting, but will book here again next year for the boat show!!!

Room Tip: We slept at the back of the hotel NOT overlooking the car park which was quiet.....however our frien...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judep62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southmanager, Front Office Manager at Ibis Southampton Centre, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind regards, Joanna Siwiorek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

Ibis hotels are normally very usable budget hotels. I generally know that I'll get a good night sleep without too many frills when I stop in here. The Ibis Southampton Centre is unfortunately full of promise (new building, good looking facilities and rooms) but fails to deliver. The combination of going to the extreme end of budget (chintzing on soap, very few TV channels, no paper for note writing, very mediocre breakfast at extra cost) and really poor business support is a real problem.

A key example for me was the lack of ironing facilities. They have 10 irons for over 100 rooms and they don't track them. Their solution to not having an iron available is to ask their clients to walk the hallways of every floor looking for one that someone has left out. This actually worked for me one day as I happened upon one put out by housekeeping. The next day, however, there were none to be found and none to find. The desk clerk kindly sourced one (after a couple of hours of continually asking/pestering) from another nearby Ibis property. The problem? He clearly didn't check it as it stained my shirt (a stain that continues to this day). I had done a test on a non-visible portion of my shirt but that clearly wasn't enough as later in the ironing process the stain was set.

It shouldn't take 2h of pestering to get an iron - lots of chains have good solutions to this (e.g., ironing rooms setup permanently, etc.). And in Southampton I can pay a lot less than 135 pounds to get a mediocre room with chintzy amenities and friendly desk staff... Ibis had better raise it's game here - it's got a nice property, it just seems to have forgotten that business customers pay the bills.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank pk_yvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southmanager, Front Office Manager at Ibis Southampton Centre, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your experience of the hotel. I would like to confirm that we are taking the appropriate measures to address your concerns and prevent future occurrence.
We appreciate your feedback, and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the ibis Southampton Centre and provide you with a genuine hassle-free experience. kind regards, Joanna Siwiorek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Southampton hotels

Hong Kong
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Stayed: during the Southampton Boat Show 2013.
Paid: GBP147.95 for one night including breakfast and car parking.
Check in: efficient and friendly.
Check out time:12 noon.
Lobby and restaurant area: fresh, uplifting and modern.
Room: very basic - no fridge, no safe - very small and rather drab décor.
Bed and bedding: clean and comfortable. Quiet.
Bathroom: small bath but bright lights so you can see what you are doing.
Breakfast: acceptable for the price but will not win any awards.
Location: convenient - 10 minutes walk to boat show, West Quay, shopping centre etc.
Conclusion: not worth the money paid during the boat show. Would not stay there again and certainly would not want to be confined to a small, drab room for any length of time! Next time will choose the Premier Inn right next to the boat show entrance.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drbhongkong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southmanager, Front Office Manager at Ibis Southampton Centre, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
I am sorry that on this occasion that you were disappointed with your stay. I treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness. Kind regards, Joanna Siwiorek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deal, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Basic hotel, clean tidy but small rooms. Very convenient for he cruise terminals and the harbour. Stayed during the boat show, certainly not worth the £135 a night I was charged, but that's purely supply and demand. Very friendly and helpful staff. Restaurant limited menu but well cooked food.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank costahotshot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southmanager, Front Office Manager at Ibis Southampton Centre, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Thank you for posting your thoughts on here, we really value your feedback. I look forward to welcoming you back at ibis Southampton hotel. Kind regards, Joanna Siwiorek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 25 in Southampton
1,712 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#5 of 25 in Southampton
882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#14 of 25 in Southampton
1,167 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 25 in Southampton
1,809 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Southampton Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Southampton Centre

Property: Ibis Southampton Centre
Address: 9 West Quay Road | Western Esplanade, Southampton SO15 1RA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Southampton Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Southampton Centre is an economy hotel located in central Southampton. Book the hotel for ease of access to the West Quay Shopping Centre, the port and entertainment districts. The hotel has 93 modern guest rooms equipped with satellite TV and tea & coffee making facilities, Free Wifi throughout. Light meals and snacks are available at the Cafe and the bar serves a range of drinks. Two meeting rooms can welcome up to 60 guests and there is car parking space for up to 100 vehicles. The hotel is ideally located for Southampton city centre as well as Southampton Port. Southampton Central station is 200m from the hotel, Southampton Airport is 6 km away. The ferry port is 500m from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ibis Southampton Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Hotel Southampton Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing