We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice upgraded hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
GreenLeadersBronze level
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    400
    251
    59
    31
See reviews for
126
427
107
148
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We had a lovely stay at the ibis. The staff were great nothing was to much for them. The room we had was really clean , the cleaners were in every day. the room was about the same size as my bedroom at home with a great on suite it was on the third floor room 314 . Thank you ibis we couldnt fault you. if we stay at Southampton again we will book with you again. there is No pool sorry i pressed the wrong thing.

Room Tip: we looked across from southampton central rail station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southmanager, General Manager at Ibis Southampton Centre, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Mikhail Myasin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Me and my partner stayed here on the 22nd April 2014 for 1 night. It was a last minute booking and seemed like good value for a recognised hotel. When we arrived at the hotel we were given room number 330. The bed had not been made, the curtains were still drawn, a stiff stench lingered in the room which we found to be another guests feces. The bath tub was full of body hair, as was the sink. Used towels, used cups/mugs. Frustrated at this me and my partner went back down to the Lobby to ask for a new room. The lady on the desk suggested we waited for our room to be cleaned. Bearing in mind we could check in from noon, to be told at 3pm we can wait was a little inconvenient. Eventually our room changed to 326 and thankfully it was clean, we thought!! On the main duvet were blood stains, urine stains around the toilet and when in the morning going for a bath it had flooded the bathroom floor and a previous guests bodily hair bedded underneath me. I was disgusted and was so thankful to be leaving that day. The nights sleep was uncomfortable, bed was hard and a thin mattress was used to 'comfort' the solid bed. Room got very stuffy due to lack of ventilation, no fan in bathroom. Windows awkwardly opened allowing minimal fresh air to pass through the room. Staff were friendly enough, can't fault anyone for being in anyway rude as such, however when leaving the hotel, I handed back the key and the man who was on the front desk showed no interest whatsoever regarding the stay we had. His words were 'ok, I've checked you out of your room'

I will certainly not be staying here again and do not recommend to anyone!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ayesha_1208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southmanager, General Manager at Ibis Southampton Centre, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that on this occasion you were disappointed with your stay. We treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness and we are currently investigating the matters you brought to our attention. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused.

Kind regards,

Mikhail Myasin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Southampton hotels

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

pre-cruise stay.

welcoming friendly reception staff.

clean well equipped room. Full bath & HOT shower.

Lots of parking charged at £5 per 24hrs.

Just up the road (2mins) from Ocean Cruise Terminal.

All you need for a stop over.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MrStevens000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southmanager, General Manager at Ibis Southampton Centre, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your thoughts on here. I am glad that you enjoyed your visit, and I hope we can welcome you back to our hotel very soon.

Kind regards,

Mikhail Myasin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Good price, brilliant location with easy access to London & Croydon. Badly stocked bar, flat beer that bar staff couldn't resolve. Dated and noisy hotel, checked out at 6.30am and couldn't get breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southmanager, Manager at Ibis Southampton Centre, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your comments. We appreciate your feedback and are glad you enjoyed your stay. We have noted your comments about bar and breakfast and we will address these accordingly. In the meantime, I hope we can welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Diana Neukirchner
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#9 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,634 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre
0.5 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,677 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#16 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Southampton Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Southampton Centre

Property: Ibis Southampton Centre
Address: 9 West Quay Road | Western Esplanade, Southampton SO15 1RA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Southampton Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Southampton Centre is an economy hotel located in central Southampton. Book the hotel for ease of access to the West Quay Shopping Centre, the port and entertainment districts. The hotel has 93 modern guest rooms equipped with satellite TV and tea & coffee making facilities, Free Wifi throughout. Light meals and snacks are available at the Cafe and the bar serves a range of drinks. Two meeting rooms can welcome up to 60 guests and there is car parking space for up to 100 vehicles. The hotel is ideally located for Southampton city centre as well as Southampton Port. Southampton Central station is 200m from the hotel, Southampton Airport is 6 km away. The ferry port is 500m from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Southampton Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Hotel Southampton Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing