We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
GreenLeadersBronze level
poole
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Customer service”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed here on a sat night after visiting the mayflower theatre, on arrival I waited over 10minutes to be seen by the lady on the desk (anna) as she was dealing with another customer, as soon as the other customer leaves the phone rings and she answers it and is taking another booking for a further 10 minutes?? So 20 minutes just to check in not good customer service anna!! Rooms are small but modern and very clean, parking is £6 a night and breakfast is an extra £7.95 (which was very nice) so not a cheap stay at the ibis.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank rysey179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southmanager, General Manager at Ibis Southampton Centre, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear rysey179,

Many thanks for your comments. We appreciate your feedback and are glad you enjoyed your stay. We have noted your comments regarding check in and will look into this. I hope we can welcome you back to our hotel very soon.

Kind regards,

Mikhail Myasin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

972 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    411
    264
    60
    37
See reviews for
134
444
111
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palermo
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Average hotel. The rooms are clean, but quite small and, in summer, quite warm (even at night), in spite of air-conditioning; however, on reporting this problem to reception, they offered us a fan. The service is good and the breakfast ok. City centre is at walking distance, with plenty of restaurants, pubs, etc.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ismaele86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southmanager, General Manager at Ibis Southampton Centre, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Ismaele86,

Many thanks for posting your comments. We appreciate your feedback and the team and I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Mikhail Myasin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We have stayed here many times over the years due to its location and price. It is easy to walk into the city centre from here and there is paid parking. The rooms are small and basic but reasonably clean. The worst thing is that the air conditioning does not work very well if at all. I am not sure if I would stay here again if it was likely to be during hot weather.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter. Odd number rooms have better view of dock but are hotter and can be noisi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank interested13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southmanager, General Manager at Ibis Southampton Centre, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear interested13,

Many thanks for the review. We are glad that you come back to stay with us and always appreciate your feedback. My team and I are glad that you enjoyed your stay we to welcome you back on your next trip to Southampton.

Kind regards,

Mikhail Myasin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Within walking distance of the cruise docks, the bus station and the train station. Wifi. Great customer service. Convenient for a stroll around the old town the evening before we sailed. We did walk from the bus station to the hotel but chickened out the next day and had the hotel order a taxi for the short trip to the docks. So glad we chose this hotel. There is an Ibis budget right next door but we didn't investigate there.

Green Features: Excellent. The five minute walking maps encourage walking.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hawaiiantutu2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southmanager, General Manager at Ibis Southampton Centre, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Hawaiiantutu2000,

Many thanks for the review. We always welcome feedback and my team and I are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope we can be part of your future travel plans.

Kind regards,

Mikhail Myasin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

My expectations weren't high; I wasn't disappointed. Two blobs isn't a bad rating in the circumstances.

Ibis is an economy brand and so it never attempts to rise above good value mediocrity. If you want a small box to sleep in for a night on retail park in a transit town like Southampton with a limited breakfast buffet then Ibis Southampton fits the bill.

Just three improvements that Ibis Southampton should consider before contenting itself that it has fully delivered on its mission to be the Ryanair of hotelery:

1) If you have a room whose bathroom smells musty; don't cynically leave it to your guests to decide whether to kick up a fuss and then tell them there might not be a better room available. Take the room out of commission and fix the problem!
2) Like a number of Southampton hotels, Ibis does not seem to think that presenting a baguette on the bread board without a napkin to provide a hygiene barrier between the handling of successive guests is a dirty practice which has no place in a modern hotel full of guests from many different parts of the world with different notions of cleanliness.
3) Your eastern European receptionist dispenses a sweet smile but doesn't think to ask guests whether they had a good stay. How, then, do you expect to maintain your place as a third-tier option up against the likes of Travel Lodge or Premier Inn?

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flipflogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southmanager, General Manager at Ibis Southampton Centre, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear flipflogg,

Thank you for taking your time to comment on your recent stay with us. We very much appreciate your feedback and have noted the points you have raised. We hope to serve you better in the future.

Kind regards,

Mikhail Myasin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Southampton hotels

London
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Stayed here on business. Arrived late. Front desk staff very welcoming. Special mention to the lady serving at the bar who was so friendly and engaging. Room small and my regular under bed inspection for waiting bogey men (have you ever seen that episode off Luther?) revealed dust bunnies and an empty lucozade bottle.

Aircon didn't work on one of the hottest days of the year and open window wasn't an option as was above reception so therefore noisy and smokers (yuck).

Breakfast was good but expensive and I resented the £6 payment for parking given that they have an ibis budget on the same lot who I assume pay the same. What's the difference therefore?

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cherryblossomfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southmanager, General Manager at Ibis Southampton Centre, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear cherryblossomfeet,

Many thanks for your comments. We appreciate your feedback and are glad you enjoyed your stay. We have taken note of your comments regarding underneath the bed and will address this with housekeeping. I hope we can welcome you back to our hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Mikhail Myasin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellarine Peninsula Vic Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Stayed here post cruise to catch up with friends and see the TITANIC Museum. Rooms very clean and good to see Rubber Bathmats were available for the somewhat slippery bathtub. Staff friendly and accomadating. They really need to do something about the food here - warm soup for dinner and their "toasties" were v poor with cold raw cheese in the middle. Breakfasts were OK though avoided the bacon in an inch of fat container - a lot of waste as people were just leaving the food on their plates. Good location near all the shops but a bit of a walk to the station especially with a large suitcase. OK for an overnighter.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ibis Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southmanager, General Manager at Ibis Southampton Centre, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear David K,

Thanks for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you on your next trip to the UK.

Kind regards,

Mikhail Myasin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 24 in Southampton
1,709 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#5 of 24 in Southampton
877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#14 of 24 in Southampton
1,165 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
1,802 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Southampton Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Southampton Centre

Property: Ibis Southampton Centre
Address: 9 West Quay Road | Western Esplanade, Southampton SO15 1RA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Southampton Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Southampton Centre is an economy hotel located in central Southampton. Book the hotel for ease of access to the West Quay Shopping Centre, the port and entertainment districts. The hotel has 93 modern guest rooms equipped with satellite TV and tea & coffee making facilities, Free Wifi throughout. Light meals and snacks are available at the Cafe and the bar serves a range of drinks. Two meeting rooms can welcome up to 60 guests and there is car parking space for up to 100 vehicles. The hotel is ideally located for Southampton city centre as well as Southampton Port. Southampton Central station is 200m from the hotel, Southampton Airport is 6 km away. The ferry port is 500m from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Southampton Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Hotel Southampton Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing