We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pre-cruise stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
GreenLeadersBronze level
Write a Review

952 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    406
    253
    59
    34
See reviews for
126
436
111
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Room was clean, functional and good value for money. Television had all freeview channels with excellent reception unlike other hotels we have stayed in. Free internet access unlike other well know hotels. Staff were friendly and accommodated our request for a quiet room. This hotel is ideally located for the cruise terminal, is a few minutes walk from a large shopping centre and even closer to a retail park. From our experience I am surprised by some of the negative reviews as we are not easily pleased and regardless of price have expectations of standards - this hotel certainly exceeded our expectation and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Thank you.

Len & Tracey

Room Tip: Following reviews we requested a room not overlooking the 24 hour Macdonalds
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southmanager, General Manager at Ibis Southampton Centre, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Tracey C,

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Mikhail Myasin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
poole
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed here on a sat night after visiting the mayflower theatre, on arrival I waited over 10minutes to be seen by the lady on the desk (anna) as she was dealing with another customer, as soon as the other customer leaves the phone rings and she answers it and is taking another booking for a further 10 minutes?? So 20 minutes just to check in not good customer service anna!! Rooms are small but modern and very clean, parking is £6 a night and breakfast is an extra £7.95 (which was very nice) so not a cheap stay at the ibis.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank rysey179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southmanager, General Manager at Ibis Southampton Centre, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear rysey179,

Many thanks for your comments. We appreciate your feedback and are glad you enjoyed your stay. We have noted your comments regarding check in and will look into this. I hope we can welcome you back to our hotel very soon.

Kind regards,

Mikhail Myasin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palermo
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Average hotel. The rooms are clean, but quite small and, in summer, quite warm (even at night), in spite of air-conditioning; however, on reporting this problem to reception, they offered us a fan. The service is good and the breakfast ok. City centre is at walking distance, with plenty of restaurants, pubs, etc.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ismaele86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southmanager, General Manager at Ibis Southampton Centre, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Ismaele86,

Many thanks for posting your comments. We appreciate your feedback and the team and I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Mikhail Myasin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We have stayed here many times over the years due to its location and price. It is easy to walk into the city centre from here and there is paid parking. The rooms are small and basic but reasonably clean. The worst thing is that the air conditioning does not work very well if at all. I am not sure if I would stay here again if it was likely to be during hot weather.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter. Odd number rooms have better view of dock but are hotter and can be noisi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank interested13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southmanager, General Manager at Ibis Southampton Centre, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear interested13,

Many thanks for the review. We are glad that you come back to stay with us and always appreciate your feedback. My team and I are glad that you enjoyed your stay we to welcome you back on your next trip to Southampton.

Kind regards,

Mikhail Myasin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Within walking distance of the cruise docks, the bus station and the train station. Wifi. Great customer service. Convenient for a stroll around the old town the evening before we sailed. We did walk from the bus station to the hotel but chickened out the next day and had the hotel order a taxi for the short trip to the docks. So glad we chose this hotel. There is an Ibis budget right next door but we didn't investigate there.

Green Features: Excellent. The five minute walking maps encourage walking.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hawaiiantutu2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southmanager, General Manager at Ibis Southampton Centre, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Hawaiiantutu2000,

Many thanks for the review. We always welcome feedback and my team and I are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope we can be part of your future travel plans.

Kind regards,

Mikhail Myasin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#9 of 24 in Southampton
1,662 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
808 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#16 of 24 in Southampton
1,121 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Southampton Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Southampton Centre

Property: Ibis Southampton Centre
Address: 9 West Quay Road | Western Esplanade, Southampton SO15 1RA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Southampton Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Southampton Centre is an economy hotel located in central Southampton. Book the hotel for ease of access to the West Quay Shopping Centre, the port and entertainment districts. The hotel has 93 modern guest rooms equipped with satellite TV and tea & coffee making facilities, Free Wifi throughout. Light meals and snacks are available at the Cafe and the bar serves a range of drinks. Two meeting rooms can welcome up to 60 guests and there is car parking space for up to 100 vehicles. The hotel is ideally located for Southampton city centre as well as Southampton Port. Southampton Central station is 200m from the hotel, Southampton Airport is 6 km away. The ferry port is 500m from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Southampton Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Hotel Southampton Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing