We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Filthy bathroom”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ranked #14 of 25 Hotels in Southampton
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 26 March 2010

Arrived quite late and had been working since 6am so need to freshen up, the bathroom was grim other people hair in the bath and sink rust on the towel rail the shower curtain was filthy.

Also only had single when I booked a double complained and was told hotel was full and no other rooms were available.

Had an awful time and this was made worse when I saw the mess they called breakfast yesterdays carboard sausages, beans and grey scrambled egg? they usually have bacon but not this morning it was still frozen?

Do not stay it is a dump, staff not bothered and filthy.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dippydoo10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southmanager, General Manager at Ibis Southampton Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2010

I am sorry that on this occasion you were disappointed with your stay at our hotel in Southampton.
I treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness and am currently investigating the matter.
Feel free to call me to discuss this further.
Kind regards,
Israel Navarro
Grneral Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,010)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

923 - 929 of 1,010 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2010

I stayed at the Ibis for only one night, and all i can say is thank god it wasnt for any longer.
Check in took ages dues to unattentive staff. The room was small and filthy. The sheets had BLOOD on them!!! The bathroom was disgusting. The television had very limited channels. You can here everything going on in the room next door and outside the room. The noise level meant we were unable to sleep for several hours into the early morning. I would never stay here again and would not recommend it to a friend. The price is appauling value for money, its not even worth 20 pound a night let alone 60!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank regularstayer782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southmanager, General Manager at Ibis Southampton Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2010

I am sorry to hear that you didn’t find the service at our hotel in Southampton up to your expectations.
We pride ourselves on our staff training, our 100% tested product and our quality service, so this is something I will be looking into personally.
Please feel free to call me to discuss further.
Kind regards,
Israel Navarro
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2010

Based here for 40th Party.
For £45 good location, clean room and Efficient Friendly Reception. If staying longer room may have been a bit small.
Check out time 12 Noon but we were not rushed.
Close to Southampton City Centre and near routes for local places as well.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingstudent66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2009

Got this for a good rate of £42 for the night. No breakfast and we did not have to pay the parking charge. Does what it says on the can. It does not pretend to be anything other than a basic package and it does that. No frills, rooms O.K.. Bathroom ammenities, just the basic soap and towels. Did not eat here, easy to get upto the High Street for shopping. For the best restaurants are located down near Dock Gate 4 and a little further in the Oxford street area. Probably would take you 25 mins walk to get there, around a fiver by cab,
AuroraUK

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AuroraUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2009

We stayed here one night pre-cruise, not a bad hotel, however, unless you're in to shopping at Ikea or a huge mall, there is absolutely nothing scenic, picked this hotel as it got good reviews, however, it states close to the harbor, this may be true by taxi, but not in walking distance. We prefer to sightsee, better choice may have been a hotel right at the harbor, but it served it's purpose. Luckily it was only one night. For that matter, the Etap would have been a better value, directly across the street.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crazyfornaples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2009

The hotel was very basic. A number of us who were departing on a cruise booked the hotel. You have to ask to borrow one of the "few" hairdryers they keep behind the desk. There is no shampoo or condition available, and the one bar of soap provided is the same size as a quarter. It was inexpensive, but the Ibis website made me believe it would be nicer. They also recommend you use the pay phone because local calls from the room are not cheap.

I suggest you skip the breakfast. It seemed like a good deal, but you could go to McDonald's and use the free wi-fi at the same time.

Pros-- McDonald's right near it with free wi-fi. Large mall and grocery store walking distance-- where you can buy the shampoo and things you will need. The location is really nice, and you can walk to many things including IKEA, restaurants, etc.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoastalJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2009

Stayed here the night of September 4th, prior to a cruise

Good:

The location is excellent, very near the port terminals and within easy walking distance of the West Quay shopping center where there is a food court. There is also a MacDonald’s and TGI Friday adjacent to the hotel. There is a Tesco store very close where you can buy snacks and drinks. The hotel staff was very friendly, they furnished a map for getting around and pointed out locations for us. There is a taxi hotline in the hotel for arranging a car. The hotel is also within walking distance of the National Express bus station, taxis are available there also. Price was 49 lbs for one night. They had a cold breakfast, we skipped that in favor of MacDonald’s next door. There was an electric kettle in the room with instant coffee/tea.

Bad - small rooms, bed very hard, only two very thin pillows and would not accommodate our request for two additional pillows. The soap in the bath barely good for one person for a shower. Two small bath towels, no face towels or washcloths so only wet bath towels to use in the morning. No appliances of any kind in the room, (hair dryer, minifridge, etc). AC did not cool the room very well, others complaining about this but the staff did not help. Elevators very small but adequate.

Summary:

If you want good value and location, this hotel would be a good choice. There is a Novotel and Etap right next door that may offer better quality. We would not stay here again but would stay in the same location in a higher quality hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrqcace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#7 of 25 in Southampton
1,037 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#11 of 25 in Southampton
1,787 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#13 of 25 in Southampton
1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Southampton Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Southampton Centre

Address: 9 West Quay Road | Western Esplanade, Southampton SO15 1RA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Southampton
Price Range: £42 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Southampton Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Southampton Centre is an economy hotel located in central Southampton. Book the hotel for ease of access to the West Quay Shopping Centre, the port and entertainment districts. The hotel has 93 modern guest rooms equipped with satellite TV and tea & coffee making facilities, Free Wifi throughout. Light meals and snacks are available at the Cafe and the bar serves a range of drinks. Two meeting rooms can welcome up to 60 guests and there is car parking space for up to 100 vehicles. The hotel is ideally located for Southampton city centre as well as Southampton Port. Southampton Central station is 200m from the hotel, Southampton Airport is 6 km away. The ferry port is 500m from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Southampton Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Hotel Southampton Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing