We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice location and cheap, breakfast was very bad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice location and cheap, breakfast was very bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2010

Great hotel location and cheap. No room service. Breakfast was very bad, everything served up barely warm and dry. Only worth having a croissant and tea. Save your money and venture out to get breakfast. Even nearby McDonalds or ikea would have been better!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank womble919191919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southmanager, General Manager at Ibis Southampton Centre, responded to this review, 14 October 2010
Thanks for leaving your thoughts here. The team and I are glad that you enjoyed your stay, and we’ve taken note of your comments. Rest assured we will address them.
Kind regards
Israel Navarro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

923 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    397
    245
    58
    31
See reviews for
124
417
106
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2010

Although this hotel was more expensive than normal its still represents good value during the Southampton Boat Show week, the hotel is clean and comfortable and the service is what you would expect from Ibis. Breakfast is very good and drinks in the evening reasonably priced.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lloyd B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, Worcestershire, UK
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2010

Staff are very friendly and more than helpful. We were working at the Southampton Boat Show, the location for this was brilliant but equally we were close to town too. Rooms were comforatable, spacious, clean and tidy and nicely decorated.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southmanager, General Manager at Ibis Southampton Centre, responded to this review, 15 September 2010
My team and I very much appreciate your kind words, and we’re glad to have been a part of your visit. .
We look forward to welcoming you back at Ibis Southampton.
Kind regards
Israel Navarro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanzarote, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2010

we stayed there for the second time just before another cruise ship, and the difference after the refurbishment is huge... I love it!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bimba2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southmanager, General Manager at Ibis Southampton Centre, responded to this review, 15 September 2010
Many thanks for the positive comments, I’m happy we were able to make your stay with us so enjoyable. I hope we can welcome you back to the Ibis Southampton again very soon.
Kind regards

Israel Navarro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge UK
Level Contributor
103 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2010

Just had a 2 nigt stay at this hotel, and whilst it represents a degree of value for money there are a few areas that appear to have had a litle slippage in standards. The reception staff are efficient and polite, even if a little harrased, but look somewhat disheveled and like they've just got out of bed in there uniform. These first impressions do make a lasting impression on guests and are are so simple to remedy, if there is good management presence. The rooms are more than adequete for this type of stay, and clean and well maintained, if somewhat hot overnight, with ineffectual air con.
Breakfast is alright for the price and unlimited coffee although from a machine is good.
Overall for a very short stay this hotel is really not too bad, it just needs the staff to look a little more well presented to create the correct first impression.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glyncookson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southmanager, Manager at Ibis Southampton Centre, responded to this review, 20 July 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to at Ibis Southampton. Please feel free to let us know immediately if you have any concerns during your stay in the future.
Kind regards,

Israel Navarro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2010

The Ibis is itself a lovely hotel, but it lacks attention to detail which people notice and some issues are important to guests. I stayed here for ten days at the end of June with my boyfriend who was visiting the U.K. for the first time from Canada. Needless to say, he didn't get a great impression overall.

However, the positives were:
Efficient and friendly reception and bar staff, I couldn't fault any of them at all. Hotel kept very neat and tidy at all times.

The negatives:
At the front entrance of the hotel there are two decorative plants which are dead, presumably for some considerable time.
To the left of the hotel entrance was a large stain to the floor and the right also which had been caused by someone throwing up on the Friday, these people were part of a Hen Party group staying in the hotel. By Tuesday, those vomit staines still had not been removed.
On our eighth day we had to ask for a change of bed linen, our bed hadn't been changed once, along with some new rolls of toilet roll which we had run out of.
On a couple of days we were left with only hand towels and no bath towels.
There were only three very flat pillows for a superkingsize bed for two people, I ended up calling home to pick up my own.
No mattress protector on the mattress, so when the sheet moved during the night as I turned over I was sleeping on the bare mattress....I wondered who had slept and sweated previously on that same mattress?
In the bathroom there was mould on the wall mounted soap dispenser underneath. I noticed it when I tipped my head back to rinse my hair in the bath.
There was limescale around the sink plughole and taps.
Constant loud slamming of doors both through the night into the early hours and during the day, it drove us potty on one particular evening and I was convinced someone was doing it on purpose

Added to this I was sure there was no chef on the premises. We went down to the restaurant at around 11.00a.m. one morning and enquired about breakfast. We were informed that they weren't doing breakfasts that day. So, I asked if we could just have two slices of toast and a coffee and I was told no it couldn't be done. I could however have a cheese sandwich instead....mmmmm....that made a lot of sense to me, lol.

A few days later, we went to have an evening meal and were told unfortunately the fridge had broken down so they were unable to provide evening meals, we went to Mcdonalds instead. Towards the end of the stay we tried again for an evening meal and were told the choice from the menu was only limited......so we chose two dishes from the snack menu which was microwaved and cold in the middle, yummy!!!!

A lot of these silly issues could be so easily resolved by someone just checking on a weekly basis and let's face it, many of them are a five minute job to put right.

Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank picketywitch1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southmanager, Manager at Ibis Southampton Centre, responded to this review, 20 July 2010
Sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay at [Ibis Southampton.
I’ll look into this matter for you.
If you have five minutes, please give me a call to discuss.
Kind regards,

Israel Navarro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2010

Basic very good value for money hotel, free parking which given southampton is a huge bonus. Little bit far from the city centre but all round enjoyable. PS always ask for the polish receptionist she's amazing.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dom_lavalle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#9 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,615 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre
0.5 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,650 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#15 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Southampton Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Southampton Centre

Property: Ibis Southampton Centre
Address: 9 West Quay Road | Western Esplanade, Southampton SO15 1RA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Southampton Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Southampton Centre is an economy hotel located in central Southampton. Book the hotel for ease of access to the West Quay Shopping Centre, the port and entertainment districts. The hotel has 93 modern guest rooms equipped with satellite TV and tea & coffee making facilities, Free Wifi throughout. Light meals and snacks are available at the Cafe and the bar serves a range of drinks. Two meeting rooms can welcome up to 60 guests and there is car parking space for up to 100 vehicles. The hotel is ideally located for Southampton city centre as well as Southampton Port. Southampton Central station is 200m from the hotel, Southampton Airport is 6 km away. The ferry port is 500m from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Odigeo, Priceline, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Southampton Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Hotel Southampton Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing