We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loco Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Southampton
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 27 November 2010

I suppose you get what you pay for. Booked this on laterooms as I was on a 2-day course. The place seems short-staffed, only ever one member of staff on reception, or behind the bar.

The real reason for this review is a warning to anyone staying there with a car. They charge residents to park there, but take no responsibility for your car. I don't have an expensive car, it's a 5 year-old Laguna, but I now have to buy 2 new door handles for it, as a thief had attempted to break into it overnight. The attempt failed, but leaves me out of pocket.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigBunnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southmanager, General Manager at Ibis Southampton Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2010

Thank you for your comments, we can assure you the matter is being looked in to and will
be dealt with accordingly.
Kind regards
Israel Navarro
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,025)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

915 - 921 of 1,025 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
bath
2
Reviewed 24 November 2010

Ideal for West Quay and city shopping.
Great Breakfast
We always use Ibis if we can as they represnt a known value for money

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southmanager, General Manager at Ibis Southampton Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2010

Thanks for your review. I’m glad you have a good stay with us.
See you on your next trip.
Kind regards
Israel Navarro
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2010

If you are looking for a no frills, budget, short-stay hotel from a decent chain then this is it.

Excellent rates for advanced bookings. On site, GBP3 per night parking, behind barriers, in large parking area shared with nearby Novotel and Etap hotel. Reasonable buffet breakfast included in advance rate.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philippians4-6_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southmanager, General Manager at Ibis Southampton Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2010

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments – I am delighted that you enjoyed your
stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards
Israel Navarro
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2010

This is a clean friendly hotel but basic. it's great for an overnight stay but we stayed for 3 nights which is too long.The room was cramped as our daughters bed was a pull down bed which left minimal room. The Tv had very poor reception, the towels are tiny, the bathroom door didn't close properly or lock,the hotel and in particular the rooms are far too hot and the air con wasn't working. I did complain but was merely offered a fan.I also mentioned the bathroom door but nothing happened.

On the plus side the hotel is in a good location and the staff are really friendly. Just remember this is a basic 2 star hotel and the room cost of £45 represents value for the basic facilities we received.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mum2em1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southmanager, General Manager at Ibis Southampton Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2010

Many thanks for your comments.
We appreciate all feedback and are glad you enjoyed your stay.
I’ll look into the points your raised personally, and in the meantime,
I hope we can welcome you back to the Ibis Southampton very soon.
Kind regards
Israel Navarro
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2010

arrived at 1200 band checked in after the receptionist got off the phone!!!
the room is not bad- a view of a car park and allied carpets/and a bed shop-could be worse!
the shower is above the bath and no shower tray! there is no complimentary shower gel/shampoo- i have been issued with them in other ibis hotels.
the windows have 2 windows- the outer window then another on the inside of the window sill both of which have locks. there is no metal spoon to make a hot drink with- only plastic????????? all in all not a bad hotel for on or 2 nights stay 3*

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dodger165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southmanager, General Manager at Ibis Southampton Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2010

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to at Ibis Southampton. Please feel free to let us know immediately if you have any concerns during your stay in the future.
Kind regards
Israel Navarro
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Accor traveller
Madison
1
Reviewed 6 November 2010

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Accor traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Southmanager, General Manager at Ibis Southampton Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2010

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 29 October 2010

I stayed at the Hotel Ibis for one night, before boarding the Queen Mary 2 for a cruise.

After a long international flight, I had hoped to check in right away and this had been pre-arranged, however due to the hotel being very busy my room wasn't ready until 12:30pm (I arrived there at 11am).

Still, the hotel staff did make an effort to prepare my room first (before other rooms) which I did appreciate.

The rooms are clean with everything you need for one night (TV, Tea and Coffee, Internet, Shower etc.) However they are very basic in appearance and decor, which is fine for one night but I wouldn't have wanted to stay there for longer than 2-3 nights.

The shower-over-bath had very low water pressure and the shower head (on a removable handle) wouldn't stay up so had to be hand-held if washing hair.

The hotel has a dining area with a wonderful photograph (2m long on canvas) of the QE2 which was a nice addition given that ship's connection to Southampton. Breakfast is included in the room price and consisted of a buffet style with hot and cold foods.

The hotel is close to the new Ocean Terminal (20 minute walk) or 5 minutes by Taxi, however it would be further away from most cruise ships than the Southampton Holiday Inn.

It is within a very easy walk from the very large West Quay shopping centre, which is great if you want to visit shops such as Orange, Marks & Spencer, Waterstones and food outlets / restaurants.

Families with kids will enjoy it's proximity to fast food outlets such as Pizza Hut, Nando's, McDonalds and Burger King.

It is also a short walk from the Southampton City Railway station making connections from London very easy.

I'd recommend it for price (it's cheap) and location for 1 night.

I'd not recommend it if you want anything more than 3-star rooms, or luxury, as it's very basic.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maritime_Historian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southmanager, General Manager at Ibis Southampton Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2010

Many thanks for the review. We always welcome feedback and my team and I are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at Ibis Southampton].
I hope we can be part of your future travel plans.
Kind regards

Israel Navarro
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#8 of 25 in Southampton
1,125 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre
0.1 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#11 of 25 in Southampton
1,824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
0.6 mi away
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Southampton Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Southampton Centre

Address: 9 West Quay Road | Western Esplanade, Southampton SO15 1RA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Southampton
Price Range: £37 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Southampton Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Southampton Centre is an economy hotel located in central Southampton. Book the hotel for ease of access to the West Quay Shopping Centre, the port and entertainment districts. The hotel has 93 modern guest rooms equipped with satellite TV and tea & coffee making facilities, Free Wifi throughout. Light meals and snacks are available at the Cafe and the bar serves a range of drinks. Two meeting rooms can welcome up to 60 guests and there is car parking space for up to 100 vehicles. The hotel is ideally located for Southampton city centre as well as Southampton Port. Southampton Central station is 200m from the hotel, Southampton Airport is 6 km away. The ferry port is 500m from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Accorhotels.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Southampton Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Hotel Southampton Centre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing