We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Novotel Southampton
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
GreenLeadersBronze level
London
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good stay”
Reviewed 7 September 2011

Stay here fore three nights while visting the area. Checked in early but the rooms were not available so left our luggage with reception. Returned that evening to a long que. Am and Accor A-Club platinum and they had a priority desk. However was not manned and when extra staff came out they ignored us and went to the main que.

Rooms were spacious with a sofa and nice work station that rotated so you could sit at an angle while watching the tv or out of the window. Bed was comfortable but we needed to get a couple more pillows.

We upgraded to an executive room which gives free internet,a Bose sound system for your ipod and a nespresso machine. If you are going to need the interenet it is probably worth it (with the free internet you have to order via the tv their entertainment package for 9.99, but this also gives unlimited movies and other things)

The bathroom was a good size nice and clean with a good powerful shower over the bath. Bath a was little small. A good selection of complimentary toiletries which we weren't really expecting. The toilet was seperate in a rather small room but it worked ok.

Had a small mini-bar which with the executive rooms gives you a freee mineral water (note that this was only on the first night which is rather strange as if I had booked three seperate nights the room would have come with 3!)

The lobby was a good design looking fresh and simple. The breakfast in the restaurant was gave a good selection, nothing excellent but good to keep you going for the day. Our main gripe with this is that the hotel cant handle when the hotel is full. On our last day we had to wait a while for a table and service for tea and coffee was very slow coming only half way through out breakfast. They ran out of a number of items, including glasses which we found ourselves having to chase the staff to replenish.

Check out was not too busy but the bill wanted to charge us the full price for parking (we pointed this out and they subtracted the relevant amount to £4 a day, but make sure you check your bill for this.)

All in all a good standard of accomodation in a convenient location for the docks, Southampton and the New Forest.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ade99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review, 16 September 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to at Novotel Southampton. I’m delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we have noted your comments Regarding our Check in and Breakfast.
Kind regards,
Glenn Findlay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,709 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    473
    713
    367
    97
    59
See reviews for
508
631
101
274
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Our stay in the Hotel was great except for the heat in the room at night. So try and make available Air Condition or a Fan. The Location is very close to the Station which is convenient for people ravelling by train. The Staffs are very friendly. The Swimming pool was okay but i would have loved it more if there was a Sauna. The Breakfast i will rate 75%.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review, 16 September 2011
Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at [hotel name] in [destination]. I look forward to your next visit.
Kind regards,
Glenn Findlay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 September 2011

The reception staff were rude and did not want to help when we had to pay via the payment form as it was a business booking, our employees will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asyha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review, 16 September 2011
Thank you for your feedback we will look into this. Feel free to call me on 02380 330 550 or email me on glenn.findlay@accor.com to discuss this further.
With kind regards,
Glenn Findlay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

We regularly stay here when embarking on a cruise as its so close.
The place has come a long way since we first stayed there,quite a few years ago.
Entrance hall is very welcoming and staff are very attentive.
Restaurant offers a good menu not the cheapest but very tasty.
Breakfast you cannot beat much the best I have ever had.

Room Tip: Try to stay away from the first floor as it can be noisy from downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keith w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review, 16 September 2011
Thank you for your great review and for your loyalty to Novotel Southampton. We look forward to seeing you soon.
All the best
Glenn Findlay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haywards Heath
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

We have stayed here many times, which probably says enough. Excellent location for central Southampton, ferries and liners. Standard Novotel, so if you have stayed elsewhere you will know what to expect. You now have to pay to park. Swimming pool on ground floor, perhaps on the small side, but at least it has one. Ibis and Etap next door if you need something cheaper. Good disabled rooms but located away from lifts which is not ideal.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review, 16 September 2011
Glad you had a good time Novotel Southampton and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Glenn Findlay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, Wales
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

Efficient, welcoming staff. Executive rooms supplied everything from bathrobes to WiFi connection! Child-friendly ..... even the 4 year-old's toy rabbit was served a carrot on a plate at dinner in the evening!!!! Lovely warm pool, great gym, and the children loved playing on the Wii in the foyer. The food was beautiful with excellent choices both at breakfast and at dinner. The hotel is very central for shopping and sightseeing. All in all excellent value for money.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NonnaB2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review, 24 August 2011
Thank you for posting your thoughts on here, it is great to read that you and your family enjoyed our hospitality. I know the whole team will be thrilled to read your post and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Novotel Southampton.
Kind regards
Glenn Findlay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We stayed at the Novotel in Southampton early July and late July before and after our wonderful Baltic cruise. Our deluxe room was on the 5th floor and it was great. We could see the cruise ships docked from our window. The rooms are clean and tidy and big compared to others we have stayed at. You are around 10 minutes from the West Quay shopping plaza, which has a great array of shops. The cruise terminal is only 5 minutes away by taxi (you can't really walk) and National Express Coach station is a 5-10 minute walk. We had an early bird deal, which included breakfast. The breakfast was a buffet and had enough choices for all. There is also a flash Apple computer by reception that you can get free wifi on. We would highly recommend this hotel and would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: 5th Floor, Deluxe
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Millieward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review, 24 August 2011
My team and I very much appreciate your kind words, and we’re glad to have been a part of your visit to Southampton and do hope you enjoyed your cruise . We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind regards
Glenn Findlay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#5 of 24 in Southampton
879 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
1,802 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#14 of 24 in Southampton
1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#13 of 24 in Southampton
972 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
4.3 mi away
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl
#3 of 24 in Southampton
1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Southampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Southampton

Property: Novotel Southampton
Address: 1 West Quay Road, Southampton SO15 1RA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Southampton
#4 Green Hotel in Southampton
#6 Business Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Southampton 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Southampton is located in the centre of Southampton. Located Opposite West Quay shopping centre and close to the Cruise terminals, Our hotel offers complimentry Wireless throught the Hotel. Visit the nearby National Motor Museum, the New Forest national park and the Cathedral City of Winchester then relax and enjoy our restaurant, room service, bar, indoor heated swimming pool, gym and sauna. Onsite pay parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Novotel Southampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Southampton Hotel Southampton
Accor Southampton
Southampton Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing