We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Southampton
Ranked #11 of 26 Hotels in Southampton
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 22 October 2011

Clean, tidy and good size rooms. Toilet separate to bathroom which seems to be in the middle of the room (not a problen, just a little odd). I've stayed at this hotel several times for business and some rooms better than others. Always hot at night, slept with window open but have been woken by noise in car park. Better room at back of hotel. Breakfast good, plenty of choice. Haven't used gym or pool facilities.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CL81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2011

Thank you for your very kind words. They are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves at Novotel Southampton. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind Regards
Glenn Findlay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,839)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,482 - 1,488 of 1,839 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2011

Attended a dinner at the hotel, great atmosphere and fabulous food. Rooms are nice and comfortable and breakfast was delicious. Hotel is a a good location, close to the harbour and shopping centre, definitely worth a stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travel1234london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2011

Many thanks for the positive comments; I’m happy we were able to make your stay with us so enjoyable. I hope we can welcome you back to the again very soon.
Kind regards,
Glenn Findlay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Very family friendly with play area and video games for the kids in the lobby.

Staff were friendly, professional and eager to help (especially at reception).

Clean, comfortable bedroom. Delicious and plentiful breakfast, which the whole family enjoyed.

Great swimming pool with reasonable spa facilities.

Enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tbiondi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Novotel Southampton, I will share your kind words with the team and we do hope we will see you again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Glenn Findlay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Despite having successfully reserved and received confirmation of our booking through Booking.com, Novotel Southampton cancelled our booking 2 days prior to our arrival. The reason was vague (declined credit card?). It was nothing wrong with the credit card, which had been verified and accepted as a guarantee at the time of booking. The real reason seemed to be unexpected demand due to surprising hot weather, and a chance to fill the rooms at a higher price. What lack on contractual responsability! They left us having to look for another hotel at very short notice. We were very lucky to find a nice hotel nearby, cheaper, and with breakfast included in the price.

We will not be using Novotel Southampton in the future, even though we have had good experience Novotel before.

Room Tip: Do not use Booking. com to book your rooms. They couldn't honour our booking a the agreed pric...
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
Thank Pilar R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2011

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. I am disappointed you believe that we cancelled your room due to demand. I can confirm the booking was cancelled due to an invalid Card, it is important to ensure you input details correctly; we did contact your agent to get this rectified. Should you have booked direct we would have had your contact details and naturally would have been in touch if any issues arose. I am sorry you feel this way and feel free to contact me direct should you choose to stay at Novotel Southampton in the future.
Kind regards,
Glenn Findlay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Sydney, Australia
1
Reviewed 4 October 2011

This is a no nonsence hotel, well placed for the port and adjacent to shopping centres.
The city is worth a walk around, the authorities have combined the old with some new, not always sympathetically but of necessity, it was after all subject to extensive bombing.

This is one of the best value hotels in the south.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

A recent stay at the Taipei Airport Novatel drew my attention to this chain. On that occasion I was blown away by both staff and accommodation.

We were visiting the Southamton Boat show as guests of Princess Motoryachts and thought we would stay there as it was the location of their valet shuttle to the show.

Rates - as has already been mentioned the hotel had ramped up rates to the max during the show. We paid £195 per room for 2 nights. Ok, it's supply and demand, but they then popped on £4 per night for parking which I felt was taking it a bit far, especially when we had to park on the grass round the back of the hotel. 

Initial thoughts on the room as we entered was not good. It had a rough painted surface to both walls and ceiling and initially it looked like a really old run down hotel room. In the end the room was fine but a terrible finish.

Separate toilet, modern enough bathroom, mini fridge, tea making facilities, charged for Internet and movies - £9.95 for unlimited of both. Sofa converted to a bed for our daughter and it was made up as requested when we arrived.

Breakfast was excellent. Cooked food neatly laid out, a self service buffet with teas and coffees brought to you promptly including cafe latte if you wanted.

Solo travellers have the option of dining booths with a small tv.

Nintendo wii and x-box 360 available in the lobby as was a mac with free Internet access. Bar area modern, toilets clean and extensive. Extremely handy for shopping centre and docks if you're off on a cruise. TGI Fridays and McDonalds just off the hotel car park.

The IBIS and Etap hotels share the same car park, a friend of ours decided to stay overnight and was quoted £185 at the Novatel, decided to stay at the Etap for £95 instead.

A nice enough hotel and we would return but £195 per night was expensive for the room, particularly with that horrible wall and ceiling finish, it took the edge off things visually. 

Very handy location though.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henry901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Novotel Southampton, As mentioned the Southampton Boat Show is one of the busiest times of the year in Southampton. I am Glad you did enjoy yourselves and I have noted your comments regarding our wall & ceiling finishes. We are glad you also enjoyed your stay in Novotel Taipei Airport and we hope to see you again at Novotel Southampton.
Kind regards,
Glenn Findlay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

We only stayed for one night but were very impressed with this hotel. The staff were very friendly and efficient, rooms and public areas clean, bed comfortable, good breakfast. An excellent start to our holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lavenderhaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2011

Many thanks for your review. We are happy that we helped get your holiday of to an excellent start and we look forward to hosting you again soon.
Kind regards,
Glenn Findlay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#8 of 26 in Southampton
1,166 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#20 of 26 in Southampton
1,995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Southampton Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#12 of 26 in Southampton
1,274 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Southampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Southampton

Address: 1 West Quay Road, Southampton SO15 1RA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Southampton
#4 Green Hotel in Southampton
#6 Business Hotel in Southampton
Price Range: £55 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Southampton 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Southampton is located in the centre of Southampton. Located Opposite West Quay shopping centre and close to the Cruise terminals, Our hotel offers complimentry Wireless throught the Hotel. Visit the nearby National Motor Museum, the New Forest national park and the Cathedral City of Winchester then relax and enjoy our restaurant, room service, bar, indoor heated swimming pool, gym and sauna. Onsite pay parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Stayforlong S.L., TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Southampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Southampton Hotel Southampton
Accor Southampton
Southampton Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing