We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fair Food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Southampton
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
GreenLeadersBronze level
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fair Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

Ate as part of a function - 100 people in total. You therefore expect the food to be less agreeable than choosing a la carte - it's as much about convenience for the chef feeding that number. Food was perfectly edible, hot and tasty so in that respect it was adequate, but it didn't set the world alight. really pleased to see lots of staff, all smiling, getting the food out quickly and clearing down tables well. Maybe 3 stars is a bit mean but it certainly doesn't merit a strong recommendation.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Portmeirionman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding the private function you attended at Novotel Southampton. It is great to read that you enjoyed both the food and the service. We do offer several Menu choices for our functions, ranging from set menus to fully tailored fine dining options with the final decision of the menu options down to the event organizers. Again thank you for taking the time to comment here and we do look forward to hosting you again soon.
Kind Regards
Glenn Findlay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,615 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    452
    682
    343
    87
    51
See reviews for
481
592
96
261
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012 via mobile

Staff friendly, helpful and professional. Room was clean and well furnished.
Location was excellent and plenty of parking.
We only had breakfast but that was excellent- plenty of choice.
Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suejohn4945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
It is great to read your comments and I will share these with our team here at Novotel Southampton. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Kind regards,
Glenn Findlay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Went to Southampton recently. Stayed in the Novotel. Its right on the docks. Right next to it is the beautiful docks and the West Quay shopping centre. Saw my parents off as they went on a cruise. Had a great weekend. Very helpful staff and a lovely superior room.
Def go back again.

Room Tip: Book a superior room with view of docks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevie_rich1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
I’m very grateful that you could take time to leave us your thoughts and write a review. I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again in the very near future. Kind regards,
Glenn Findlay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

I hadn't been there since the re-furb and it looks great!
Very modern light and pleasant.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Novotel Southampton and we look forward to your next visit.
Kind regards,
Glenn Findlay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

Recently stayed at this hotel with my adult sister who has learning difficulties and is in a wheelchair. Staff could not have been more helpful or understanding. Everyone from front desk to bar staff, housekeeping and room service made our stay stress free by actually acknowledging and talking to her. (So often we encounter indifferent staff and the 'does she take sugar' attitude.) Our accessible room was fab, again made life so much easier with grab bars and room to actually move with the wheelchair. My only [small] gripe was that our double bed was two singles pushed together so that the matresses kept parting company in the night! I fully appreciate though that it is probably the case that most people using accessible rooms prefer twin beds so minor inconvienance to pay for the extra space the room gave us. Thank you to all staff concerned. Saying hello to someone with learning difficulties may seem a little thing but you would be amazed at the difference it makes, both to the person themselves and those caring for them.

Room Tip: Don't be afraid to let staff know if you have additional needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Thank you for your kind words. We always welcome feedback and my team and I are so glad to have been a part of your visit to Southampton. We have also addressed the issue you had with our mattresses. I hope we can be part of your future travel plans and we look forward to welcoming you back to Novotel Southampton.
With kind regards,
Glenn Findlay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,650 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#16 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,078 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#10 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Southampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Southampton

Property: Novotel Southampton
Address: 1 West Quay Road, Southampton SO15 1RA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Southampton
#4 Green Hotel in Southampton
#6 Business Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Southampton 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Southampton is located in the centre of Southampton. Located Opposite West Quay shopping centre and close to the Cruise terminals, Our hotel offers complimentry Wireless throught the Hotel. Visit the nearby National Motor Museum, the New Forest national park and the Cathedral City of Winchester then relax and enjoy our restaurant, room service, bar, indoor heated swimming pool, gym and sauna. Onsite pay parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Southampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Southampton Hotel Southampton
Accor Southampton
Southampton Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing