We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“£5 parking charge!!! - what kind of hotel is this”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Novotel Southampton
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“£5 parking charge!!! - what kind of hotel is this”
Reviewed 21 May 2012

The hotel itself is okay and probably 3 star but the fact that they make you pay £5 to park is just so tacky and underhanded. I have never stayed anywhere where we had to pay for parking and I find this a bit easyjet. Also they never stated that there was a £5 parking charge prior to booking. Disapointed.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jchapple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review, 24 May 2012
Thanks for commenting here in Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at Novotel Southampton. I can assure that we regular review our Car parking charges to ensure that they remain competitive and I can assure you we our charges are very competitve for a 4 star hotel in Southampton. Again thank you for your comments and we do hope you choose Novotel Southampton in the future.
Kind Regards
Glenn Findlay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,690 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    468
    709
    362
    93
    58
See reviews for
500
622
101
272
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2012

We stayed at this hotel while on business with my husband. The hotel was clean and inviting . Although the access to the Hotel from the main roads was abit confusing, it was very good location and close to all amenities. The restauarant was good and the bar even better. There was a small gymn and a pool which was nice to have after a hard days work
the staff were pleasant and friendly and over all had a good stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jemamusela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
It is great to read your comments and I will share them with our team. Thank you for taking the time to post on Tripadvisor and we do hope to see you again in the future.
Kind Regards
Glenn Findlay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

We have stayed in this Hotel several times and are always impressed by the extremely friendly staff. Nothing is too much trouble for them and they are always very respectful and kind. The rooms are spotless and very well appointed. The bed is very comfortable and the rooms are large. The restaurant serves excellent food and the staff are very efficient. We would recommend this hotel for either a holiday or for business and it is very close to the harbour for Southampton cruise ships.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glove1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Thank you for writing choosing to stay at Novotel Southampton and for taking the time to write such kind words – I will be sharing them with all the team here and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Glenn Findlay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cumbria
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

We travelled by train to join our cruise ship the next morning. This hotel was ideally situated right opposite the central station. So no need to get transport. Its just a short walk into the town centre and a stroll across the car park you can see all the cruise liners in dock with lots of small restaurants nearby. The room was large with an extra bed in for my son but still plenty of room. Breakfast was included in our room rate but for what you could choose from I would of willingly paid as it was lovely. They have xbox video games for kids in the lobby area and a really good leisure centre.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlie094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Thanks for taking the time to review our Hotel, it is much appreciated and we look forward to you staying with as at Novotel Southampton soon.
Kind Regards,
Glenn Findlay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
middlesex
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Just got back from a 4 night stay at this hotel. I travelled with my husband and two small children.I will cover both my positive and negative viewpoints of the hotel and hope that you find my review useful.

Positive: The hotel is in a great location. Right next to a retail park and the West Quays shopping mall. The docks and the high street are also in walking distance. We ate breakfast everyday and found the food to be both plentiful and nice tasting. There is ample choice for both adults and children. There is plenty of parking spaces even though the area is shared between three hotels, we always found a place to park. There is a gym and pool in the hotel which is free to use. The pool is fab and the water is at the perfect temperature. In addition, children under the age of 16yrs stay and eat breakfast for free. This was great especially as there is a Wii and a Xbox that the kids can play with for free in the reception area.

Negative: We had booked an executive room hoping that it would be big enough for a family of 4 - in thinking this we were wrong. The room is very small once the sofa is opened up. The is very little space to put your things. When u have small children, you carry along many items and I found that the room just did not suit us. When we asked at reception if we could have a different room- we were informed that all the executive rooms were the same size.
We ate at the hotel restaurant twice. The first meal was sufficient but on the second occasion we ordered macaroni cheese for my daughter and a plate of penne in a carbonara sauce came out. My daughter did not eat her pasta as the penne was too large for her mouth and the dish was full of bacon.At the end of our meal, we had to tell the waiter that this is not what we ordered especially as my daughter is vegetarian. My husband also ordered the chocolate special dessert. Out of the 3 things listed on the menu only one thing was provided. There was no chocolate fonduat but a dense chocolate cake served instead striaght out of the fridge may I add and rather than cookie dough ice cream he was served vanilla ice cream. In the end not a very tasty desert especially when it's nearly £7.

I did not appreciate that the pool was in the reception area. There was no privacy and quite odd walking around the hotel foyer in your swim suit and dripping water everywhere.

For a hotel that has been recently renovated I find it shocking that there is no AC. The rooms get very very very hot. None of us slept on the first night. The next morning we asked for a fan to be placed in our room and it stayed on the whole time during our holiday. Also, you can not open the window fully once the sofa bed is extended out as there simply is no space.

Overall I would stay in this hotel again purely for the location and the pool. The rooms are very small and my stay would only be in the winter months. I do not know many people that could stay during the summer months.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lawyergirlMiddlesex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor following your recent stay at the Novotel Southampton hotel.

I am very sorry that your experience did not meet your overall expectations on this occasion. At Novotel, we endeavour to provide a superior experience for every guest.

Our Leisure center does have changing rooms to allow our guest to change prior and after using these facilities.
I would very much like the opportunity to discuss your stay with us directly. If you would be so kind as to contact me on glenn.findlay@accor.com

Kind Regards
Glenn Findlay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Ate as part of a function - 100 people in total. You therefore expect the food to be less agreeable than choosing a la carte - it's as much about convenience for the chef feeding that number. Food was perfectly edible, hot and tasty so in that respect it was adequate, but it didn't set the world alight. really pleased to see lots of staff, all smiling, getting the food out quickly and clearing down tables well. Maybe 3 stars is a bit mean but it certainly doesn't merit a strong recommendation.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Portmeirionman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding the private function you attended at Novotel Southampton. It is great to read that you enjoyed both the food and the service. We do offer several Menu choices for our functions, ranging from set menus to fully tailored fine dining options with the final decision of the menu options down to the event organizers. Again thank you for taking the time to comment here and we do look forward to hosting you again soon.
Kind Regards
Glenn Findlay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012 via mobile

Staff friendly, helpful and professional. Room was clean and well furnished.
Location was excellent and plenty of parking.
We only had breakfast but that was excellent- plenty of choice.
Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suejohn4945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
It is great to read your comments and I will share these with our team here at Novotel Southampton. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Kind regards,
Glenn Findlay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
843 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
1,776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#14 of 24 in Southampton
1,147 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#12 of 24 in Southampton
965 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Southampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Southampton

Property: Novotel Southampton
Address: 1 West Quay Road, Southampton SO15 1RA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Southampton
#4 Green Hotel in Southampton
#6 Business Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Southampton 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Southampton is located in the centre of Southampton. Located Opposite West Quay shopping centre and close to the Cruise terminals, Our hotel offers complimentry Wireless throught the Hotel. Visit the nearby National Motor Museum, the New Forest national park and the Cathedral City of Winchester then relax and enjoy our restaurant, room service, bar, indoor heated swimming pool, gym and sauna. Onsite pay parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Southampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Southampton Hotel Southampton
Accor Southampton
Southampton Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing