We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Novotel Southampton” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Southampton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Novotel Southampton
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
GreenLeadersBronze level
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Novotel Southampton”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

This hotel gave excelent serive. It was very customer focused. It was centrally located, close to the Rail Stational and National Express bus service. The free city bus service stop was at the railway station. The service took passengers around the city and to the ferry terminal. The accommodation at the hotel was comfortable and the restaurant served good food.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Novotel Southampton. I look forward to your next visit.
Kind regards,
Glenn Findlay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,586 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    441
    670
    338
    87
    50
See reviews for
468
583
96
255
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

I have stayed in a few hotels in the area over the past few weeks and this was the best by far. The separate bathroom and toilet was a little strang,e but apart from that no complaints at all. The room was very clean, the facilties good, and the food was excellent. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KristaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
It was great reading your review and thank you for taking the time. I will be sharing this review with our team and look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.
Kind Regards
Glenn Findlay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horam, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012 via mobile

I have just returned from a one night stay here, we were in Southampton to visit family and celebrate my 50th birthday. On our booking my husband had mentioned my special occasion, but there was no acknowledgement at all.
Check in was very slow we waited 20 minutes. The check in staff were very polite, but just slow.

We were allocated room 121, a very basic room with absolutely zero view. The room was clean, but overall a very depressing experience for my 50th birthday in a room with no view, no effective air conditioning and mould on the bathroom tiles located in the middle of an industrial estate/car park. The room was uncomfortably hot so sleep was very poor.

I wouldn't recommend this hotel for any special occasions.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank woodyx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
Thank you for your review. I am sorry that your comments of you celebration were not picked up on our reservation system. I have noted your comments regarding the room temperature and the speed of service at reception. Again thank you for reviewing Novotel Southampton and I do hope to see you again in the future.
Kind Regards
Glenn Findlay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

We stayed overnight at the Novotel before picking up a cruise from the Mayflower Terminal. We took up the offer of car parking at the hotel for the duration of the cruise & the included taxi transfer to the terminal went smoothly. On our return, a taxi back to the hotel car park cost only £5.50.
Our room was on the front of the hotel, so we didn't hear noise from the Police Station, mentioned in some reviews, but we arrived back from dinner to find we had noise from a disco on the premises. A call to reception assured us that it would end at midnight, which it did. My tip is to book a room on a high floor and at the front.
The room was clean & adequately furnished & the bathroom was clean and well equipped. The separate toilet needed some upgrading.
We had dinner & breakfast in the hotel restaurant.. The food was good & the service excellent. Reception staff were friendly & helpful.
We passed the time before embarkation wandering round the shopping centre, a few minutes' walk away.

Room Tip: Reserve a room on the side away from the Police Station & on a high floor to avoid noise from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay here at Novotel Southampton and found our Park and Cruise option convenient. My personal apologies that you were inconvenienced by the function we had on the evening and I do hope we will welcome you back in the near future.
Kind Regards
Glenn Findlay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

My first time in Southampton to go on a tour of the Oceana ship and rather than a whistle stop day visit from London, we decided to stay the night. Very glad we did as the Novotel was in a good location for our tour (walking distance from Mayflower terminal, 5 minute cab ride from ocean terminal, although only a 15/20 minute walk).

As far as hotels go, the staff here were very professional from start to finish, whether checking in/out or having breakfast. The hotel is bright, spacious and importantly, clean. Our room was on the top floor and we had a partial view of the docks and both terminals...was lovely to see the cruise ships pulling up. The room was very spacious and had all the mod cons you could need. For the price I paid, I'd say it was good value for money. The bar area is relaxed and there is an outside area to sit for a drink which was lovely in the sunshine. The leisure facilities are small (especially the pool), but it was a bonus to have the option. I recommend you opt for the buffet breakfast...very surprised about the excellent quality and the great variety. I usually skip breakfast in any hotel I stay at; I hope they are all as good as this one.

The hotel really is within walking distance of anything of interest, including 5 minutes from the train station. We went into the shopping area (10 min walk) to do a bit of shopping and whilst the most central area was not all that welcoming or clean, it was all very convenient. The nicest area is between the Mayflower and Ocean terminals where there are some lovely bars and restaurants by the water edge.

Just a tiny gripe; the room was a little warm through the night (even with the aircon on) and the tv signal was a little dodgy. That's it though! Everything else was just as it should be. Well done Novotel and thanks for looking after us so well.

Room Tip: 5th floor looking out to the docks. There are 2 lifts so no problems with stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank j1m3bo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Thank you for your very kind words. They are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves at Novotel Southampton. I have noted you comments regarding the room temperature and out television channels. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards,
Glenn Findlay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

No matter how late you arrive, the reception staff at Novotel Southampton do everything they can to make you feel welcome.
The bedrooms are very comfortable with very good lighting which you don't often find in hotels these days.
The restaurant staff are extremely helpful and knowledgeable about the nutritional content of the meals on offer.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SeaPrincess77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
It is great to read your comments and to have had the opportunity to welcome you back to Southampton. The team here will be thrilled to read your comments and we all look forward to welcoming you back to Novotel Southampton in the future.
Kind regards,
Glenn Findlay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#16 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,061 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#9 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Blue Keys
The Blue Keys
#1 of 24 in Southampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Southampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Southampton

Property: Novotel Southampton
Address: 1 West Quay Road, Southampton SO15 1RA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Southampton
#5 Green Hotel in Southampton
#6 Business Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Southampton 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Southampton is located in the centre of Southampton. Located Opposite West Quay shopping centre and close to the Cruise terminals, Our hotel offers complimentry Wireless throught the Hotel. Visit the nearby National Motor Museum, the New Forest national park and the Cathedral City of Winchester then relax and enjoy our restaurant, room service, bar, indoor heated swimming pool, gym and sauna. Onsite pay parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Novotel Southampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Southampton Hotel Southampton
Accor Southampton
Southampton Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing