We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous hotel right in a good position.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Southampton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Novotel Southampton
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
GreenLeadersBronze level
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
488 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 276 helpful votes
“Fabulous hotel right in a good position.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

We stopped here for a night before embarking on a cruise.

The hotel is superb, the rooms are lovely and the bed was deliciously comfortable. The bathroom was very well equipped and spotless although, as usual, the mirror was a little far away from the front of the the basin top and the lighting not very conducive for makeup application.

The buffet breakfast was excellent, varied and delicous. Unfortunately we had eaten dinner at home before checking in so could not experience their interesting dinner menu.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank perle369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review, 7 January 2013
Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Novotel Southampton. We have noted your comment regarding the Bathroom Mirror and Lighting and we look forward to your next visit. Kind Regards
Glenn Findlay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,587 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    441
    671
    338
    87
    50
See reviews for
468
583
96
255
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights a couple of weeks ago.

Room had everything I needed, including a fridge. Tv channels are a bit limited, and forget trying to connect your own DVD/Media player.

Bed was a super comfy memory foam type, so I got a good nights sleep the first night.
Despite turning the thermostat right down, the room was too warm the second night?

Room was quiet too, despite being near the main road.

Breakfast was excellent & tea was the proper strength.

I don't eat in hotels because its too expensive, so you've got the option of McDonald's or a TGi Fridays next it. TGi is fine and food good. You could eat at the Ikea restaurant, which is a short walk.

Its only 5 mins walk from West Quay shopping centre and a load of other outlets

Apart from the hot room, the only other grip I have is no free WiFi

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maviczap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review, 7 January 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Novotel in Southampton and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind Regards
Glenn Findlay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

Set in the middle of a retail park, opposite the docks and beside one of the main ring roads and your heart at first sinks. But once inside it's a joy to stay here. Spacious foyer, friendly staff and everything is very quiet. This is great place to relax and escape the bustle of outside. Room well equipped and the bathroom, like all Novotel bathrooms, is wonderful. Beds comfortable and we slept well. There was one small problem with our room (no one's fault) which was dealt with quickly. I was travelling with my family - staff were very family orientated , free children's gift on arrival was a nice touch. The only negatives were the lack of free WIFI (so many hotels give it you free these days), the cost of the breakfasts (useful tip: go to IKEA across the road) and the size of the leisure centre which had a very small swimming pool (too small for such a large hotel) and titchy changing rooms. But on the whole this was an enjoyable stay and we'd be happy to return.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank politicsandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review, 7 January 2013
Many thanks for your review here on tripadvisor. We are glad you and your family enjoyed your stay, I have noted you comments regarding our Wifi, Breakfast price and leisure centre. We are all looking forward to seeing you again in the future.
Kind Regards
Glenn Findlay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013 via mobile

I would like to start by saying a massive thank you to all the staff in the hotel,all were very friendly and attentive. The rooms were very clean and spacious with nice touches of iPod docking station, coffee maker and complimentary films and Internet .We had a large family group of 35 for the New Years party and everybody had a great time with no complaints.The food was fantastic and everybody enjoyed themselves with the dance floor buzzing all evening into the early hours.The breakfast in the morning was again excellent with a wide choice from fruit to full English,the staff were also very friendly and efficient here.We will definitely be back for next New Year !
I can thoroughly recommend this hotel for a short stay in Southampton or for overnight before a cruise.
Many Thanks to Glen and all his staff. Happy New Year.

Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Bowilks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review, 3 January 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review here, I am so happy that you and your Family enjoyed the Hotel and our New Years Dinner and Dance. I will be sharing your comments with the team here and we are looking forward to seeing you and your family here again for New Year 2014.
Kind Regards
Glenn Findlay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2012

Me my son and my partner came to stay here for one night, was shocked when we entered our "executive" room to see a standard room , small and nothing executive about it. Was over charged at dinner and charged 22.50 for a steak my partner didnt even order! Loud music still being heard at ridiculous time. Never again. Only thing I couldn't fault is location.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kjh9191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review, 3 January 2013
Thank you for posting your thoughts here. Our Executive rooms come with Coffee Machine, Bose Docking station, Bathrobes and Toiletries and Internet. My Apologies that we did get your bill wrong, I understand this was quickly amended by our restaurant team. We do from time to time have events held in the hotel; naturally we aim to ensure that this does not inconvenience any of our residents. Again thank you for posting your thoughts here and I will be sharing them with our team.
Kind Regards
Glenn Findlay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2012

had a cpl of nights here,,nice place,,fairly easy to find tho not marked very well as to which junction to come off the main road,take the maccy ds turning and its around the back of it,,,nice welcome friendly staff,,rooms very clean and well kept,,beds v/good!linen spotless,,housekeepers do a great job,,i didnt like the fact that theres limited telly,,9 channels,,not much really for the middle of the night viewing when u can t sleep,,(body clock was messed up) small usual room fridge,,£2 for a coke? £1.50 mars bar,bit pricey,but when needs must!
swimming pool and gym fantastic,pool nice n a warm, tho a little small,,was expecting bigger but think there photographer made it look a whole lot larger,,approx 8x4 m,,basic but well kept gym,,sauna could do with a tweek giher ,but on the whole excellent and free towels!
easy access to the shopping centres across the road,,tgi fridays next door,,food was excellent!
£5 parking for 24 hrs so a bargin ,,but drop in price for this hotel is £180 a night so grab a deal off the net first!
£13 a head for breakfast is a little steep i think tho!
all in all deffinatly a good stay! and would again!

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the car park side!,,quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank david l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
67 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2012

Needed to break journey in Southampton and the Novotel was, as ever, the perfect place to do so. V cheap parking - £5 for overnight stay. Swimming pool etc was great for kids with plenty o towels etc provided. In terms of location it couldn't be better for Southampton. Its a couple of minutes walk across the car park from a huge shopping centre, including John Lewis, Marks etc - v large indeed. We ate further into the centre of Southampton - and it was only a 15 minute walk along the the side of the docks.
To reassure parents, our only concern beforehand was the children's beds were described as a double fold out settee; this isn't the case - the bed (already folded out and made when we arrived) was actually 2 separate single beds so all good

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yorkgirl_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review, 3 January 2013
Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit at Novotel Southampton. I look forward to welcoming you and your family back soon
Kind Regards
Glenn Findlay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#16 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#9 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Blue Keys
The Blue Keys
#1 of 24 in Southampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Southampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Southampton

Property: Novotel Southampton
Address: 1 West Quay Road, Southampton SO15 1RA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Southampton
#5 Green Hotel in Southampton
#6 Business Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Southampton 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Southampton is located in the centre of Southampton. Located Opposite West Quay shopping centre and close to the Cruise terminals, Our hotel offers complimentry Wireless throught the Hotel. Visit the nearby National Motor Museum, the New Forest national park and the Cathedral City of Winchester then relax and enjoy our restaurant, room service, bar, indoor heated swimming pool, gym and sauna. Onsite pay parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, ACCOR, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Novotel Southampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Southampton Hotel Southampton
Accor Southampton
Southampton Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing