We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fantastic stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Southampton
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
GreenLeadersBronze level
Write a Review

1,615 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    452
    682
    343
    87
    51
See reviews for
481
592
96
261
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grimstad, Norway
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2013

I regularly use this hotel when traveling to Southampton for business. The service at the hotel is good, the rooms are equipped with what I need, the restaurant and bar area are attractive and the hotel offers a fitness room with good equipment right in the hotel.

I highly recommend this hotel because it has:
- Excellent value for money
- Good service and
- A nice and welcoming fitness room with a pool making it easy to relax after a days work.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andreas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
Many thanks for your fantastic review, we will be sharing your comments with our team here at Novotel Southampton and we look forward to your return.
Kind Regards
Glenn Findlay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2013

Great central location. Easy parking and very efficient and friendly staff. Pet friendly and good food in the restaurant.

Only negative was the £9.90 charge per night for either broadband or wifi in the rooms. However FREE in the reception area.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deejt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel here on Tripadvisor, I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and have noted your comment regarding Wifi, We are planning on offering a new service fro all of our guests from June this year which will expand the range of our free wifi.
Kind Regards
Glenn Findlay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2013

Over rated hotel. Staff are nice. Excellent food both breakfast and dinner. Room do require a bit furnishing. Superior room felt like standard rooms to me. Hotel had serious problems with heating. They have to sort this out very soon or else I feel they should be downgraded in rating.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SPT600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
Thank you for your review, we have noted your comments and we look forward to your return here o Novotel Southampton.
Kind Regards
Glenn Findlay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

We attended a dinner dance that was hosted in the hotel and took advantage of a night away from home to enjoy the occasion. We arrived at bit of busy time and had to wait to book in to the room, but it didn't really take long. The hotel had already booked our rooms and all our party was staying in the same area of the hotel which was great for us. The evening was well organised with the food delivered to the 100 guests hot and tasty, and in good time. The next day the breakfast was excellent with all the different types of foods you could imagine we started at 9.00am and finished of about 10.45am.

All the time we were at the hotel the staff were friendly and helpful, and always did their jobs in a professional manner.

We are already planning to come back to this hotel for the dinner dance next year too!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick-Burt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

I chose this hotel because it had the highest TripAdvisor rating and because it had a pool (I enjoy a swim to unwind after a long drive). On arrival I was informed the pool was shut because it was murky due too many people had used it the day before. Apparently, lots of children used it because it was half-term.

I was first informed at check-in that the chlorine levels were fine and so said I was happy to give it a go on that basis. Just after we got up to the room, however, someone called to say they wanted to check the chlorine levels. We hung around for 30 minutes for the test results and were then told they were too low because someone had apparently failed to recharge the machine that chlorinates the water and that this is why, in fact, the pool was murky.

Bottom line is that it would have been cheaper to stay at a hotel with no pool and a comparable room specification, such as a Holiday Inn Express, where we would also have had breakfast included (Novotel charges £13.95 per person, which is way out of my league).

As per some other comments regarding room quality, the bathroom was a bit 'tired'. The lining at the base of the shower screen was coming away from the frame and there was an accumulation of that 'black stuff' one sometimes sees in showers, in the grooves between the shower screen glass and the shower screen frame. It wasn't gross, but left a feeling of preferring to shower without touching the sides!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fredd111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
Thank you for posting your thoughts here on Tripadisor, I am sorry our swimming pool was unavailable for you during your stay with us. Our swimming pool has an automatic dosing system which unfortunately can under dose if there is more people in the pool at one time than what we recommend, this does cause us to have to close the pool for a period whilst we get the chlorine levels back to acceptable levels, and my apologies that this happened during your stay, I note that you were offered complimentary use of the Quays Swimming and diving complex located 5 minutes from the hotel as a solution for you. I have noted your comments regarding our Breakfast price and Bathroom screen. Again thank you for posting your comments on here and please feel free to contact me on glenn.findlay@accor.com.
Kind regards
Glenn Findlay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,650 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#16 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,078 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#10 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Southampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Southampton

Property: Novotel Southampton
Address: 1 West Quay Road, Southampton SO15 1RA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Southampton
#4 Green Hotel in Southampton
#6 Business Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Southampton 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Southampton is located in the centre of Southampton. Located Opposite West Quay shopping centre and close to the Cruise terminals, Our hotel offers complimentry Wireless throught the Hotel. Visit the nearby National Motor Museum, the New Forest national park and the Cathedral City of Winchester then relax and enjoy our restaurant, room service, bar, indoor heated swimming pool, gym and sauna. Onsite pay parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Lastminute, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Southampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Southampton Hotel Southampton
Accor Southampton
Southampton Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing