We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected free wifi from hotel of this standard.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Southampton
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Southampton
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Very nice stay at the Novotel Southampton, good quality rooms with excellent facilities but would have expected free wifi in the rooms, even the Premier Inn gives you 30 minutes free!! Nice swimmimg pool and gym facilities, towels a bit rough though!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Pauline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2013

Thank you for posting your thoughts here on tripadvisor and we are glad you enjoyed our leisure facilities. We do currently charge for wireless however we will be changing our service within the next 3 months to offer a more competitive wifi solution. Again thank you for posting you thoughts here and we do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Novotel Southampton in the future.
Kind Regards
Glenn Findlay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,739)
There are newer reviews for Novotel Southampton
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,155 - 1,161 of 1,742 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2013

We were surprised by the quality of this hotel. We upgraded to an executive room, which was well worth the small extra cost. The upgrade gave us a large comfy bed, all you can eat internet and latest movies, espresso maker and Bose sound dock. The only downside to the room was the toilet, which was reminded me more of an old public toilet. The staff were very helpful and the breakfast was very good. I like scrambled eggs and its a good test - I went back for more. You do have to pay for the car park, but we were able to come and go as we pleased. Overall surprisingly good

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jbwakefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2013

It was great to read you review here I am so happy you enjoyed our executive room and I have noted your comments regarding the toilet which is separate to the Bathroom. I will be sharing your words with our team and I am glad you enjoyed our Breakfast. We are all looking forward to you returning soon.
Kind Regards
Glenn Findlay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We attended a formal function at this Hotel Yesterday. The Hotel itself was lovely as was our room which was spotless and well appointed. On our arrival the Staff behind the bar attending to bar lunches could not have been more helpful.
Now to the formal dinner in the evening attended by over 200 guests at £30.00 per head.
The meal was just AWFUL, no other word for it.
Soggy roast potatoes and yorkshire pudding ( our daughter could give the Chef lessons in how to produce crisp roasties and yorkies!) The vegetables were overdone, broccoli almost burned. They completely ran out of horseradish sauce.One would think they could estimate better than this. NO Maitre D in evidence to tour the tables and ask if everything was alright Only 1 cruet per table of 10. Waiters and waitresses who completely disappeared What a let down for such a good Hotel. Points out of 10 for this so called baquet -10.

Room Tip: Our room was on 4th floor; easy access and absolutely spotleess.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leafyschroder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2013

Thank you for writing your review here on tripadvisor. I was most disappointed to read your comments regarding the function you attended during the weekend. The feedback we have had from the organizers and guests during the night have been very complementary. We regularly hold large functions here at Novotel Southampton and do pride ourselves on our service and standards. Thank you for your kind words regarding you rooms and bar staff. Please do not hesitate to contact me on glenn.findlay@accor.com should you wish to discuss your stay with me personally.
Kind regards
Glenn Findlay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

We spent a very nice long weekend at the Southampton Novotel. Service was impeccable, especially from the French gentleman at reception and the Hungarian couple at breakfast. Their housekeeper, Ms. Redding even sent me my iPad charger I left in the room via the post!

Good points: service, nice room, very good breakfast until noon on weekends.

Bad points: no aircon or ventilation of any kind. We opened the window but it was still very hot. Mattress a bit soft and warm to my liking, pillow too tall. Hotel about 10 mins walk from city centre.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank mooney76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2013

Thank you for your kind words, it is great to read your thoughts regarding our team – they are a true asset to our hotel. I have noted your comments and would like to mention that we do not have air conditioning only air cooling, my apologies if your found our rooms warm during your stay and we do hope to see you again in the near future.
Kind Regards
Glenn Findlay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Cannot fault this hotel. We were looking for a family-friendly hotel in Southampton following our day out at peppa pig world, so rooms and breakfast were of paramount importance. Room Service was quicker than expected and food was nice. Breakfast was a treat - great choice of hot and cold buffet - and staff were very family-family. All in all a very enjoyable stay and we'll definately stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Dingam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2013

We are glad you enjoyed our Hotel – and Peppa Pig World, here at Novotel we are very family Friendly with our Kids eat free policy and also our game options in the lobby. It was great reading your review and we look forward to your family returning soon.
Kind regards
Glenn Findlay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Standard business hotel which was clean and efficient. The room was clean but a little drab and had all the required facilities you would expect. A decent bar with a reasonably priced menu for fairly standard pub grub. A little soul-less but functional and was quite happy with everything. Breakfast again was fine, but not top of the range. Get pretty much what you pay for which was fine in this case.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lunch_bunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel here on tripadvisor, we do hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards
Glenn Findlay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We arrived to a broken toilet, an overpowering stench of vomit in the room and no air conditioning. The room itself was generally in poor condition. Our stay lasted less than an hour. Absolute dump that is best avoided. Need I say more?

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank UK_T0uring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2013

I am sorry you did not enjoy our Hotel, as you can see by the many review posted here on tripadvisor our guests normally have an enjoyable time with us. We do not have air conditioning in Novotel Southampton. Please feel free to contact me on glenn.findlay@accor.com if you would like to discuss you stay with me personally.
Kind regards
Glenn Findlay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 25 in Southampton
938 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.5 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 25 in Southampton
1,842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#14 of 25 in Southampton
1,198 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#11 of 25 in Southampton
988 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Southampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Southampton

Address: 1 West Quay Road, Southampton SO15 1RA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Southampton
#4 Green Hotel in Southampton
#6 Business Hotel in Southampton
Price Range: £75 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Southampton 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Southampton is located in the centre of Southampton. Located Opposite West Quay shopping centre and close to the Cruise terminals, Our hotel offers complimentry Wireless throught the Hotel. Visit the nearby National Motor Museum, the New Forest national park and the Cathedral City of Winchester then relax and enjoy our restaurant, room service, bar, indoor heated swimming pool, gym and sauna. Onsite pay parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Novotel Southampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Southampton Hotel Southampton
Accor Southampton
Southampton Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing