We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Novotel Southampton
Nearby Hotels
US$93
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$75
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7(Southampton)(Great Value!)
US$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$110
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$113
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Highfield House Hotel(Southampton)(Great Value!)
US$68
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$88
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$98
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Premier Inn Southampton Airport Hotel(Southampton)(Great Value!)
US$82
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel(Southampton)(Great Value!)
US$85
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,886)
Filter reviews
1,886 results
Traveller rating
538
768
404
106
70
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
538
768
404
106
70
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsseparate toiletpolice stationexecutive roomtgi fridayspancake machinemini fridgeaccor hotelscar parkretail parkswimming poolsofa bedgood sizecruise terminalwest quay shopping centreper daypre cruiseleisure facilities
Filter
Updating list...
1,713 - 1,718 of 1,886 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2008

My husband and I stayed here for one night prior to boarding a cruise. I figured we'd get a standard budget hotel, but was surprised at a few things that made the stay better than expected.

The room was decent sized, especially for London standards. The toilet was located in a separate room from the bathroom, which included both a shower and tub. The furnishings included a flat screen tv and were quite stylish. The room was generally clean and comfortable. Front desk service was friendly and courteous, with a quick check-in.

Location of the hotel is great for proximity to shopping and the port (about a 5 min taxi ride). I would advise not eating at the Fridays near the hotel, as it was extremely slow service and just like the mediocre food you get here in the US chain. Unfortunately we were too late to eat at the mall and were too hungry to explore further options. Wish we had eaten at the hotel, as we did the following day for lunch. The dining room is modernly styled and the menu has a lot of choices. They offer three different sizes to their dishes, so you can order a small taste, appetizer size, or entree size depending on your appetite. It was a great way to try a couple of choices. We found the food to be quite tasty, much better than we hoped.

If you just need to check your email quickly, they have a public computer in the lobby for 10 minutes per pound. They will also hold your bags during the day (we had a several-hour wait between check-out and cruise boarding).

My only two complaints were that they gave us a room right by the elevator and across from the service room, which was kept open during the day and had staff going in and out. That made it a little bit noisy. The bed was also extremely firm. I think we would have had a problem sleeping on it for more than one night, but it was fine for our stay.

We would definitely stay here again and recommend it for similar reasons.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank pvg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2008

I stayed in this Novotel for two weeks while I was in Southampton for business and was joined by my partner in the final week.

Overall everything, the staff, accommodation, facilities, food etc was good, our only gripe was the 'high' speed internet service. Even though we had to pay extra on top of our room rate for the service, it was intermittant at best and would be better described as a 'low speed - if it feels like it,' internet service. Though we complained to the staff, they seemed unable to improve the service.

The food from the restaurant was good and the location close the West Quay (an excellent shopping complex in Southampton), Oxford st (good restaurants) and the Southamptom wharfs made it a very central place to stay.

If the windows were opened you would get road noise, but once closed there wasn't any noise at all. The rooms were spacious, we had a 'novation' room, which had a very nice bathroom, good shower, a desk, good storage and a couch. Overall everything very functional and comfortable.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank poodlewars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2008

Booked direct, and was not to sure as i had a bad experience with the same chain in York. However, my faith has been restored. The entrance was very grand, the red carpet was a nice touch, however feel that this was for the function that was happening and not for us.

We were informed that the floor we were staying on was be decorated, but our end where the room was, was finished. However we declined to move, and was not dissapointed.

The room, on the fifth floor was very nicely decorated - modern with a comfy feel. bathroom was very modern, clean and tidy. Bed was comfy, with a nicely sized wall mounted TV and view of the harbour.

The bar was welcoming, clean and fresh looking. Breakfast in the morning was well stocked and finished off a very nice weekend.

Five min's from the Mayflower Theatre, and ideal for theatre goer's. Ideal for shoppers and anybody visitng the town. It also very close to train station.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Chitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2008

We stayed at the Novotel, Southampton in February '08 as it was a great location for getting to the Mayflower Theatre and after staying at the Novotel in reading and being very impressed it seemed an obvious choice.

The receptionist was very friendly and ask which floor we would like to be on which is the first time that's ever happened. The hotel is near the main road to the docks in Southampton so ideally you will need a room facing the front of the hotel as this road runs at the back of it. I can not complain about the hotel as it was clean and did what your would expect from Novotel. However, I do have two little faults, Firstly the room was not one of there newly decorated rooms. If I could pick which floor I would like to of stay in why wasn't I given the option of a newly decorated room? Secondly, even though we were looking out the front of the hotel and not over the main road it was still fairly noisy.

Pros, Great location for Shopping, Watching the cruise liners coming into port and the Mayflower Theatre.

Cons, Fairly noisy and ask for a newly decorated room.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Happy_Hammer72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2008

I stayed at this hotel, for 1 night as i had an early meeting in West Quay shopping centre. The location is good for West Quay and for the city centre and train station. Check in was friendly and effcient. Room was comfortable but there were some hairs in the bath which does make me question the hygene at the hotel - not very pleasant! Gym was very small with only one of each machine, it was at the side of the pool and was the temperature of a sauna - so not great. Breakfast was a typical buffet style with a good variety, but as usual alot of the cooked food had gone cold under the heaters. Overall fine for business or a short stay, staff were very friendly and with a few tweaks could be alot better.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank charaia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews