We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Novotel Southampton
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Grand Harbour Hotel(Southampton)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Star Hotel(Southampton)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Winston Hotel(Southampton)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,872)
Filter reviews
1,872 results
Traveller rating
532
765
401
104
70
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
532
765
401
104
70
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsseparate toiletpolice stationexecutive roomtgi fridayspancake machinemini fridgeaccor hotelscar parkretail parkswimming poolsofa bedgood sizecruise terminalwest quay shopping centreper daypre cruiseleisure facilities
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,096 - 1,101 of 1,872 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Decent location if you want to stay close to the centre and be less than 10 minutes from the motorway, decent deal on Expedia for an Executive room so free w-fi and movies (great for our 9 year old), Pool was very warm but very small (photo on website must have been taken by an estate agent), restauarant was ok as were all the staff we encountered. View out of window was the car park of the Police Headquarters so at least we felt safe...

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Big_Rich_Sheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Thank you for posting your thoughts here regarding your recent stay with us. I was happy to read that you and your family enjoyed our executive room and made use of our swimming pool. Again thank you for posting your thoughts here and we hope to see you again.
Kind Regards
Glenn Findlay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 5 January 2014

From our experience I think this hotel sits somewhere between 'average' and 'very good' but in the balance will rank it 'very good'.

On arrival at the hotel we were welcomed by a very helpful receptionist who offered both upgrade and a choice of floor for our accommodation.

The room, with separate bathroom and toilet, was well furnished, clean and decorated to a good standard; if not a little outdated with textured wall surfaces.

The room provided tea and coffee making facilities, a safety deposit box, iron and ironing board, hair-dryer, TV, WiFi connection and chiller for cold drinks. We were just a little disappointed to find that a 500ml of water was priced at £2,50!

We also think that a handrail to the side of the bath/shower would be helpful and safer for both the young and older visitor.

Regardless, a visit to the Hotel Bar for a drink and evening meal (as the Restaurant was not open) was fine with a good menu although perhaps a little expensive for what was actually provided. However, Breakfast in the morning in the Restaurant was probably as good a breakfast as provided in higher star rated hotels, albeit it was buffet service.

One slight annoyance on leaving the hotel we realised that having paid £5.00 to the Hotel to park in the adjacent car park we probably didn't need to have done so (many others parking did not) as the entrance/exit barrier was not working. So much for secure parking!

All said however we were very happy with our stay and would have no hesitation in returning to this Hotel at some time in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel here on trip advisor. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and Meals. I have noted your comments regarding our pricing and the Car park Barrier being raised. I am glad to read that you would return and I am looking forward to having you as our guests in the future.
Kind Regards
Glenn Findlay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Third stay at this hotel and again another brilliant stay. Upgraded and had free movies and free water.Took breakfast in bed both days and had a great choice and arrived on time and presented nicely.All staff a great help as usual and slept so well

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank karenandkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Happy belated Birthday! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Kind Regards
Glenn Findlay
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews