We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for our needs” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Southampton

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Novotel Southampton
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
GreenLeadersBronze level
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect for our needs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

Myself and my boyfriend stayed here valentines night. Although not the most romantic of hotels, it was exactly what we needed. Literally 5 minutes walk from the train station, across the road from West Quay shopping centre, and for us, a very short taxi ride (due only for the fact it was extremely windy, otherwise we'd have walked), to Oceana Club in Leisure World. We ate in the restaurant in the evening, and it was a lovely dining experience, staff very attentive and relaxing environment. The breakfast In the morning was brilliant, and as much as you can eat; toast, fry up , pancakes, waffles, fruit etc.

We also used the swimming pool in the afternoon which was perfectly adequate but of course, not as big as they make out in the photo! But still was a nice edition to our stay there. There is also the option to hire a personal trainer whilst you stay, however was not something we chose to use!

Most staff spoke perfect English and were very welcoming.

Will definitely return if ever staying in Southampton again!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Em240593
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Many thanks for taking the opportunity to post your thoughts here on trip advisor. The team and I were grateful to read your fantastic feedback and we are glad you enjoyed our breakfast. We hope to see you again in the future
Kind Regards
Glenn Findlay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,593 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    443
    673
    340
    87
    50
See reviews for
469
587
96
256
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night at this novotel and overall was very nice , the breakfast was quite nice too, there is 3 hotels that share the same car park (two ibis hotels including novotel), it's kind of annoying to pay for parking for a hotel albeit a subsidised amount for hotel guests..

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Cessna110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Thank you for posting your thoughts here on Tripadvisor. We were happy to read that you did enjoy our hotel and have noted your feedback regarding our carpark which is very competitively priced. Again thank you and we do hope to see you again in the near future.
Kind Regards
Glenn Findlay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
113 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

This hotel has a good location between the railway station and the city centre. The room was fine; and ready early so we could check in around midday, which was nice. Nespresso machine in the room plus complimentary water bottles. In the evening we asked about the pool and we were given the access code, but the next morning we went down to find out only then that the pool was closed until 1pm. With check-out time at twelve that means no use of the pool (which was one of the reasons to choose this hotel).

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tersparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to post your thoughts here on Tripadvisor. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and I am truly sorry you were unable to access the swimming pool before you departure. We do hop to see you again in the near future.
Kind Regards
Glenn Findlay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

clean efficient average hotel. The only complaint was that the supervisor at breakfast transferred a tray of glasses to another tray each time picking the glasses up by the rim. Ghastly practice and surely against all and every health and safety rule. Even if her hands were scrupulously clean this is a sure way of transferring germs from one glass to another.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank DorchesterMargaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
sure way of transferring germs from one glass to another
Many thanks for your kind words. I am surprised to read your comments regarding our Breakfast Supervisor and will be sharing these with our team as not the normal hi standard that we usually deliver. Again thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts here and we do hope to see you again soon.
Kind Regards
Glenn Findlay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

I have stayed in many hotels across the UK but never a Novotel, this was a new experience for me.... And I would do it again. After a swift check in we entered the room, after a quick look around the phone rang, it was reception asking if the room was up to standard, this is the first time I have had a curtesy call from reception, a great touch and fantastic customer service!
During our stay we had a drink in the bar, it was an enjoyable area and moderately priced.
When we returned to our room in the evening we noticed a subtle noise coming from the air conditioner situated above the side of the bed... Upon checking we were shocked to find it was blowing out cold air! After many attempts we soon worked out that the thermostat was useless and didn't affect the temperature at all! After a few calls to reception we were told it was centrally controlled and couldn't be switched off, they sent a gentleman up to the room to have a look, he attempted to block the vent but it made it very noisy. He explained that the ventilation was a central system and could not be controlled in each individual room, but the one in our room seemed more powerful than others. Unfortunately (for us) the hotel was fully booked so we were unable to be moved, the member of staff offered us a complimentary breakfast for the morning as an apology which we accepted. The breakfast was good, a great selection at a good quality, although I wouldn't have paid the usual £13.99 it was advertised at!
In summary a very pleasant stay in a nice hotel, but ventilation system should be addressed!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DGmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Many thanks for your review. We were glad to read this was you first stay in a Novotel and that you enjoyed it. We do have an ambient air system which cools/Warms air. I am sorry you found the system to cool during your stay with us and I was glad to read my team need try to provide you with a solution. We are currently working on a solution that will ensure the comfort to all of our guests and we really hope to see you again soon.
Many thanks
Glenn Findlay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#16 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#9 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Southampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Southampton

Property: Novotel Southampton
Address: 1 West Quay Road, Southampton SO15 1RA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Southampton
#5 Green Hotel in Southampton
#6 Business Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Southampton 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Southampton is located in the centre of Southampton. Located Opposite West Quay shopping centre and close to the Cruise terminals, Our hotel offers complimentry Wireless throught the Hotel. Visit the nearby National Motor Museum, the New Forest national park and the Cathedral City of Winchester then relax and enjoy our restaurant, room service, bar, indoor heated swimming pool, gym and sauna. Onsite pay parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Priceline, ACCOR and Odigeo so you can book your Novotel Southampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Southampton Hotel Southampton
Accor Southampton
Southampton Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing