We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Novotel Southampton
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous service”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

What a shame we have to leave so soon. Stayed here for 5 nights while my husband was here on business. The staff were very helpful in suggesting places I could visit with my 4 year old daughter during the day. So convenient for shopping. I thought we would be disturbed by traffic but we have all slept really well and the breakfast is fabulous. Thanks

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank simon_rache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
It was great to read your review. I am glad you and your family enjoyed your stay and we do hope to see you again soon.
Glenn Findlay | General Manager | Novotel Southampton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,691 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    468
    710
    362
    93
    58
See reviews for
501
622
101
272
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Like many cruisers whose ships leave from Southampton, we were looking for cost-efficient overnight lodging the night before sailing. We had thought to book a B & B, then realised that the Novotel is as competitively priced as the nicer B & Bs, has a great location near the docks, and offers many more services (full gym, multi-channel TV, etc.) So we booked there, not expecting any local flavour or personalisation, and got what we expected. Novotel delivers with comfortable rooms and beds, efficient housekeeping, an adequate (but forgettable) breakfast, and a position that is within walking distance of the town, cinema, shopping, the train station, and anything else we might need.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ParoleAnima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Many thanks for your review, I was glad to read that you found our rooms and beds comfortable and our location was convenient. We do hope that we will see you again
Glenn Findlay | General Manager | Novotel Southampton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welland, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I have just spent a week at this hotel and the staff were fantastic. The rooms and public areas were extremely clean, all the staff were extremely helpful and friendly nothing was too much trouble for them. The pool and exercise room again was spotless and extremely well kept. I will definitely stay here again. The location is great and easy walking to the train station, bus terminal, cruise port and the shopping centre and high street.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank june w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Many thanks for taking the opportunity to post your review here on Tripadvisor. We are so happy that you enjoyed your week long stay with us and you found both our team and our service up to you expectations. We do hope to see you again in the near future.
Many thanks
Glenn Findlay | General Manager | Novotel Southampton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thetford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Convenient for Southampton Central station... we thought three hundred yards on looking at a map - in fact, cross the road, fifty yards to the right and turn left into a vehicular entrance takes straight to the main reception. A warm, friendly and helpful receptionist checked us in and (without fuss) helped me to set up the wifi on our new toy - meanwhile my wife was chatting to the maintenance man about our planned cruise and receiving some very helpful advice. Our 4th floor room gave views of the port and cruise ships therein and the room was clean and tidy as you might always expect, equipped with tea and coffee, iron, ironing board and such like. On check-in we had booked a table for 6:30. Once again, for the smiling and helpful staff, nothing was too much trouble: we enjoyed a very tasty meal in pleasant surroundings with service to match. Tomorrow we experience the breakfast which, if it's up to the standard we've enjoyed so far, I'm sure will be excellent. If not I'll let you know! This hotel is excellent for a pre-cruise stop-over and equally good for a base from which to enjoy the stores, Southampton Old Town, the Town Quay, or just chill out for a time. (We didn't use the Gym/Spar on our short overnight stay but it looked very inviting)

Room Tip: Don't take a taxi from the station - this hotel is so convenient! Upper floors give reasonable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Flombergasp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Many thanks for your kind words; I have shared them with the team here including Addie from our Maintenance team. We all hope you enjoy your cruise and we are looking forward to you retuning soon.
Many thanks
Glenn Findlay | General Manager | Novotel Southampton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Reception staff very capable and helpful. All staff encountered were polite and friendly. The room was comfortable, stayed in a "superior" room which was quite plain looking really, I did wonder what the standard must look like. The bed clothes were a worn out beige colour and probably due for an update. There were shortfalls in cleanliness, I saw dirty finger marks on the bathroom door handles which should have been wiped down.

Room Tip: Didn't like the separate toilet and bathroom much
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Novotel Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Eileen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts here on tripadvisor, I am sorry that you found our superior rooms plan and I have also shared your feedback regarding our Cleanliness with the team which we have addressed. Again thank you for your feedback and we do hope to see you again soon.
Many thanks
Glenn Findlay | General Manager | Novotel Southampton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

i stayed there the weekend just past for my sons 2nd birthday. conveinent for peppa pig world. the rooms were perfect, the cover manager who was looking after the place while the general manager was away was excellent. the best service we got though was from a lovely waitress who looked after myself, my mum and nan. also my fiance and our son after getting back really late on sunday for a late dinner. we didnt get her name but she was the only female waitress on sunday evening in the main resturant. my son loved her and she wasnt allowed to move from his site. she also let my nan have a kids menu as she doesnt eat much. so if the general manager looks at trip advisor please pass on my thanks to both the covering bank bank holiday manager and the lovely waitress.also for breakfast on monday the manager ran to the other hotels to get a baby high chair as all were taken. im a resturant manager myself and if i was working in southampton i would have stolen them both from you. many thanks

Helpful?
1 Thank madrobbie
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
It is great to read your review and we are so happy you and your family enjoyed your stay with us here at Novotel Southampton. I think we have a fantastic team too and I will be sharing your thoughts with the team here. Again thank you for taking the time to write your thoughts here and we will be looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
Many thanks
Glenn Findlay | General Manager | Novotel Southampton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
845 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
1,778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#14 of 24 in Southampton
1,147 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#11 of 24 in Southampton
965 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Southampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Southampton

Property: Novotel Southampton
Address: 1 West Quay Road, Southampton SO15 1RA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Southampton
#4 Green Hotel in Southampton
#6 Business Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Southampton 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Southampton is located in the centre of Southampton. Located Opposite West Quay shopping centre and close to the Cruise terminals, Our hotel offers complimentry Wireless throught the Hotel. Visit the nearby National Motor Museum, the New Forest national park and the Cathedral City of Winchester then relax and enjoy our restaurant, room service, bar, indoor heated swimming pool, gym and sauna. Onsite pay parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, ACCOR, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Novotel Southampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Southampton Hotel Southampton
Accor Southampton
Southampton Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing