We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Novotel Southampton
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
GreenLeadersBronze level
Write a Review

1,687 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    468
    709
    360
    92
    58
See reviews for
499
620
101
272
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I found myself unexpectedly in Southampton and stayed at the Novotel for what turned into a 2 night stay. The hotel charges £10 per hour for late check outs after 1pm but requires a full night booking after 5pm. The hotel is situated in a car park with the Ibis and Ibis Express and is the more expensive option of the three. I had a superior room but I'm not sure what the difference is. The room faced the car park and was very quiet. Room service was efficient and I was called to warn me that it was on its way. I thought this was quite unusual but probably a good idea since someone tried to use their key to get into my room later that night. It was after the world cup final so I guess their faculties were diminished but it wasn't particularly pleasant shouting through the door to tell him to go away. Staff were courteous and almost all EU, not UK. There is a decent looking gym and smallish pool area both of which looked nice. I was surprised that there is no free parking for guests and it came to £6 per day. I guess it stops cruise ship passengers from blocking the spaces but I think it's expensive even though you can come and go during the day. There is not much to see in the area but there is a large retail park- Ikea, John Lewis, Decathlon etc for those who can't survive without shops.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frequentflyerLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for taking the opportunity to post your thoughts here on tripadvisor. We do hope to see you again soon.
Glenn Findlay | General Manager | Novotel Southampton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West SussexUK
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Good location for West Quay, not far into shops or further walk into town. Modern fresh and clean. Room fine, Checkin staff friendly. You pay extra for car park . Free Wifi , Pool looked a bit small so we passed on a morning swim after our great Breakfast. Nice service and plenty of choice and coffee !!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deannewton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Many thanks for your kind words which I have shared with the team here at Novotel Southampton. I am glad you enjoyed your breakfast and the use of our free wifi. We all hope to see you again soon.
Glenn Findlay | General Manager | Novotel Southampton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed here for one night. Check in was good, with gifts for the kids, and the rooms were clean and a good size. It's close to the nearby shopping mall, so plenty of choice for eating at night, and we went to Peppa Pig world the next day which was nearby.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HB199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for you kind words – I do hope your children enjoyed their gifts from the hotel and had a great time at Peppa Pig world. We hope to see you again soon.
Glenn Findlay | General Manager | Novotel Southampton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex, UK
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Novotel for two nights in an Executive Room which was on the 2nd floor and overlooked the car park. We came to Southampton to see the Lion King and the hotel is ideally located for getting into the town centre. West Quay shopping centre is nearby as well.

Every staff member that we met was polite, professional and helpful.

There were four designated spaces for Blue Badge Holders. We managed to get one on the first night but not on the second night. However the car park is very big, albeit shared between the three hotels that are on site (Ibis, Ibis Budget & Novotel) and we managed to park not too far from the entrance. One minus is that the parking is £6 per day. For this class of hotel, it should be free.

The room was spacious and the bed was very comfortable. Linens and towels were of a good quality. Gowns and slippers were provided. The room had a safe, nespresso coffee machine, tea and coffee making facilities, fridge with free bottled water and all the other little bits one would expect from a 4* hotel. Wi Fi was also free with a good signal and download speed. However the rooms are air cooled and not air conditioned which can make them a bit stuffy. The windows do open though. The toilet is separate from the bathroom and is a bit on the small side if you are over 6' tall. The shower over the bath was adequate however it was quite a big step up and over the side of the bath for anyone with back or hip problems. I managed with the help of my wife.

The breakfast selection was fantastic with all the usual hot and cold options. The coffee was great and the pancake machine was outstanding.

The hotel has a really good atmosphere with a wonderful mix of all nationalities working and staying there.

The only minor points were a noisy wedding party which went on for a while (we missed the guests vomiting in the foyer unlike a previous reviewer) and some very inconsiderate people who decided to play noisy games in the corridor outside our room at 11pm at night. The father was making more noise than his kids.

The parking charges and noise are the only reasons that my review is not the full 5*.

Room Tip: Try to find a good price online for the Executive Rooms. They are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DWT123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts here on Tripadvisor. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and I would like to apologies for the actions of our other guests who disturbed your rest. I would like to assure you that our car parking charges are comparable to similar city centre Hotels and I have noted your comments. We do hope to see you again soon and we hope you enjoyed the Lion King Production.
Glenn Findlay | General Manager | Novotel Southampton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern Poland, Poland
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here only one night on the way back home from Bournemouth. Booked the room very late and arrived after 40min.

The check in was good, Receptionist very friendly and professional! Offered help with our luggage and showed us to the pool area.

Rooms are big (we were party of three families) and clean.

Nice hotel to stay.

Many thanks
Lukasz

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank lukaszwenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Many thanks for your kind words, I have shared these with the team and we are happy that you and your family enjoyed staying with us.
Kind regards
Glenn Findlay | General Manager | Novotel Southampton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

I checked in at midnight to be greeted at the foyer by wedding guests vomiting just outside reception! The gym was filthy. The machines hadn't been wiped down in months, they were covered in dust and the screens weren't working. The room was the executive room. There was nothing executive about it! I waited 15 minutes to check out (one person behind the desk). All in all I would only recommend staying if there are no other options around. The friendliness of the staff (very good) is at odds with the quality of the product their employer is offering.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ST911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Many thanks for posting your thoughts here. I am sorry you found the Gym in a mess I have asked our housekeeping team to ensure this is kept up to our normally high standards. We do hold several functions and I am sorry that you had to witness another guest of ours being unwell. We do hope we will see you again.
Glenn Findlay | General Manager | Novotel Southampton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
842 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
1,773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#15 of 24 in Southampton
1,146 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#11 of 24 in Southampton
964 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Southampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Southampton

Property: Novotel Southampton
Address: 1 West Quay Road, Southampton SO15 1RA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Southampton
#4 Green Hotel in Southampton
#6 Business Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Southampton 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Southampton is located in the centre of Southampton. Located Opposite West Quay shopping centre and close to the Cruise terminals, Our hotel offers complimentry Wireless throught the Hotel. Visit the nearby National Motor Museum, the New Forest national park and the Cathedral City of Winchester then relax and enjoy our restaurant, room service, bar, indoor heated swimming pool, gym and sauna. Onsite pay parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Southampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Southampton Hotel Southampton
Accor Southampton
Southampton Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing