We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pre Cruise Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Southampton
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
GreenLeadersBronze level
Write a Review

1,616 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    453
    682
    343
    87
    51
See reviews for
482
592
96
261
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Stayed the night before sailing. Arrived before noon and they still let me have my room.
The room was large and spotless. The hotel is set close to the docks but walking distance to the shops. The dinner menu was a little boring. However, the breakfast buffet was excellent . Slept ok but it was warm in the room struggled to get the air con working so opened a window. What I would suggest is that the water in the fridge is more clearly priced, several people were confused at reception when they were charged for taking it. I had already seen this and did not par take

Room Tip: Pay for an upgrade for a larger room
See more room tips
Green Features: The usual use one towel, did not really notice anything else
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louisak3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Many thanks for your review and thanks for the feedback. We always try to get our guests checked in as quickly and early as possible so thanks for the recognition. I have noted your comments regarding the Min Bar pricing. Again many thanks for the review and we do hope to see you again soon.
Kind Regards
Glenn Findlay | General Manager | Novotel Southampton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

We book this hotel based on a previous stay at a Novotel in another town. The Hotel was nice enough and the room barely big enough for 2 adults and 2 children. The carpet in the room were stained dirty. The stay was fine, with reception staff very friendly. The kids area was great! The bar staff didnt give receipts for teas and coffees we had in the evenings and were surprised to find out how expensive these were when we checked out!
On the day we checked out, we had breakfast and sat in the kids area. We noticed there was some tea and coffee on a table close to the toilets. So we helped ourselves, as we thought it was just there for people who'd had breakfast, there was no notice to the contrary. We were then challenged by a member of the bath staff, who very rudely pointed out that it was not there for public consumption, and was there for people using the board rooms! We offered to pay for the drinks but were just told not to worry about it whilst he quickly walked away not wanting to talk to us.
We felt that this member ruined our stay, which was otherwise fine!
note, breakfast very, very expensive! The pool is tiny compared to the picture on the website, and the changing rooms useless with broken lockers!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Many thanks for your review we are so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sorry you did not find our leisure centre up to your expectations and we have already started to replace these lockers. I am sorry you feel our member of staff was rude but this was for one of our conference groups. I have reminded our team to ensure we have signage out in case any of our hotel residents may think the coffee, biscuits and finger buffets are complimentary. Again thank you for your review and we do hope to see you again.
Kind Regards
Glenn Findlay | General Manager | Novotel Southampton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

I must admit that discovering a our hotel was a slightly shabby brown and beige building on a retail park, sharing a parking lot with an Ibis, was not an encouraging start.

However, the interior was quite pleasant and the room was big and comfortable and the staff were really quite pleasant and eager to help.

The food was good and the pool was outstanding, although too warm for my tastes - apparently I'm alone in wanting to cool down when I swim!

Room Tip: We were right next to the lift and it didn't seem too noisy
See more room tips
Green Features: In truth, I couldn't give a monkey's. But they seem to have lots, if that's your thing
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GuttBouquet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Many thanks for your review, we are so happy to read that you found us surprisingly OK. We hope to see you again soon.
Kind Regards
Glenn Findlay | General Manager | Novotel Southampton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kapiti Coast, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

We always try to stay at the Novotel in Southampton before and after a cruise. Flying over from NZ is a long journey and we wouldn't stay here if it wasn't a pleasant place to stay. I can't say enough about the hotel - the staff are excellent and the rooms always clean and comfortable. Breakfast is great too. It's convenient to the docks and close to all the shops which are fantastic. Well done Novotel, we will be back again in a couple of years.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn_Findlay, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
It is great to here from some of our regular Kiwi guests. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again in a couple of years.
Kind Regards
Glenn Findlay | General Manager | Novotel Southampton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,652 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#5 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#16 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#10 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Southampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Southampton

Property: Novotel Southampton
Address: 1 West Quay Road, Southampton SO15 1RA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Southampton
#4 Green Hotel in Southampton
#6 Business Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Southampton 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Southampton is located in the centre of Southampton. Located Opposite West Quay shopping centre and close to the Cruise terminals, Our hotel offers complimentry Wireless throught the Hotel. Visit the nearby National Motor Museum, the New Forest national park and the Cathedral City of Winchester then relax and enjoy our restaurant, room service, bar, indoor heated swimming pool, gym and sauna. Onsite pay parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, ACCOR, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Southampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Southampton Hotel Southampton
Accor Southampton
Southampton Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing