We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice enough, but bring earplugs.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Novotel Southampton
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice enough, but bring earplugs.”
Reviewed 6 January 2010

We stayed at the Novotel Southampton for 9 nights over Christmas. Overall, it's a nice hotel - the reception, bar and restaurant area all look to have been recently refurbished, and were always clean. Reception area has an iMac for guest use, free for 20 mins.
The breakfast that came with our room was fine - the dining room has a buffet of the usual breakfast foods, cereals, fruit, hot breakfast, muffins etc. Room service dinner however, was HORRIBLE. The steak was inedible - it tasted like it had been cooked in burnt cheese. The rest of the dinner while edible, was definitely not worth the price we paid. I would highly recommend NOT eating at the hotel, except for breakfast. There is a TGI Fridays next door, which sadly, is much better.
The rooms were nice enough - clean and comfortable. However we could hear toilets flushing all around us, and when the family above us partied until two in the morning, it took 2 complaints and 2 hours to get staff to ask the to be quiet.
Internet is pricey, but if you pay 10 quid for 24 hours, you get a good range of recent blockbuster films available on the tv. Parking is also expensive, at 3 pound per night. I would give this place an extra half star on top of my rating.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PuffC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,637 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    460
    689
    349
    88
    51
See reviews for
486
598
100
265
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bendigo, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2010

Another comfortable stay at a Novotel. When travelling with children, it really is hard to do better than the Novotels.
We didn't tell the children there was a pool, but there is! Room comfortable, with sufficient space 2+2. The children slept on the double sofa bed - which is actually 2 full sized, rather comfortable single beds.
Shower curtain arrangement a bid awkward, and anyone with balance difficulties may find it hard to step in and out without assistance.
We ate dinner in the restaurant, lovely food and good service. They even have some cubicles for single dinners with television sets.
Plenty of parking space available, if staying in the hotel it is a minimal charge. Fast food restaurants, Tesco home, and Toys r Us are in the same area. Very convenient to the docks.
Buffet breakfast very nice, but nothing exceptional. Would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Australians_Abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak View, CA, USA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2009

We stayed here one night prior to a cruise and were very pleased with the hotel. The staff was friendly and helped with our luggage when no carts were available. There is a computer terminal available for free for email/internet. We had the breakfast included in our room rate and really enjoyed the meal. There was plenty of cereals, eggs, bacon, sausage, cold cuts, breads,pastries, fruit and different juices. Coffee, tea also.
Our room was small but clean. The bathroom appears to have been remodeled very recently. It was spotless. There was a small amount of re-modeling ongoing, but it did not affect our stay.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fhowell2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2009

i have stayed in the novotel at the begininning of december. I have stayed before on several ocassions for shopping trips! The lobby. leisure center and reception area just got newly refurbished and its really clean, modern and lovely. The reception staff was equiped with lagguage scales and also offered to check us in online for our flights! To put it in a nut shell i could not have asked for more that i got offered from the staff in Novotel Southampton everything was perfect

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiel81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 11 December 2009

Hello,
writing reviews is not a thing I do often.
That's why I am more than happy to share my experience of stay with future guests of yours.
I was truly delighted with high standard of front desk service, excellent food quality, room maintenance and drink bar offer. What's more, during my short stay, there was some redecoration works on, but it was easy to spot, that hotel staff does everything to provide the highest possible standard of service. All the potential inconvenience that might have bothered the visitors were minimized by friendly and supportive staff.
I must admit that my stay there was pleasant and comfortable, therefore next time I am be in Southampton, I won't hesitate to choose your hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank filipm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
1 review
Reviewed 10 December 2009

the hotel was just refurbished, it looks amazing, spacious, modern furniture, everything is great, the restaurant as well, we had lovely meal. I had stayed at this hotel before and when I entered the hotel I couldnt believe my eyes. I thought I came to another hotel.
I would recommend this hotel 100%. excellent location , few minutes to city centre

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chouchou32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
107 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2009

We used this hotel before going on a cruise. Arriving on a Saturday we were a bit surprised to find the restaurant had a very limited menu based on a carvery/ buffet. It was adequate but only that. The bar was fine, pleasant staff, although they ran out of glasses at one point! This could have been because a wedding reception was taking place in the function room. Rooms clean and quiet - we had booked an Executive room which was quite large and well equipped - nice coffee machine. Decor was "interesting" in the lounge - very modern and bright. Good breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank millomite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,688 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#16 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,102 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#11 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Southampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Southampton

Property: Novotel Southampton
Address: 1 West Quay Road, Southampton SO15 1RA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Southampton
#4 Green Hotel in Southampton
#6 Business Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Southampton 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Southampton is located in the centre of Southampton. Located Opposite West Quay shopping centre and close to the Cruise terminals, Our hotel offers complimentry Wireless throught the Hotel. Visit the nearby National Motor Museum, the New Forest national park and the Cathedral City of Winchester then relax and enjoy our restaurant, room service, bar, indoor heated swimming pool, gym and sauna. Onsite pay parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Southampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Southampton Hotel Southampton
Accor Southampton
Southampton Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing