We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Bad, very nice.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Southampton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Novotel Southampton
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Not Bad, very nice.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2010

First time at a Novotel. Stayed for one night (31st July 2010)
Good friendly staff from the moment you enter.
Breakfast is superb, Vegetarian option for the wife as well.
There was a wedding reception at the hotel and we were in room 220, we did not hear a thing. Nice quite sleep.

Only bad points is that we paid for executive room and no wifi in room but you do get free broadband. Not good for me as all my devices set for wifi only. The Bose ipod sound system was great the kids loved the sound, but the remote would not work, suspect batteries flat. I am sure they would have replaced it when asked.

Would I stay here again? No, Mainly because I require wifi in my room. Its my mistake for getting free broadband mixed up with free wifi.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bhangraman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bernardSouthampton, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review, 3 August 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to at the Novotel in Southampton. I’m delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we have noted your comments about the WIFI.

Kind regards

Bernard Panisse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,589 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    441
    673
    338
    87
    50
See reviews for
468
584
96
256
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2010

Me & my partner had a very pleasant stay at the Novotel. Staff was very friendly, our room & lobby clean & modern.I really enjoyed using leisure centre - very relaxing! Hotel is very close to the West Quay shopping centre & restaurants. Overall good value for money!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anastasia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bernardSouthampton, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review, 3 August 2010
Glad you had a good time! Hope to see you again.

Kind regards

Bernard Panisse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilbirnie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2010

The hotel was in a fair location, it is in a complex with two other hotels and very close to the docks. Although there was no local shops other than a retail park there is a pub & casino close by.
Parking was free because the barrier was broken.
The room was clean but the internal wall are like roughcast / Artex.
The continental breakfast was good and the evening buffet at £12.50 / head was fair.
Staff helpful.
There must be a hospital nearby as a number of times we could hear ambulance sirens.
All in all a fair price for the accomodation.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank waifson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bernardSouthampton, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review, 20 July 2010
Great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the choice at the evening buffet sufficient. We look forward to welcoming you again soon and do not hesitate to check the Novotel website to check out the latest offers.

Kind regards

Bernard Panisse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2010

location for this hotel is great only short walk into the town centre (west quay) also close to docks(great if you are going on cruise)

hotel very modern in reception and eating area, but rooms need updating a little still very spacious and bed very comfortable, air conditioning is found in reception and eating area but not in rooms, i can imagine on very hot day it would be problem. We had our breakfast included in price (78.00 for one night between two of us this included breakfast) the breakfast was excellent loads choice and very tasty i can imagine you could eat alot and then not need to eat until an eve meal, if you book through bookings.com children up to a certain age can stay and have breakfast for free.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank claire_lyons1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bernardSouthampton, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review, 19 July 2010
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments, I am delighted that you have enjoyed your stay at the Novotel Southampton. I look forward to welcoming you and your family to the hotel.

Kind regards
Bernard Panisse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2010

We had booked two rooms for a pre-cruise stay. Both were the "superior" rooms so that we could put two adults and one child in each room. At check in the staff only spoke limited english (they were french I believe). They advised that we could not have rooms on the same floor because one room was for 2 adults and the other was for 2 adults and 2 kids. This was odd since we both had the same room type booked and paid the same price?? The rooms seemed to be essentially the same too when we same them, so not sure what the difference was between standard and superior. In the room, our toilet was having trouble flushing. We reported and a "manager" came by to see. He was able to flush it- yes it would flush occassionally but it didn't really remove the contents if you know what I mean. After he left, it again wouldn't flush- reported it again and was told "sorry nothing we can do until 9 or 10 tomorrow". It was extremely hot in the rooms, and when we asked about a fan was told it would be sent up. After an hour still no fan. Went down to reception and retrieved one myself. It helped, but still an uncomfortable nights sleep because of the heat and the noise.
In the morning tried to use the internet- there is only one computer next to the reception desk. There is a sign indicating only 20 minutes of use allowed, and the computer logs you out after 20 min. There was a man who kept repeatedly logging back on when his 20 minutes was up, when there were obviously people (including myself) waiting for the computer. I finally asked the lady at the front desk if she could enforce the 20 min policy as this man had logged back on for the 3rd time since I had been waiting. She said there was nothing she could do. Told her all I wanted to look up was the operating hours for the IKEA store that I was nearby and asked if she knew the hours- NOPE. Any offer to call or look it up? NOPE!! I really think people working on the front desk of a hotel should know something about the local area and be able to answer basic questions. At check out I again expressed our displeasure with the non-working toilet and she just smiled and thanked us for staying. On a positive note- the lobby is nice, there are a few toys and a game station for the kids and the location is great for the cruise docks. The rest of the hotel just looks worn and tired though compared to the modern looking lobby.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank okiebaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bernardSouthampton, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review, 19 July 2010
Thank you for your constructive feedback.
I am sorry on this occasion that you were disappointed with the service during your stay. I treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness and I can assure you that the matter is being looked in to and has been be dealt with accordingly.
At Novotel Southampton, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us.
Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.
We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Kind regards
Bernard Panisse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2010

Generally speaking we found this hotel to be quite basic but good.We arrived about 2.30 to find our rooms were not ready ,which was a little annoying as we had booked probably about 3 months in advance.The staff were helpful and in fact our rooms became availiable pretty quickly.It was very hot ,the hotel had good air-con in the public areas but not in our rooms.We asked for a fan which came very quickly.
The room was clean,a reasonable size and bathroom modern.Bed was large and comfortable.
We had a drink in the bar and found staff to be very friendly and helpful.
Breakfast was very good staff friendly and helpful,great choice of food all very fresh.
This hotel seems to be located in a sort of leisure park/ shopping park and although good for the west quay where we were having a meeting plus lunch on Saturday it is pretty horrible.
You can walk in about 10 mins to lovely pubs and restaurants,and the high street for great shopping.
Would go back.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank essex1london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bernardSouthampton, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review, 12 July 2010
Thank you for your very kind words. They are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves in Southampton. I look forward to welcoming you back in Novotel Southampton.
Kind regards,

Bernard Panisse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2010

we had booked De Vere Grand Harbour hotel but they phoned to cancel stating that it was a 'computor' error! they then booked us into the Novotel, which we didn't pay for. what a pleasent surprise. the room was clean and large. all the staff were very helpful. the breakfast had a very good selection and was hot however the porridge was not cooked long enough and worse still made with sugar....ugh,:( being Scottish I take it with salt. :) the only other fault that I could find was that the room was very warm so we had to open the window which helped but the main road was very noisy, so I didn't sleep very well. however I believe aircon is to be installed this year. I would have no problems with staying at this hotel again.......as long as they learn to make porridge the Scottish way :) :)

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gerbilhoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bernardSouthampton, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review, 12 July 2010
Thanks to the De Vere for the book out, I am delighted that you enjoyed your
stay. Thank you for your very kind words, the team will be delighted
to hear that you enjoyed yourselves and we are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards
Bernard Panisse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#16 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#9 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Blue Keys
The Blue Keys
#1 of 24 in Southampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Southampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Southampton

Property: Novotel Southampton
Address: 1 West Quay Road, Southampton SO15 1RA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Southampton
#5 Green Hotel in Southampton
#6 Business Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Southampton 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Southampton is located in the centre of Southampton. Located Opposite West Quay shopping centre and close to the Cruise terminals, Our hotel offers complimentry Wireless throught the Hotel. Visit the nearby National Motor Museum, the New Forest national park and the Cathedral City of Winchester then relax and enjoy our restaurant, room service, bar, indoor heated swimming pool, gym and sauna. Onsite pay parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Priceline, Lastminute and Odigeo so you can book your Novotel Southampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Southampton Hotel Southampton
Accor Southampton
Southampton Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing