We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good all round hotel- would recommend” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Southampton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Novotel Southampton
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
GreenLeadersBronze level
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
179 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Good all round hotel- would recommend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2011

Me and my partner stayed here for one night due to attending a concert at the guildhall. Thought the service was brilliant, all staff were friendly and polite. Swimming poole was lovely and warm and had it facilities to ourselves most of the time, my only moan would be that the entrance is a mainly glass door which leads from reception so other guests checking in can see you walking around in swimwear. sauna was also great. Room was fine, clean and well presented. bed was sssssoooooooooooooooooo comfy and no noises during the night despite a large wedding party going on. Only problem being the size of the bath tub, im a size 14 and it was a tight squeeze fitting in to it, not very wide!!!! not sure if its like this in all the rooms!!! Really close to shopping centre, lesuire world is right across the road, guildhall was about 10 minutes walk too. Breakfast was great, a large selection to chose from and as much as you wanted. Would recommend to others!!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank charlie170689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bernardSouthampton, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review, 8 March 2011
Thank you for posting all your thoughts on here, we really value your feedback. I look forward to welcoming you back at Novotel Southampton.

Kind regards,
Bernard Panisse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,586 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    441
    670
    338
    87
    50
See reviews for
468
583
96
255
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
161 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2011

Located a few minutes walk from West Quay shopping centre. Barriered parking (£4/day for hotel guests), friendly check-in , nice modern and clean lobby, stayed in an executive room on 2nd floor for modest additional fee (extra amenities in exec room include Bose ipod dock, Nespresso coffee maker, bathrobes and extra toiletries, otherwise a standard room i think). Comfortable and clean room. Flat screen TV, desk with internet connection , comfortable bed, window that opens, bath and shower, separate toilet room, tea & coffee making facilities, mini-fridge, wardrobe. Used the gym (small but high quality equipment) and swimming pool (small but clean and nice and warm), changing room - tiny! Breakfast was good - cereals, croissants, juice, toast, fruit, cold meats, yogurts, cooked items as well (eggs, bacon, sausage, hash browns, tomatoes, mushrooms etc.). All in all a good value stay and recommended.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Poliwhirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bernardSouthampton, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review, 8 March 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our Executive room . We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Bernard Panisse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2011

Excellent hotel, staff very friendly and professional, will come back

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bernardSouthampton, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review, 21 February 2011
Dear Guest
Thank you so much for your kind comments following your recent stay with us at the Novotel Southampton. I am certain that the team will be encouraged by your remarks, and will continue to provide the excellent level of service you received.
Kind regards
Bernard Panisse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2011

Me and my girlfriend have stayed here a few times now and have always had a very pleasant stay. i am visually impaired and my girlfriend is also blind and deaf, staff here have always taken the time to make sure we can read the documents and have understood what they have said, so a big thumbs up here.

The excellence of the hotel begins from the second you walk through the front doors, a clean bright reception and entrance area, very friendly staff on reception who can always answer questions and make you feel welcome, rooms are always clean and bright, slightly warm but this hasn't been an issue yet, everything in the room has worked without problems, beds comfy, no complaints here.

We haven't eaten in the restaurant so can't review that, breakfast is good if we woke up early enough to get there, normally after a night on the town.

The swimming pool area is fantastic, very clean and bright, the swimming pool itself is always warm and the water is level to the floor, last time we couldn't use the pool due to maintenance.

Overall this hotel has met all my expectations and has always been a pleasure to stayy at, i have 2 more bookings with this hotel and expect to make many more

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank c8bondUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bernardSouthampton, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review, 10 February 2011
Dear Mr Bond,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor following your recent stay at the Novotel Southampton, I was delighted to hear that you overall enjoyed your stay with us and we very much look forward in welcoming you back on the 14th February.

Kind regards
Bernard Panisse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2011

Easy to find and friendly reception staff. The room was warm and adequate for a business over-night certainly. The pool is quite small, but very warm and there is a sauna too. The gym looked fairly new (didn't use it).
The hotel is just about walking distance from the main Southampton centres, and right next to the large shopping complex with John Lewis and IKEA.
Would certainly use it again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
Thank Hoppy37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bernardSouthampton, General Manager at Novotel Southampton, responded to this review, 2 February 2011
I am delighted to see that you stay with us was so positive - may thanks for taking the time to let other travellers know.

I do hope we see you back at the hotel again in the future

Kind regards

Bernard Panisse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#16 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,061 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#9 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Blue Keys
The Blue Keys
#1 of 24 in Southampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Southampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Southampton

Property: Novotel Southampton
Address: 1 West Quay Road, Southampton SO15 1RA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Southampton
#5 Green Hotel in Southampton
#6 Business Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Southampton 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Southampton is located in the centre of Southampton. Located Opposite West Quay shopping centre and close to the Cruise terminals, Our hotel offers complimentry Wireless throught the Hotel. Visit the nearby National Motor Museum, the New Forest national park and the Cathedral City of Winchester then relax and enjoy our restaurant, room service, bar, indoor heated swimming pool, gym and sauna. Onsite pay parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, ACCOR, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Novotel Southampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Southampton Hotel Southampton
Accor Southampton
Southampton Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing