We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly an enjoyable experience”
Review of Star Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Star Hotel
Ranked #24 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Geelong
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Truly an enjoyable experience”
Reviewed 28 June 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Star on 27th June. Our room which was huge was just beautiful and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was of restaurant quality and the staff were wonderful, very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The main shopping centre is just 2 minutes walk up the street and we were able to leave our car in their parking area until 3pm which was a great help. Our stay at the Star Hotel was truly an enjoyable experience. I would definately recommend this Hotel. The receptionist even charged our camera battery for us while we went shopping! Now that is real service.
Yvonne & Wayne - Australia

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blyington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    101
    105
    101
    113
See reviews for
50
177
54
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2011

Place was old and tired, My Partner was of sailing the next day for 2 weeks so it was supposed to be a relaxing night in a hotel however it was noisy and uncomfortable, you could feel ever mattress spring.
We paid for parking, then found we couldnt get into the car park and the night staff wouldnt refund our parking so we could pay to park on the road.
Bedroom was cramped, less furniture would help! bathroom needs refurb!
The place smelt old and we did not enjoy our night there!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chic_sailer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Southampton hotels

Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 June 2011

This hotel from the outside looks Ok. However, inside its very poor. It resembles a hostel.
£60 for a single room, i would have expected somthing half decent, not what i got.
Bar closed fully, before 12.00 even to residents.
Very noisy at rear of hotel all night, so unable to open the window.
bathroom was dirty.
One positive point- breakfast was OK
This is the first time I've written a review, which should tell you everything you need to know

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Innisfree42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire, UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2011

My Husband and I have just returned from a 4 day stay at The Star Hotel and after reading the reviews on here AFTER we'd booked we were very concerned what we'd let ourselves in for.

We had room 15, lovely big room up in the eaves, had a big double bed (could do with a soft new mattress tho) and a single bed the other end, big dressing table and vanity mirror, nice big wardrobe with an iron in - didn't need to use it tho, tea and coffee making facilities - replenished daily. Lovely big TV with a built in DVD player.

Weird lay out of the shower room and toilet, you had to come out of the toilet room and go next door into the shower room to wash your hands, big shower with a nice glass door on (no awful curtain to wrap around you) we had soap, shower gel and shampoo supplied, and lovely white fluffy towels. I think the space up there could have been used much better and could have had a much nicer bathroom created rather than so much wasted space with a cramped up loo room and shower room with a sink you couldn't stand in front of to wash - we had to stand side on to it to wash our face or brush our teeth, or Hubby shave. We had our towels changed, bins emptied and tea/coffee milks replenished daily.

We always take ear plugs with us when we go away so can't really comment on noise in the rooms - we had the window open all the time and nothing disturbed us though the ear plugs.

Breakfast was absolutely brilliant and excellent value for money (we prebooked and it was cheaper) lots of different cereals to choose from,3 fruit juices to choose from, full English breakfast buffet - bacon, egg, sausage, mushrooms, beans, tomatoes, sliced potato (scollop's), fried bread and the waitresses bought out fresh toast and a pot of coffee - would happily have given more on request - we didn't but was told to ask for more if we wanted anything else.

The Bar was OK, Hubby enjoyed his Guinness', big TV screen in there and 2 comfy sofas. Drinks were the same prices as other places we went to. Went to Oasis Bar across the road on Sunday as the hotel bar was closed - UGHHHH is all I will say.

Car Park, we paid £3 a day and was given a permit to allow us to park there but while we were there there were a lot of builders there (or just using the car park?) and they all had big vans so this made for a VERY cramped car park BUT we were lucky we got a space every night so no complaints, but wouldn't have been happy if we couldn't get a space.

Wish we'd got a map of the area as it is only a stones throw away from Mayflower Park where you can go cruise ship spotting and catch the ferry over to the Isle of Wight or go to the Titanic Museum opposite.

We really did enjoy our stay and liked the size room we had but have to say The Star is in desperate need of a refurb and some TLC. You can see it has so much potential but in our opinion it's being neglected. A good lick of paint (especially to the front of the building) and new carpets through out and a really good spring clean would do wonders for the place and the owners would make their money back after a good season I'm sure.

So after our initial worries we were really happy with our 4 day stay at the Star hotel and would definitely stay again, it's in a great location, plenty of shops and bars and restaurants to choose from and good value for money.

Room Tip: Room 15, big spacious and room for 3 people
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hull
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2011

Stayed there one night and never again, checked in first room, it has scum in the bath , dirty rooms and smelt of wee! Next room looked cleaned and tidy, sister got in shower.... No towels! Brother wanted to watch tv..... Didn't work we all got in to bed me sharing with my sister....... 12am our bed breaks all the slats fell through we phoned down to reception and he couldn't leave reception as he was on his own( night porter), so we had to lift the bed up and lean it against the wall and sleep on the mattress ON THE FLOOR!!!!! Complained to reception ( she was a trainee ) on her own as you do, no manager available to help! Finally got hold of supervisor they said the would have a look at our room and decided if we was allowed a refund!!!!!! After them umm'ing and arrr'ing they agreed we had a bad night at hotel and gave us a refund! Also found out what the smell was it was a huge pile of dog poop that had been left on the floor in corridor ..... So no I don't recommend this hotel!!!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stottyswifey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicosia District, Cyprus
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2011

It is 11.00 am and I was promised a phone call from the manager of this place at 10am and it has not happened so I feel totally free to pass my comments on. I will try to be succinct - Carpets dirty and stained, dust upon dust on anything which had any kind of ledge, light bulbs missing, light shades dingy, torn wallpaper, window in desperate need of maintenance - looked in danger of falling off the hinges, net curtain filthy, large crack in bedroom wall. Now to the bathroom: dingy light, toilet needed excessive 'pumping' to work, wash hand basin cracked (therefore harbouring germs), taps dirty, no bath mat, shower did not work, bath so narrow I had to bathe kneeling down which, with arthritis was very difficult to do and, as we were going to a party, I had to wash my hair which was even more difficult to do kneeling down, black, smelly, gunge around the 'seal' of the bath. Unfortunately very little of this was obvious until we had natural daylight, due to said dingy lighting, otherwise we would not have even stayed the one night. I have never been in a hotel where I cringed to put any part of my uncovered anatomy on to anything in the room. The only good thing was that the bedlinen was clean and did not smell of any of these artificial perfumes that are used in fabric softeners.

Room Tip: Avoid like the plague, especially room 8
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia4J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnham-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2011

First impressions - Interesting historical building, full of traditional character. . .with parking! What a bonus for a city centre location!
Good welcome from friendly, efficient staff. Room was large and perfectly adequate, if a little dated, but actually made a nice change from the usual same-old modern chain offering.
A good night's sleep was had after exploring the city nightlife, followed by a quality hearty breakfast.
Overall, a good value traditional hotel in a prime central location with warm friendly staff. What more do you want for £60?

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brooksy87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.0 mi away
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
0.6 mi away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#12 of 24 in Southampton
973 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#14 of 24 in Southampton
1,166 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#5 of 24 in Southampton
879 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 24 in Southampton
1,709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Hotel

Property: Star Hotel
Address: 26 High Street, Southampton SO14 2NA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Star Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing