We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Star Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$136
US$122
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$104
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$119
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$88
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7(Southampton)(Great Value!)
US$99
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$137
US$119
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$127
US$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$99
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Premier Inn Southampton Airport Hotel(Southampton)(Great Value!)
US$80
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel(Southampton)(Great Value!)
US$83
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (519)
Filter reviews
519 results
Traveller rating
67
117
110
105
120
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
67
117
110
105
120
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold coaching innlocation is idealbit datedcomfy bedquay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
432 - 437 of 519 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2012

booked to stay here cause I was buying a puppy and they allow pets. and also smoking rooms. well just because they allow dogs to stay there don't mean we have to live like one! in fact I wouldn't allow a dog to live in those conditions. don't be fouled at the nice picture on there web site that room does not exist ! I asked to change rooms which she did the 2nd was no better but at such a late time in the day with the dog and huge amount of shopping we stayed put. did I sleep no the bed sheets were stained with pi$$ ! and dirty boot prints also head board was ripped. wallpaper missing paint so flaky was falling off massive slop in the bathroom, now the noise yep NOISE through the hotel till about 5 am people banging off of the walls next to our room in the corridors. running up and down all night. banging on the wooden gate outside shouting swearing ect so that's the night welcome morning lets see how breakfast is? oh yea lady serving says were not down for breakfast I ensure her I paid yesterday and have paid couldn't be bothered to argue told the other lady at reception told her I want a refund. nope that can't be done! so please to get out of the hovel. what ever you do don't ever stay here even if you think its just one nite DON'T RISK IT! PIG HOLE !

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charitydingle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at the Star. From the outside, it looks dated, but we loved the olde worlde interior, jam-packed with character and history, creaky floorboards and all! The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful, room was really really cosy, just loved it!! Having stayed here, I personally, wouldnt want to go anywhere else.

Room Tip: Room 19, lovely and cosy. Not a room with a view, but would prefer this room as its not on the front on the high st. Just loved it!
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gail w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Reviewed with the price and star rating in mind.

I enjoyed my stay here. Its a very interesting place - with lots of hints to former glories.
The layout is very different to the soulless chain hotels found all over theplace these days.

Staff were helpful.

The hotel needs work - lots of it. But its got real character.

Great location for City and Ferries.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Acornise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

Stated only for pone night but found the staff friendly, the city interesting, the hotel very inexpensive,
It's location is reasonably close to rail and train stations. about 700metres. 15 to 20 mins. Downhill generally from stations. Journey very much like roller coaster ride with many changes from uphilll to downhill. Also it's very central for all local amenities. and shopping centres nearby. Close to a Witherspoons always good for tasty pub grub and cheap bevies.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roxy_Cappo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2011

Very clean, wonderful staff, needed somewhere to stay as i live in Bournemouth and was attending my works Christmas Party, read some reviews before hand and was a little aprehensive but for someone who has stayed in rather a lot of hotels i think the price and the fact i got a single room it was excellent, some people have said it was a bit dated i'd prefer to say it has got character, much better than the plastic hotels of today.

Ideal location for shopping or bar and restaraunts, easy to get though in town it still had parking i would recommend this hotel as value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 186299Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews