We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cosy but” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Star Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Star Hotel
Ranked #24 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cosy but”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

Rates I paid for hotel were ok, however hotel needs a lot of work and smells on the first floor. Needs a lot of cleaning to be done. Had breakfast wasnt inc in price decided in morning was having. Reasonably priced and self service hot buffet. No problems with the breakfast. If needed somewhere cheap tp stay then yrs would again but wouldn't pay prices advertised is reception

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank barnytom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    95
    98
    93
    110
See reviews for
47
169
50
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

What can I say that hasn't already been said abouth this Hotel. It need of lots and lots of loving tender care. One of the worst hotels that we have stayed in. Room 24 is for students only. So very basic though bed line was clean and bed was comfory. The owner needs to spend a lot of money to bring this hotel up to scratch. Until this has been done, please avoid.

Room Tip: Until this hotel has been done up would not recommend at all. The outside needs doing, first impre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JACQUI B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Southampton hotels

Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

Very tired looking building. In certain need of paint or renovation. Hallways and stairways leading to rooms smell of a damp odour. Stairs and hallways creak and squeek when walking from rooms down to reception area.
No air conditioning in rooms. Need to open window for air ! Very old. Would NOT recommend.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank darrenjh71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

so we arrived so we arrived at the ‘hotel’ the reception was dull boring and cold – the staff weren’t very greeting and didn’t actually told us anything.. so we went to the lift? We had to pull metal bars and a door open and shut ourselves, witch was horrible!! It felt like I was in a prison sale, one point we had to walk up 6 flights of stairs cause the lift was left open by others; couldn’t find the room, it was like a complete maze; like some sort of old flat layout.. With doors leading into other doors!? WTH.. Finally found the room; the bed was snapped into half and the wallpaper was coming off the walls; the tv was old and the bath took literally half hour to run. We went out for dinner, arriving back the male receptionist said ‘’what you doing here?’’ we told him were staying here he said ‘’lets see some ID’’ – VERY RUDE. Wouldn’t recommend anyone to stay here; we definitely wont be J

Room Tip: brilliant tip - dont stay in the hotel :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chelannx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

Arrived at Star staff very friendly and helpful. Bag of rubbish left outside room in corridor from when we arrived to when we left. Bed very clean and comfortable but carpet had not been hoovered from previous guests. Toilet also had been left unflushed. Bedside table had not been cleaned from where people had made coffee and tea at some stage. It's a very old hotel and the floor boards were so noisy one room nearby came back late and we heard every footstep and room the other side left before 6am so one of the worst nights sleep ever encountered. Hotel very old very tired never again

Room Tip: Would not recommend a stay if you need to sleep have tried this twice now to give benefit of doubt a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarkymarkNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilkeston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
339 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

We stayed here for one night and left our car there whilst we went on a cruise. We'd looked at the hotel before and so knew it was central for looking around Southampton. The car park is in its own private courtyard so very handy. The building is very old and rambling - full of character - and although a little tired and in need of some TLC it is comfortable. We were also told that some work is planned to make improvements. The staff were really helpful and thoughtful. Indeed, we had a bit of an emergency on leaving and the staff were able to resolve it very quickly for us so that our holiday wasn't spoiled. They didn't need to do this for us as it didn't involve them but they went out of their way to make arrangements so that our minds were settled. Our room was comfortable and quiet which gave us a good night's sleep before we got up for breakfast served in a large dining room without being rushed. Breakfast was generous and set us up for our day very well. We've used several hotels in Southampton, all differing areas and costs but for us this was a good choice. The price was fair for what we had and we'll certainly return.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013 via mobile

The breakfast here was the worst thing I've ever had put in front of me. Imagine a greasy spoon that clearly never cleans out its pans. The coffee (surely easy?) was sub discount supermarket own brand. In the rooms the bedding and mattress seemed to have been bought from an army surplus specialising in discomfort. The toilet roll may as well have been fag paper. The free wifi requires a call to the night porter to reel off pi to you over the phone. The television refused to operate outside of a 2 foot radius. Beds squeaked. Bathrooms stunk. Maintenance was no where to be found. At breakfast mass confusion ensued when the staff had parked in the overflow spaces and had blocked three cars in.

Hideous.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Dada T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.6 mi away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#9 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#16 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Southampton Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Hotel

Property: Star Hotel
Address: 26 High Street, Southampton SO14 2NA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Star Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing