We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for”
Review of Star Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Star Hotel
Ranked #24 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

This hotel wasn't horrible, but I wouldn't go to it if you are looking to spend much time in your room. For me, it was just a crash pad. The staff seemed friendly, the bed was comfortable and I slept well. The decor is really, really old-fashioned and the hallway had an interesting smell. I'd stay again if I needed another cheap, centrally located, hotel. Nice that there was parking available. It did remind me of an old hostel or something, but it did the trick for what I was after: a place to dump my stuff off and return to in the wee hours of the morning for a few hours of sleep.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Courtney L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    100
    105
    99
    113
See reviews for
50
176
53
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

The staff were always very helpful and friendly and my room was clean and comfortable and warm. The only thing was I only got a bar of soap in my room and as I had not brought toiletries with me I had to use this also to wash my hair as I had not brought shampoo with me. It's in a great location right by the bus stop and taxi service so I got easily everywhere I needed to go which was great as I was travelling by train on this trip away. I would definitely return. I felt safe travelling alone, and was definitely welcomed by the very helpful staff there. For what I paid I thought it was super.

Room Tip: Room 10 was warm and cosy and I was very happy sleeping there, a great night's sleep. Good size...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vinevisitors2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ovacik, Turkey
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Stayed here for 1 night late Christmas Dinner Dance - arrived at 1925hrs, processed in 5mins by friendly/competent receptionist - room was old and tired, needing a renovation (new carpet + paint wouldn't go amiss) - enough room for double bed - wardrobe - dressing table and flat screen TV. View out of window was multi storey carpark. Ensuite was small - shower not powerful enough, had to use as hand shower,,
Upside was bedding was clean and shower room appeared tidy - also bed was memory foam mattress and reasonably comfortable.
Breakfast well worth the money and really enjoyed, many thanks to ladies who cooked.
24hr parking £4,
2 mins walking to West Quay + shopping centre, restaurants + cafes

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank keyholefaefife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Smashed bedroom window. Could hear people urinating in next bedroom. Couple on other side arguing all night. Night porter asleep! Complained and had very rude response from Manager. Drunks coming in all night. Just awful

Room Tip: I just would warn anyone from staying here
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scarlett788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Southampton hotels

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

Rates I paid for hotel were ok, however hotel needs a lot of work and smells on the first floor. Needs a lot of cleaning to be done. Had breakfast wasnt inc in price decided in morning was having. Reasonably priced and self service hot buffet. No problems with the breakfast. If needed somewhere cheap tp stay then yrs would again but wouldn't pay prices advertised is reception

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank barnytom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

What can I say that hasn't already been said abouth this Hotel. It need of lots and lots of loving tender care. One of the worst hotels that we have stayed in. Room 24 is for students only. So very basic though bed line was clean and bed was comfory. The owner needs to spend a lot of money to bring this hotel up to scratch. Until this has been done, please avoid.

Room Tip: Until this hotel has been done up would not recommend at all. The outside needs doing, first impre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JACQUI B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

Very tired looking building. In certain need of paint or renovation. Hallways and stairways leading to rooms smell of a damp odour. Stairs and hallways creak and squeek when walking from rooms down to reception area.
No air conditioning in rooms. Need to open window for air ! Very old. Would NOT recommend.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank darrenjh71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
0.6 mi away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#12 of 24 in Southampton
965 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#14 of 24 in Southampton
1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Hotel

Property: Star Hotel
Address: 26 High Street, Southampton SO14 2NA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Star Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HRS so you can book your Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing