We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Star Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Grand Harbour Hotel(Southampton)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (517)
Filter reviews
517 results
Traveller rating
66
117
109
105
120
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
66
117
109
105
120
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold coaching innlocation is idealbit datedcomfy bedquay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
313 - 318 of 517 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2014

This hotel wasn't horrible, but I wouldn't go to it if you are looking to spend much time in your room. For me, it was just a crash pad. The staff seemed friendly, the bed was comfortable and I slept well. The decor is really, really old-fashioned and the hallway had an interesting smell. I'd stay again if I needed another cheap, centrally located, hotel. Nice that there was parking available. It did remind me of an old hostel or something, but it did the trick for what I was after: a place to dump my stuff off and return to in the wee hours of the morning for a few hours of sleep.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Courtney L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

The staff were always very helpful and friendly and my room was clean and comfortable and warm. The only thing was I only got a bar of soap in my room and as I had not brought toiletries with me I had to use this also to wash my hair as I had not brought shampoo with me. It's in a great location right by the bus stop and taxi service so I got easily everywhere I needed to go which was great as I was travelling by train on this trip away. I would definitely return. I felt safe travelling alone, and was definitely welcomed by the very helpful staff there. For what I paid I thought it was super.

Room Tip: Room 10 was warm and cosy and I was very happy sleeping there, a great night's sleep. Good size en suite for a single room.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vinevisitors2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Stayed here for 1 night late Christmas Dinner Dance - arrived at 1925hrs, processed in 5mins by friendly/competent receptionist - room was old and tired, needing a renovation (new carpet + paint wouldn't go amiss) - enough room for double bed - wardrobe - dressing table and flat screen TV. View out of window was multi storey carpark. Ensuite was small - shower not powerful enough, had to use as hand shower,,
Upside was bedding was clean and shower room appeared tidy - also bed was memory foam mattress and reasonably comfortable.
Breakfast well worth the money and really enjoyed, many thanks to ladies who cooked.
24hr parking £4,
2 mins walking to West Quay + shopping centre, restaurants + cafes

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank keyholefaefife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Smashed bedroom window. Could hear people urinating in next bedroom. Couple on other side arguing all night. Night porter asleep! Complained and had very rude response from Manager. Drunks coming in all night. Just awful

Room Tip: I just would warn anyone from staying here
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scarlett788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

Rates I paid for hotel were ok, however hotel needs a lot of work and smells on the first floor. Needs a lot of cleaning to be done. Had breakfast wasnt inc in price decided in morning was having. Reasonably priced and self service hot buffet. No problems with the breakfast. If needed somewhere cheap tp stay then yrs would again but wouldn't pay prices advertised is reception

Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
2  Thank barnytom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews