We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shabby but friendly”
Review of Star Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Star Hotel
Ranked #23 of 25 Hotels in Southampton
Reviewed 4 March 2014

This hotel is in need of refurbishment but it was clean and comfortable and the staff were all friendly and helpful. The breakfast was good:tasty, hot and plentiful. We had 2 good nights' sleep though the room was small and the bathroom basic with just 2 very small bars of soap. If you're looking for luxury, or even decent paintwork, then The Star is not for you. However, it is well located for the Quay and the main shopping area.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JayneR_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (484)
There are newer reviews for Star Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

278 - 284 of 484 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

This is a cheap stay so if you just want a bed for the night then it's fine but nothing more. The decor is shabby and old but the bedrooms were very spacious with everything you would need. Breakfast was fine for the money .. wouldn't want to spend more than one night but price was good.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank sue777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I stayed there for a long time, I mean 20 days till I found an stable accommodation. The receptionists, are usually Polish or Russian and very friendly and polite. The owners, old women, are on the quite rude though. The hotel is old, the elevator is old, the rooms are old but well furnished but still tiny. I hotel position is very ok, but far from univ. of south.
Cheers

Room Tip: The room are different but ask for the one in the main building, otherwise you have to move the bags...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

I booked a room for staying a night in 25th February 2014, when I arrived to the hotel they said to me my reservation never came to them. I solved the problem my self, be aware they do not respect the reservations, they only gave the room to somebody else offered more money for room. I booked using booking.com, both of them were equally useless to help me.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank OmarDLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

This hotel wasn't horrible, but I wouldn't go to it if you are looking to spend much time in your room. For me, it was just a crash pad. The staff seemed friendly, the bed was comfortable and I slept well. The decor is really, really old-fashioned and the hallway had an interesting smell. I'd stay again if I needed another cheap, centrally located, hotel. Nice that there was parking available. It did remind me of an old hostel or something, but it did the trick for what I was after: a place to dump my stuff off and return to in the wee hours of the morning for a few hours of sleep.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Courtney L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

The staff were always very helpful and friendly and my room was clean and comfortable and warm. The only thing was I only got a bar of soap in my room and as I had not brought toiletries with me I had to use this also to wash my hair as I had not brought shampoo with me. It's in a great location right by the bus stop and taxi service so I got easily everywhere I needed to go which was great as I was travelling by train on this trip away. I would definitely return. I felt safe travelling alone, and was definitely welcomed by the very helpful staff there. For what I paid I thought it was super.

Room Tip: Room 10 was warm and cosy and I was very happy sleeping there, a great night's sleep. Good size...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vinevisitors2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Stayed here for 1 night late Christmas Dinner Dance - arrived at 1925hrs, processed in 5mins by friendly/competent receptionist - room was old and tired, needing a renovation (new carpet + paint wouldn't go amiss) - enough room for double bed - wardrobe - dressing table and flat screen TV. View out of window was multi storey carpark. Ensuite was small - shower not powerful enough, had to use as hand shower,,
Upside was bedding was clean and shower room appeared tidy - also bed was memory foam mattress and reasonably comfortable.
Breakfast well worth the money and really enjoyed, many thanks to ladies who cooked.
24hr parking £4,
2 mins walking to West Quay + shopping centre, restaurants + cafes

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank keyholefaefife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.0 mi away
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
0.6 mi away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#13 of 25 in Southampton
989 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#14 of 25 in Southampton
1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Hotel

Address: 26 High Street, Southampton SO14 2NA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 25 Hotels in Southampton
Price Range: £60 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Star Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing