We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for the price”
Review of Star Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Star Hotel
Ranked #23 of 25 Hotels in Southampton
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stayed in the Star at the weekend for 1 night. We wanted somewhere central as we were going to a party in the town centre. It is a Victorian style hotel and looks a little shabby but the bed was clean and comfy, clean bathroom with loads of hot water and breakfast was lovely, lots to choose from. For the price we paid we cannot complain but I am sure some people would.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olwyn74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (483)
There are newer reviews for Star Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

267 - 273 of 483 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2014

This hotel is definately shabby and unkempt. But the important areas are spotless, toilet and shower, bed linen etc. Staff are friendly and helpful, its a great location and good price. Cheap, rundown but clean and cheerful!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank love2stay2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

This hotel is in incredibly shabby condition - peeling paint everywhere, broken fittings, old stained carpet and a general dingy feeling to all of the shared spaces. It has the feel of a cheap flophouse. Either the owner doesn't care about this place or they can't afford to fix it - either is a good reason to avoid the place.

The room itself (single with en-suite) was not particularly clean - one of the double glazed windows was broken and full of dirty orange water - there was a great deal of black mould in the bathroom - the bed was broken and there were no lampshades on the wall lamps (which meant that you couldn't really use them).

The staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast wasn't terrible - but, overall, the experience was pretty dreadful.

I have stayed in quite a few hotels in Southampton and I have to say that The Star was one of the worst at any price - and certainly the very worst at this price point. There are far better places and, had I arrived earlier and been staying longer than one night, I would almost certainly have checked out and gone somewhere else.

Room Tip: Book somewhere else
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jethro B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Firstly the impression of the building was seriously in need of a professional paint job to the front (even better knocked down)!! The Reception was very dark and uninviting and the Reception staff were dead, and when somebody did appear they didn't have a clue about the procedure!! On entering out room, we wanted to walk straight out, It smelled of rotten fish and cheese, and another aroma, we still can't figure out what!!, The bathroom was just as bad, it couldn't get any worse. We did decide to stay as we were attending a wedding no far from this hotel, otherwise I wouldn't even entertained the idea of staying!! Breakfast was a even worse experience, it seemed to be run by a (gentle)man who insisted on barking orders at the staff behind the counter, and heaven help those who wanted something different that wasn't already laid out!! All hell to pay!!! Just don't go there!!!!!

Room Tip: Just don't go there!!!
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

On arriving at the hotel I found that there was a first come first served basis car park then while we went to check I had to pay another 2 nights parking not happy as this was not mentioned when I booked. We went to the room which was number 8 when I opened the door I saw 2 king size beds I thought this is a superior room when I googled this it had a sofa and chair and a big tv well back to the room the curtains were dirty cob webs all round a tap shower which stunk of mould big cracks down the wall heater in the shower was broken toilet wouldn't flush properly and no anti slip matt in the bath now to the sleeping 1st bed had a wheel which was missing so that meant the bed had a slop then the 2nd bed had a divan base higher then the other so you slept with your bottom half higher then the tv which was a 19 inch flat screen ridiculous you couldn't read the channels without being up to it .as for the carpets they just need a could deep clean and a decent hoover the hole place needs to come into the 20th century will not be staying here again I've been in better for less money and where you get a breakfast included I mean 6.95 and its not all you can eat

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank scatman1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

This is the worst hotel I've ever stayed in. The room were filthy with stains on the bedding.
The bathroom was covered in mould and these are the good things about this place.
Avoid at all costs, it's not that cheap and they have the cheek to charge you for parking.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank Mattlloyd2173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Stayed one night to avoid paying taxi prices out of town. For £42 we knew to expect something basic. On the negative it is shabby especially in the common areas and no toiletries in the room (we didn't expect them).

But on the positive - great location centre of Southampton, staff very polite, big room (number 47), comfy bed and pillows, clean, large shower with plenty of hot water, large towels and tea/coffee making facilities including mugs! And secure parking. It served its purpose and we would def use again for this reason.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank SouthamptonLynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.0 mi away
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
0.6 mi away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#11 of 25 in Southampton
988 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#14 of 25 in Southampton
1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Hotel

Address: 26 High Street, Southampton SO14 2NA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 25 Hotels in Southampton
Price Range: £59 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Star Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing