We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Star Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Grand Harbour Hotel(Southampton)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (519)
Filter reviews
519 results
Traveller rating
67
117
110
105
120
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
67
117
110
105
120
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold coaching innlocation is idealbit datedcomfy bedquay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
294 - 299 of 519 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This hotel whilst quite dated (and in need of a lick or two of paint) offers large clean rooms at a reasonable price.
The location is first class for anyone visiting the city centre for shopping, business or pleasure.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The awfully uncomfortable bed (very hard) and the very poor flow of water from the shower.
Had booked for two nights, brought husband along for a businesstrip and we were going to stay in the area for another 3 days. The hotel looks really shabby from the outside, it improved somewhat when getting in. Really friendly staff though.
The location is superb! We decided to continue our stay at Star hotel and do our excursion from this base.
However, after first night sleep i woke up with an aching back, washed hair but not possible to get all schampo out due to a very poor flow in shower (energy saving?) not even the fine english breakfast could make up for it.
We decided not to prolong our stay.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the rooms at floor 3, some of them have windows facing another wall 1m away. Besides it being very hot, the pigeons have a bath between these two buildings and it is quite disgusting having a lot of pigeons flapping just outside your open window.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KL6789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Set on the high street this has a fantastic location for all the benefits of Southampton's centre and port. There's a great cafe opposite and a Weatherspoons two doors away. As a guest you stand a good chance of being able to park at the hotel too, for a modest additional fee.

A decent breakfast was offered (and accepted) in lieu of the TV in our room not working.

The rooms were clean with comfortable beds. Our rooms, as with most, were set back from the high street so noise levels were tolerable despite the old windows.

The hotel is friendly with helpful staff. It has charm and character, that would have at one time made it a premium hotel. Those days are gone however and the place is but a shodow of what it once was or could be. We were told that the front of the hotel is going to be freshened up imminently. This is important as it is in desperate need of such; my heart sank when I saw it and made me feel like I didn't want anyone else to know where I was staying.

Not to put too fine a point on it, the place needs considerable investment to bring it up to scratch. That said, they have the basics right and the price reflects it being a bit tired.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Having read some of the quite frankly moaning Minnie reviews on here we booked with some trepidation. Ok the decor is a bit dated and the outside is a bit shabby. However I would say this is an honest 2 star hotel. It does not attempt to hoodwink you into thinking otherwise. In its favour the rooms are clean and very comfortable, a hell of a lot more so than some hotels in Southampton that claim to be 3 stars. You have to remember this is an old coaching inn. The location is ideal. The breakfast is excellent. If you are looking for a good value budget hotel, with character and friendly helpful staff then this is a good option. If you are looking for a bland homogenous accommodation then look elsewhere. We loved it and will be booking again when we are next in Southampton.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank Jonathan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

was a bit worried after reading reviews on some web sites got to the hotel staff very helpfull my partner uses a mobility scotter which the allowed him to leave in reception as lift was not big enough to fit it room very clean and tea and coffee making facilites were good bathroom was clean and plenty of hotwater ok decorating a bit dated but in good condtion beds very confortable we stayed in room 27 reception staff were very helpfull booked all my taxis as i needed to take bruno my guide dog to the vets before his cruise and they booked taxi to the cruise termanil , breakfast was great staff in dinning room were great.

as for comments about the smell in carridors i did not smell anything unpleasent people need to rember that this is a 17th century courching inn and as lots of charitor.

I will be staying again as i visit southampton 4 times a year and for 43.50 a night with breakfast and in the city centre best value.

one last thing do not judge a book by its cover

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blindbatt2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews