We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Night on the town”
Review of Star Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Star Hotel
Ranked #24 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Dover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
250 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Night on the town”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Southampton for 1 night for a friends 30th birthday. The hotel was in a good location, very central. So it served our purposes. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We also had the buffet breakfast which was filling. The interiors are very dated (70s bath fittings) but was good for a short stay.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank DarrellllerraD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    98
    103
    96
    113
See reviews for
49
173
53
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edgware, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 4 nights the staff were fantastic, room was so clean, bathroom was spacious I had a single room and found it to be lovely with no faults. I don't get why people would give this place bad reviews after a short trip here it's well priced it was £35 a night approximately and really nice I would without a doubt return again

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland
Level Contributor
142 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Hotel is in good location for local restaurants as they do not have evening meals. Lift was constantly broken. Book in was a pain - took more money then was agreed.
Car parking is limited and costs £4 per day - what a rip off. Car was vomited on!!!
Shower makes it own mind up to be hot/cold. Room was scorching hot and no offer of a fan.
WiFi pathetic and the bloody pigeons were a constant nuisance.
This was booked by my company due to business so had to stay, if my own choice would have never considered this place.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank northumberlandlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Southampton hotels

1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of a hen weekend. It is a little bit tired & needs some tlc but rooms were a good size, beds comfy, breakfast had a good choice & the staff were lovely. If you're looking for a budget hotel close to everything I recommend this hotel.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
74 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Booked only for location and it was a one night stay as picking up relatives returning from a cruise. The hotel is superbly situated within about 800m of the Mayflower terminal in a high street with a choice of restaurants and traditional and modern pubs including a Weatherspoons next door but one. I then read the reviews by other guests and was worried I had made a mistake. I was proved completely wrong! There is no doubt the hotel is dated but for anyone who has ever stayed in a small French hotel they would not be disappointed with this. The rooms were clean, decor was pleasant but dated and staff were helpful and friendly and the buffet breakfast included in the price was better than I have had in mainstream and much more expensive hotels. I left the hotel at 8.30 am and was picking up said relatives at 8.35am. There was ample secure parking and weather which was very hot ensured I was provided with a large fan. Outdoor seating meant I could sit out front and watch the world go by and I would Deffo rebook this hotel if needed. It's a small and friendly hotel that does what it is supposed to do and as such I forgive it's dated decor !!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Griffblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Notodden, Norway
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Spent two nights there in conjunction with a cruise we were attending. Chose the hotel due to its proximity to the harbor, Southampton centrum and it's cheap price.

The hotel has a very low standard as far as rooms are concerned. No airconditioning, small and uncomfortable beds and next to no water pressure. Staff was very friendly and service-minded and the price was more than fair according to the hotels standard and location.

Could recommend for an overnight stay, but not any more than that.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wheeljack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We stayed at the Star Hotel for one Saturday night in June 2014 as part of a road trip.

The location of the hotel is ok with lots of restaurants on its door step. However, the downside was there are also nightclubs and bars nearby which meant it was very noisy right into the early hours. Not sure if this was only because it was a Saturday night though.

Service ranged from average from the staff that checked us in to very friendly/helpful to from the staff who checked us out.

Rooms were clean but the hotel was like a maze when trying to find your room for the first time.

The exterior is very warn and looks slightly dilapidated. There is a £4 per day charge to park in the hotel car park and spaces are limited.

Paid £80 per room which did not include breakfast.

Room Tip: avoid rooms facing the high street and near the elevator to reduce noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pochums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
0.6 mi away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#11 of 24 in Southampton
953 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#16 of 24 in Southampton
1,124 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Hotel

Property: Star Hotel
Address: 26 High Street, Southampton SO14 2NA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Star Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing