We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”
Review of The Horse & Jockey

The Horse & Jockey
Ranked #236 of 850 Restaurants in Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, View, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Came for lunch with some friends after a walk at Manor Farm. Lovely food, had all day breakfasts and a sausages and mash. Homely atmosphere.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank L_April95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    73
    18
    26
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent Sunday lunch”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Very good food , good service. Lovely pub that we will be going back to. We all had Sunday lunch apart from me as I fancied the lamb, but none of us were disappointed. The portions were great and there was very little left over even though two of our party had the "Big Boy" Roast.
Can't wait to go back!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ali B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whiteley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Proper Pub”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Happy friendly landlady called Jenny.
Serves great beer and frequented by locals (who don't bite)
Pleasant views and tables by the river.
Proper home-cooked grub!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JimmyW1509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Birthday party”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Excellent food, entertainment and staff.
Could not be better.
Good value for money.
I would recommend this pub to anyone. Lovely in the summer.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank JeanieBabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great breakfast and great hospitality with very friendly and welcoming staff”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I booked my car into a local car body repair garage without realising it was out in the country and with 3 hours to kill before my car was ready, and nowhere to walk to, the garage dropped me at the nearest place with food, The Horse and Jockey. It was 0930 hours and the place was empty apart from the manageress and cleaner. No chef yet but I was welcomed like a member of the family provided with coffee and invited to wait until my car was ready. A wonderful type of old fashioned hospitality. When chef arrived he produced a great breakfast for me with good quality thick cut bacon .. yum yum! Thank you Horse and Jockey!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank robtee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Horse & Jockey also viewed

Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Been to The Horse & Jockey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing