We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Art Gallery that is worth a visit if you are a tourist or live in the City of Southampton”

Southampton City Art Gallery
Ranked #21 of 133 things to do in Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Southampton City Art Gallery is the most outstanding gallery in the South of England and is internationally renowned for its impressive collection and temporary exhibitions programme. The works on display, of both historic and contemporary art, show the breadth and quality of the City’s art treasures. The Gallery attracts a wide audience and through the exciting education programme it provides and promote opportunities for greater access, involvement and understanding of visual art in Southampton.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Stairs / lift
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“An Art Gallery that is worth a visit if you are a tourist or live in the City of Southampton”
Reviewed 10 January 2014

No a very large gallery however that can be considered part of its charm. It does however exhibit some stunning works of art and outside exhibitions do make their way there as well. The gallery is very rarely very busy unless of course there is a coach load of children however over the years I have visited and enjoyed this place often and that has only happen once.
The staff are excellent and I would suggest that you take a look for yourself, I am sure you will not be disappointed. The art gallery is suitable for anyone who is interested in works of art to visit.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rosa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    56
    11
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Only open to 3pm? And no cafe.”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

A decent gallery in a small space, but the 3pm closure is daft. I guess all the money is being pumped into the Titanic monstrosity next door. The Burne Jones's are well worth looking at, and are dramatically presented in their own dark-panelled room. It seems such a wasted opportunity. And no café.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tjsussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,490 reviews
892 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 622 helpful votes
“Well Worth a Visit”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Over the last few years we have visited this Gallery on a number of occasions and enjoyed both special exhibitions and revisiting the permanent collection, The main collection contains an astonishing number of paintings by well known artists and one of the joys is seeing lesser known works and being able to examine them in close detail. Visiting today we again found some hidden gems which kept us engaged for well in excess of an hour before moving on to another part of the City. In the past we have also enjoyed eating at the Gallery Cafe but this has now moved into the new Museum nearby. Whilst we enjoyed our visit it was clear that in these difficult financial times the Gallery has lost priority to the SeaCity Museum but it is still well worth a visit.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bsandrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
146 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Small but strong”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

This isn't the biggest of art galleries I've visited - it can easily be 'done' in an hour but there are excellent pieces by a variety of artists from Rodin to Lowery, with some stricking modern works and, when I visited, a temporary exhibition about land art. We visited on a very sunny day and the light was difficult on some of the pictures in the main hall, but otherwise it is thoroughly recommended.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank NeilSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denpasar, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“More please”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Some stunning works on view when I visited. For example paintings by: Lowry, Renoir, Turner, Manet, Spencer and sculpture by Rodin and Degas. Such a terrible waste that most of the paintings are in store and not displayed. Definitely need to expand the gallery.
I felt closing time of 3pm was too early. I would have liked an information sheet on the current display but staff said it wasn't worthwhile producing as the exhibitions keep changing - not really a good enough excuse.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank GypsyFrog_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Southampton City Art Gallery also viewed

Southampton, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Been to Southampton City Art Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing