We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back to nature”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Southampton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Denny Wood Campsite
Reviewed 6 May 2014

What we love about this site is the lack of facilities. There is drinking water and chemical disposal, and thats it! Pitch where you like and relax. You are surrounded by nature, birds, horses, cows, deer etc.....close by are lovely walks through the woodland. Lyndhurst is about 2.5 miles away and there are plenty of places to get refreshments and sit and watch the world go by!!! The wardens are very friendly and can often be seen wandering around the site meeting and chatting with everyone. If you want all the mod cons this is not the site for you but if you love nature and somewhere to relax that is stunning.....Denny Wood is the place. Our favourite campsite and if the sun is out we will be there!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kaminokid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (40)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

We like to visit Denny on a regular basis because it is a quiet & friendly site nice walks we stayed again over May Bank Holiday, everyone is friendly what's great as well the wardens try to get campers together to which was nice We will be definitely going next Bank Holiday as the wardens are inviting campers to a BBQ on the 25th(there will be a charge)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank roygrainger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

I haven't actually stayed at this campsite but I use the lovely off-road cycle path that goes through it and you can easily reach other cycle tracks from here, such as Hawkshill with very little road work. I can see that the site is immaculately kept, but it seems basic as there are signs up to say you have to take a chemical loo but there's a standpipe for drinking water. There are beautiful walks from this site and Lyndhurst is quite close as is Beaulieu Road station and the hotel and pub there - The Drift Inn. If you're looking for a genuine New Forest experience this is a great place to be.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
3  Thank cakerider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Very quiet campsite, set in the middle of the new forest, great to be able to pitch in the middle of the ferns and trees, wild horses and cows roaming through (carefull,horse went for our bread and kicked my son when we tried to "shoo" it away :) ) Great woodland walk straight from the campsite

The downside is: it is expensive as it is run by the camping and caravaning club and the forestry commission. I dont think there are any other sites available?? (although i cant be 100% on this) and you have to pay for a toilet, which seemed to be a money makaing thing rather than for any other reason

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Layaan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

What to say about this site ?
Basic, no facilities no marked pitches no hook ups and off the beaten track
Pluses ?
Many,...........peace quiet cows horses and deer wandering around,birds singing
Wardens work very hard to keep things right,they are friendly and approachable
At night site is pitch black with just the moon to guide you,only noise is occasional owl, it's true sometimes you hear a car or motorbike passing on the road, but this is an exception so not intrusive
I come here most weekends for the peace and quiet which is here in abundance
Sitting here at 7.13 pm all I can hear is a pigeon in the forest,nothing else, perfect bliss
Would I recommend it ?
NO I want to keep it all for myself, hope they never decide to " improve " it that would be a disaster

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DougLas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

New managers there Andy and Sandra both most welcomi really people friendly do coffee mornings on Thursdays really trying hard to pull in campers need own lop as no facilities there beautiful peaceful site heard talk of them doing Hog Roast at end of season but not sure

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
5  Thank roygrainger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

If you want to go to the New Forest and enjoy peace and quiet, away from the towns, and you don't mind there being no facilities (as in showers or loos - you need to bring a chemical toilet) then you can't go wrong at Denny Wood. Nestled in the Forest, surrounded by wildlife that come and go as they please, this site is tranquil, don't be surprised if you have a horse in your tent the next morning! Whilst it might not be to everyone's taste being so quiet, when the stars come out at night you can see every one of them as there is virtually no light pollution.

The site is in the New Forest, but is a mix of open space and trees. There are no marked pitches, you just find a space. For walking and exploring, you are literally 20 seconds from the forest walks in any direction.

For those who don't want to be completely isolated, Lyndhurst is literally 2 miles away, and there is a pub just up the road within walking distance. .

The only downsides are that the road is relatively close, and although not busy, you can hear the odd car coming and going, and that for no frills it is not cheap to camp here anymore.

To recap - there are no facilities here - it's bring your own everything.... (well apart from water!)

Room Tip: lie back and enjoy the stars....!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank bluejonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
14.4 mi away
Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club
6.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#8 of 26 in Southampton
1,166 reviews
11.8 mi away
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
7.5 mi away
Highfield House Hotel
Highfield House Hotel
#16 of 26 in Southampton
568 reviews
10 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Denny Wood Campsite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Denny Wood Campsite

Address: off B 3056 from Lyndhurst, Southampton SO43 7FZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Southampton
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Denny Wood has it all. From ancient woodland to beautiful open grassland, this campsite is wonderfully peaceful, surrounded by majestic oak trees and free roaming New Forest ponies that quietly graze on the lush grassland. There really is no better way to gain a more authentic New Forest experience under canvas! Facilities Tents Touring caravans Motorhomes Trailer tents Jumbo tent pitches Grassy pitches Hardstanding pitch Seasonal pitches No disabled facilities Chemical toilet disposal Drinking water taps No pet permitted No showers No toilets Not surprisingly, because of its unique environment and rare mix of habitats that support animal and plant life, the New Forest is an Area of Specific Scientific Interest. Enjoying an extremely healthy birdlife with its mixture of open heathland and woodland, the New Forest provides a safe haven for a wide range of species, including the rare Dartford Warbler and the Montagu's Harrier. At Denny Wood campsite, campers, nature lovers and keen bird watchers alike can share their pitch with ground nesting birds (for this reason, dogs are not allowed at this campsite, only guide dogs are permitted). From Denny Wood, there is direct access to the Forest, and the pretty village of Brockenhurst can be reached directly by bike without the need to take any roads. The campsite is also within walking distance of Lyndhurst, offering a fantastic selection of restaurants, shops and pubs. The National Motor Museum and Beaulieu Palace are just five miles away and hold special events throughout the season. The New Forest Tour open-top sightseeing bus stops at this campsite during the summer months. Why not hop on and discover all the wonderful sights, sounds and history of the unique New Forest environment. You can also take your bike on board! Denny Wood are always keen to improve their 'Green' status and in doing so have installed Solar Panels and Wind Turbines. Read more about how our campsites are helping towards Green Tourism. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing