We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Isolated but not tranquil.”
Review of Holmsley Campsite

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Southampton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Holmsley Campsite
Chalfont St. Giles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Isolated but not tranquil.”
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Be warned - this is a massive site with 600 pitches and it was full when we took our break this August Bank Holiday weekend. There is a lot of grass but equally quite a bit of concrete as it used to be an airbase. It is an isolated site but don't expect peace and tranquility as there always seemed to be noise of some sort. Early evening was the worst and at times you felt like you were camped on the edge of a road with cars driving up to the toilet blocks. That said the site was quiet by 11.00pm.
The toilet/shower blocks were quite grim by early evening and experienced heavy usage as there were only 3 blocks to serve the site and it appeared they were only cleaned once a day. However it says as much about the people who left them in a mess as it does the campsite staff. The water was lovely and hot however - they just needed a real proper deep clean as the floors were filthy. Perhaps they need more cleaning staff during high season !
I will say though it could be a good site for groups who want to socialise in the evenings as long as your expectations aren't too high.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    109
    45
    24
    34
See reviews for
144
69
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We arrived on Friday evening of the August bank holiday weekend and of course it was packed! You have to find a pitch, they are not marked out and some people camp very selfishly taking up several pitches with their badminton nets, gazebos and windbreaks!
It was pretty wet but we found a spot at the very far end. We have 2 small children, one of whom is using a toilet (just) but it was too far to get him to the toilet block in time, it was miles away!
The toilets and showers were fine, although when I showered I had everyone else's bubbles running into my cubicle which wasn't too pleasant!
There were loads of children on bikes everywhere. There were people up talking loudly til very late. But we loved bring so close to the forest, the shop was handy, well stocked and reasonable.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PuddingBasin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We turned up late one Friday evening having booked on-line. The pitches are not allocated so we had to drive around the site until we found a space (not much left). The shower facilities were ok but we had to queue to use them at 8am in the morning. Both times I used the shower on the end which tended to have water running into it from other showers. There was also the distinct smell of urine! Nice location and we could hear horses in the neighbouring field. After we had pitched our tent we walked down to the site shop to get a drink only to find the shop was closed and the vending machines were out of order or required the correct change. As we were at least a 30-45 minute walk from the nearest pub we had to go without.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Claire O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

The campsite itself was nice, plenty of open space and pretty surroundings. Not too far from Sainsburys which was handy and the on site shop was also handy for bits and bobs, there was also a takeaway, not much on the menu but ok for one evening. The facilities were usually clean but sometimes a bit muddy (which is to be expected) and the taps were annoying as once you pressed them they only stayed on for 5 seconds, similarly the showers only seemed to stay on for 20 seconds at a time which was a pain if you had a handful of shampoo. Overall a really nice place to stay and visit the new forest and the surrounding areas.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tasha O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2012

A lovely site which my brother and I were looking forward to taking our families to as we spent many a fun holiday there as kids.
We had a lovely time but the site is definitely not set up for young families (our children are 1 and 2 years old)
For example, they don't sell whole milk in the shop at all and it opens relatively late when you have to get up early for children if you need provisions.
The park didn't have any baby swings and was aimed at older children so there wasn't much to keep the little ones entertained.
We also begrudged having to pay 50p per ice pack to use the freezer which meant that we couldn't keep our babies' milk very cool, meaning regular trips to the local Sainsburys which was 4 miles down the road. We've never had to pay for this basic camping necessity before so it came as a bit of a surprise when they asked for money when we were dropping our first lot in.
That said, the staff were very friendly and there was plenty of space. We would like to come back when the children are older but for those with young children, make sure you go prepared!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 554GUC554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wimborne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Very busy and a bit hectic. Playground has seen better days, staff are lukewarm , no one seems to be in control of the place. Very noisy at night with older kids running all over the place. Not the place for a quiet rest!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank JMH456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eastbourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

We have just returned from 3 nights stay at Holmsley and cannot understand what all the negative comments are about. We had a very quiet pitch with the tent and although there were children around us this is surely to be expected at a camp site for families. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. We also felt that we were in the forest with the views around us and peace at night. We loved the fact that the forest is so close and the ponies are so visible and congregate all over the road. That really made our trip. The showers and toilets were clean and we had no issue with the facilities. We used the takeaway shop and the only issue was that our order was forgotten but not a huge problem. The weather was very British summer and rained on and off. We enjoyed the scenery and going into burley for dinner and generally enjoying the place. Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank southernstar66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
1.6 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 24 in Southampton
1,665 reviews
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
2.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre
2.5 mi away
Highfield House Hotel
Highfield House Hotel
#12 of 24 in Southampton
524 reviews
4.2 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holmsley Campsite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holmsley Campsite

Property: Holmsley Campsite
Address: off A35 Lyndhurst-Christchurch Road | 8 miles SW of Lyndhurst, Southampton BH23 7EQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Southampton
Number of rooms: 600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holmsley is a campsite steeped in history. Occupying part of what used to be Holmsley Airfield in the Second World War, it is one of 12 wartime airfields and Advanced Landing Grounds in the New Forest. Indeed, the aircraft hard standings and taxiways are now the campsite roads and parking spots! Facilities Premium pitches Tents Touring caravans Motorhomes Trailer tents Jumbo tent pitches Grassy pitches Grass pitch with electric hook up Hardstanding pitch Hardstanding pitch with electric hook up Seasonal pitches Unsheltered site Toilets Showers Washbasins Electric razor sockets Separate disabled facilities Family shower room Chemical toilet disposal Drinking water taps Motorhome service pointstop off Dishwashing facilities Laundry Ice pack freezing facility Gas cylinders Battery charging facility Shop Childrens play area Takeaway Pets welcome The campsite is close to the rural villages of Burley and Bransgore, with shops including a bakery, chemist, and chip shop. The site is predominantly grass, meaning there is a lot of space for the children to play. It also offers direct access to forest walks and safe cycling tracks; ideal for exploring the local flora and fauna with the whole family. Onsite there is a fully equipped shop that sells a wide range of groceries, camping essentials and games to ensure that your holiday runs as smoothly as possible. There is also an excellent take away; perfect after a busy day exploring the forest and when you want to put your feet up in your tent and relax. Opening time will vary throughout the season. Next to the site there is a large heathland which is fantastic for a spot of nature watching. Free-roaming ponies, cattle and deer are frequent visitors, and you might see squirrels, badgers and foxes if you are lucky. New Forest woodlands are thought by the locals to be at their very best in the autumn, during the annual Pannage season. At this time the forest turns crimson and gold and echoes to the sound of rutting deer. Holmsley is close to several stunning beaches including Barton on Sea, with Bournemouth and Poole just a drive away. Premium pitches are available onsite, and there are also toilets, showers and a launderette available. Please remember to bring your rock pegs for this site. Due to the low level of lighting campers must pitch up before dark. Pitch types at Holmsley There are 600 pitches at Holmsley, made up of standard and premium pitch types. This campsite also have space to take RV units. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Holmsley Campsite Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing