We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (381)
Filter reviews
381 results
Traveller rating
113
137
57
37
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
113
137
57
37
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnew forestrock pegshard standinglarge siteshop on sitecamping tripwell stocked shopquiet pitchflight pathlovely sitemay bank holidayclean sitetoilet showerwild poniespush buttonsite staffplenty of hot water
Filter
Updating list...
321 - 326 of 381 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We arrived on thursday evening, the site was pretty empty at this point, we pitched up in a nice big area with only a couple of other tents around. We went out on Friday and came back in the afternoon to 3 huge tents surrounding us, they say you are supposed to leave 3m between tents but these were touching our guy ropes. Nobody around to actually check that people aren't pitching to close. Complete free for all, was completly packed and more people were still arriving trying to find somewhere to pitch up. My car almost got blocked in by someone trying to pitch in front of it.
We had a group of 2/3 famililies next to us screaming and shouting til 2am and using behind our tent as a toilet. Ridicolous. We ended up leaving early as we couldn't handle another night of no sleep, and no way of catching up on sleep during the day with all the children running around.

Overall the facitlites are pretty good, but with no actual set out pitches and the sheer amount of people they allow in don't go expecting a nice relaxing holiday because it unlikely that is what you will get!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eagle6_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Be warned - this is a massive site with 600 pitches and it was full when we took our break this August Bank Holiday weekend. There is a lot of grass but equally quite a bit of concrete as it used to be an airbase. It is an isolated site but don't expect peace and tranquility as there always seemed to be noise of some sort. Early evening was the worst and at times you felt like you were camped on the edge of a road with cars driving up to the toilet blocks. That said the site was quiet by 11.00pm.
The toilet/shower blocks were quite grim by early evening and experienced heavy usage as there were only 3 blocks to serve the site and it appeared they were only cleaned once a day. However it says as much about the people who left them in a mess as it does the campsite staff. The water was lovely and hot however - they just needed a real proper deep clean as the floors were filthy. Perhaps they need more cleaning staff during high season !
I will say though it could be a good site for groups who want to socialise in the evenings as long as your expectations aren't too high.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We arrived on Friday evening of the August bank holiday weekend and of course it was packed! You have to find a pitch, they are not marked out and some people camp very selfishly taking up several pitches with their badminton nets, gazebos and windbreaks!
It was pretty wet but we found a spot at the very far end. We have 2 small children, one of whom is using a toilet (just) but it was too far to get him to the toilet block in time, it was miles away!
The toilets and showers were fine, although when I showered I had everyone else's bubbles running into my cubicle which wasn't too pleasant!
There were loads of children on bikes everywhere. There were people up talking loudly til very late. But we loved bring so close to the forest, the shop was handy, well stocked and reasonable.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PuddingBasin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We turned up late one Friday evening having booked on-line. The pitches are not allocated so we had to drive around the site until we found a space (not much left). The shower facilities were ok but we had to queue to use them at 8am in the morning. Both times I used the shower on the end which tended to have water running into it from other showers. There was also the distinct smell of urine! Nice location and we could hear horses in the neighbouring field. After we had pitched our tent we walked down to the site shop to get a drink only to find the shop was closed and the vending machines were out of order or required the correct change. As we were at least a 30-45 minute walk from the nearest pub we had to go without.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Claire O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

The campsite itself was nice, plenty of open space and pretty surroundings. Not too far from Sainsburys which was handy and the on site shop was also handy for bits and bobs, there was also a takeaway, not much on the menu but ok for one evening. The facilities were usually clean but sometimes a bit muddy (which is to be expected) and the taps were annoying as once you pressed them they only stayed on for 5 seconds, similarly the showers only seemed to stay on for 20 seconds at a time which was a pain if you had a handful of shampoo. Overall a really nice place to stay and visit the new forest and the surrounding areas.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tasha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews