We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendliest most helpful staff ever!!!!”
Review of Holmsley Campsite

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Southampton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Holmsley Campsite
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Friendliest most helpful staff ever!!!!”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We were greeted on arrival by a very helpful staff member who directed us to various areas where we could pitch on an already busy site.
The shop was very useful, croisssants delicious and a fairer price than we found in France!
The staff helped whenever we asked, a helpful lady printed out details of a walk we could go on with detailed directions.
The take away was also useful and of good quality.
The children loved the play area and the freedom of riding their bikes.
I would like to say a big thank you to the site manager who without hesitation immediately came to our rescue when our car wouldn't start, having to put up with extreme wet weather conditions and the fact our car wasn't near the road making it tricky to get to. He was extremely helpful and friendly. Thank you.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Nicola G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    105
    42
    22
    31
See reviews for
140
64
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

First of all I should say thank you to the staff at Holmesly for letting us in late on in the evening as our other plans had fallen through at the last minute. However, the positive interactions ended there and future encounters were a little less pleasant. Despite stating that we were a party of two with two cars, we were only given one set of tags. This meant that we were 'challenged' by two members of staff in as many minutes when trying to drive back into the campsite. Being pleasant and polite seemed to be off the agenda during these exchanges and I was disappointed to see that this is how they treat their customers.
Otherwise, we managed to find a relatively quiet spot with some actual 'forest' and some space, but many other areas were overcrowded. Also disappointing was the failure of a boiler which closed one of the few shower blocks.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank everydayduffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brixham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

This site is in a great location for exploring the New Forest and is close to the pretty town of Christchurch and the gorgeous beach at Mudeford.
The site itself was very disappointing for me and I never warmed to it. It is a disused airbase and so comprises large areas of concrete, ie old runways. Many people, particularly those with caravans or mobile homes appeared to be spending their holiday on a car park.
We were camping so we had a pitch that was technically grass but the ground is as hard as rock and mostly sloping with large holes! When we took down our tent, despite the fact that we had extra hard tent pegs there were many fatalities!
we tried to contact the site on the day of our arrival and could get no one to answer the phone despite two hours of trying! When we got there we found the reception/shop to be woefully understaffed with queues all around the shop.
The shop itself stocks a small range of foods and camping stuff at the sort of prices you would expect on a site.
The toilet blocks/showers were clean and adequate although you have to lean on the shower button as you get about 5 seconds of water per press! One shower block was closed for several days of our visit so it was a bit of a trek!
The site is also in the flight path for Bournemouth airport so there is a lot of noise from planes even at night, I was woken at 2,15am by a plane overhead so take your ear plugs.
They will freeze your ice packs in the shop but they charge 50p per pack so over the course of a week this week add up to a considerable amount. Previous sites that I have visited have normally offered this facility free or for a much smaller charge.
The pitches themselves are not marked out so they do tend to cram in as many tents as they can. We felt particularly hemmed in by those around us, including one group who left us just enough room to drive out between the ropes. There is supposed to be 6m between tents but it was barely 6ft
The quiet after ten rule does not seem to apply either and is not really enforceable. They also say no gazebos at busy periods/bank holidays or fire pits , but people around us had them.
In short, I didnt fall in love with the place like some people seem to, but it was fine as a base for exploring and travelling which we did. I wouldnt stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R5970MQRichard_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Pretty site but extremely hard land so take very hard tent pegs. Toilet blocks excellent and clean although one was having work on during our stay. Right in Bournemouth airports path so very noisy even at night.
The ice packs cost 50p each to freeze and the so called food in shop isn't cheap. The shop is mainly full of anything but food, does do lovely croissants however but be prepared to cue as when shop opens at 9 it's every man for themselves and the lack of staff doesn't help. The person showing you to your premium pitch was a nice touch but to say it was level would be a joke, it was far from it.
The area we were given also attracted all the kids and there bikes as not many cars came down there. The site is ideal for kids on bikes as there is loads of concrete runways as it's a disused ww2 airstrip.
I won't be back but can see why people with young kids would. Also if you need to contact them, make sure you've done it prior to your trip in pm as we tried on am of arrival (Monday, not b/h) and no one answered, after 2 hours at least, I gave up.
The ponies outside the site and scenary is beautiful. If you go visit Mudford and it's lovely long beach and quay were you can go crabbing. Cafe also does lovely food. Christchurch quay does a boat trip to Mudford.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lesley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We made the mistake of reading the trip advisor comments after we had booked and paid but before we had left for our holiday. Some of the comments were really awful and we had a little panic thinking we may have just booked a bad site.
Our panic was completely unfounded.
It really is a lovely campsite, the facilities were clean and spacious. The site was well maintained Ultimately it is a campsite and i think sometimes people can forget that. There was one occasion when the toilets smelt a little unpleasant but that was down to other peoples lack of respect for other toilet dwellers - i.e. Flush the toilet after you have used it and use the tampon bins provided!!
You could not fault the staff who were helpful and friendly.
The shop is well stocked, they sell fresh coffee and they have fresh pastries every morning.
My only personal irk was that the shop did not open until 9am but ultimately we were camping so the fact that there was a shop at all was a bonus!
We did not take bikes - big mistake! However there is a delivery and collection service from the campsite for bike hire, discounts are given for longer hire and it is a definite must have, especially if you have children!
All in all a really lovely campsite that we plan to re-visit.
The one downfall to our holiday was that we only stayed for 4 nights and wished we had stayed longer.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Briony2307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The site itself is perfectly located. Loads of horses and cows roaming about (none in the actual site). Really close to the beaches as well and a short drive to loads of attractions.
Onsite a good shop, not always stocked enough, but it was very busy, one day no fresh milk left in the afternoon.

The onsite toliets, showers and dishwashing is great, about 3-4 blocks. Never got that busy. They are not hotel standard, but its more than clean enough for a campsite, hot water and very friendly staff.

Lots of drinking water points and we also had an electricity supply which was great.

Downsides (not the campsite though, its everywhere)- you always get some inconsiderate people who insist at 11pm in big groups shouting out goodnight to each other for half an hour or just going on till midnight and ignoring the 10.30pm guidelines to enable others to enjoy some shuteye with young families. It is a big site, a little more 'policing' by the staff would be good to enable the majority to enjoy a little peace and quiet late at night.

The site is brilliant though for people with kids and want all the 'necessities to hand' and accept that it is not totally quiet.

Kids loved the site and the holiday, would most definitely visit again.

Room Tip: Pot luck, find a spot when you arrive, stay away from the bins and shower blocks and perimeters bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We had booked 5 nights here in August as had heard it was as good as Hollands Wood and thought we would try somewhere different, it was very busy and we had the choice of a flat exposed windy area or a sloped grassy area with more trees, as we had a 1 year old with us we opted for the area with the trees, mistake! We felt like we were sliding down hill all night and spent miserable night shivering with cold and putting up with the noise as it seems no one takes notice of the supposedly quiet times after 10pm anymore, we queued in the morning for well over half an hour to use the family room as our 1 year old hates showers and after a women finally came out with a gaggle of children we found ourselves in a grotty tiny room which was filthy with a broken shower and nowhere to wash or place our child off the dirty floor. We gave up with that and gave the key back, as the rest of the toilets and showers were soo dirty and filthy and we couldn't stand another night there we decided to move on to somewhere else. The managers were very apologetic and sorted out a refund for our remaining nights which very quickly went back into my account and we moved onto a b&b!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kate488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southampton
1.4 mi away
The Blue Keys
The Blue Keys
#1 of 24 in Southampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
1.6 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#9 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,635 reviews
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel
1.6 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre
2.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holmsley Campsite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holmsley Campsite

Property: Holmsley Campsite
Address: off A35 Lyndhurst-Christchurch Road | 8 miles SW of Lyndhurst, Southampton BH23 7EQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Southampton
Number of rooms: 600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holmsley is a campsite steeped in history. Occupying part of what used to be Holmsley Airfield in the Second World War, it is one of 12 wartime airfields and Advanced Landing Grounds in the New Forest. Indeed, the aircraft hard standings and taxiways are now the campsite roads and parking spots! Facilities Premium pitches Tents Touring caravans Motorhomes Trailer tents Jumbo tent pitches Grassy pitches Grass pitch with electric hook up Hardstanding pitch Hardstanding pitch with electric hook up Seasonal pitches Unsheltered site Toilets Showers Washbasins Electric razor sockets Separate disabled facilities Family shower room Chemical toilet disposal Drinking water taps Motorhome service pointstop off Dishwashing facilities Laundry Ice pack freezing facility Gas cylinders Battery charging facility Shop Childrens play area Takeaway Pets welcome The campsite is close to the rural villages of Burley and Bransgore, with shops including a bakery, chemist, and chip shop. The site is predominantly grass, meaning there is a lot of space for the children to play. It also offers direct access to forest walks and safe cycling tracks; ideal for exploring the local flora and fauna with the whole family. Onsite there is a fully equipped shop that sells a wide range of groceries, camping essentials and games to ensure that your holiday runs as smoothly as possible. There is also an excellent take away; perfect after a busy day exploring the forest and when you want to put your feet up in your tent and relax. Opening time will vary throughout the season. Next to the site there is a large heathland which is fantastic for a spot of nature watching. Free-roaming ponies, cattle and deer are frequent visitors, and you might see squirrels, badgers and foxes if you are lucky. New Forest woodlands are thought by the locals to be at their very best in the autumn, during the annual Pannage season. At this time the forest turns crimson and gold and echoes to the sound of rutting deer. Holmsley is close to several stunning beaches including Barton on Sea, with Bournemouth and Poole just a drive away. Premium pitches are available onsite, and there are also toilets, showers and a launderette available. Please remember to bring your rock pegs for this site. Due to the low level of lighting campers must pitch up before dark. Pitch types at Holmsley There are 600 pitches at Holmsley, made up of standard and premium pitch types. This campsite also have space to take RV units. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Holmsley Campsite Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing