We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holmsley Campsite
Nearby Hotels
US$137
US$125
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$103
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$127
US$98
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$102
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Express Southampton M27 Jct 7(Southampton)(Great Value!)
US$102
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$137
US$125
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Highfield House Hotel(Southampton)(Great Value!)
US$70
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$99
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel(Southampton)(Great Value!)
US$88
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (341)
Filter reviews
341 results
Traveller rating
104
120
52
30
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
104
120
52
30
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnew forestrock pegshard standingcamping tripshop on sitelarge sitewell stocked shoplovely siteshower blockgreat pitchflight pathbank holidaywild poniessite stafftoilet facilitiesshort driveplenty of hot water
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
336 - 341 of 341 reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
Totton, Southampton
111
Reviewed 7 March 2006

If you are as lucky as me to live close to the new forest and love campng as much as me you couldnt go far wrong by spending some relaxation time at Holmsley. Everything is so easy there, no mini hitlers to tell you where you can or cant pitch ! freindly staff who are always helpful, a well stocked shop, clean and plentiful showers and acres of space for the kids to wear themselves out in ! Perfect in other words. one word of advise, invest in heavy duty tent pegs. "Brian T"

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Oxford, UK
110
Reviewed 27 September 2005

I wouldn't say that holmsley was a 5 star site but I do have to defend a site that I have basically been brought up on. Since I was a child I have stayed here with my parents in our various caravans in all weathers. I now have my own family and will continue to holiday there at least one week a year with them. As far as the site being in a remote area of the forest, it is fairly easy to find if you use a decent map even in the dark! Its in such aplace that you have the feeling of being in the wide open space away from the hustle and bustle of busy life, i.e. pubs and villages or towns. Its close enough to some nice pubs and restaurants to take a taxi if you want to drink. I would happily recommend the Crown in nearby Bransgore or the Cat and fiddle on the main road between Holmsley village and Christchurch. Because the site is so far away from busy environments and is quiet because of this, the sounds will travel more and so you should expect to hear a fridge closing in a caravan on the field at the other end of the site or someone snoring in a tent nearby. But you just wake up in the morning at about 7 and walk out to see the morning dew that has settled overnight and breath in that fresh air and that is what you are paying your good money for. This is what I think camping and caravanning is all about. You can't expect to have everything your own way, everyone else is there to enjoy the same things and you can bet they have something to say about you as much as you with them. As far as your dogs, they should be fine off the lead with the wildlife, my dogs have never been a problem to us and it is acceptable that dogs must be kept on a lead on site, some children are scared of dogs as are some adults. We always stayed near a stile or the main gate so we could exercise them. The takeaway should be open late and 7 days a week but thats just one of those things, I would just light the BBQ.

Saying all that, everyone is entitled to their own opinions and I fully respect that. Please make sure you are happy with the facts before you book, I admit the booking is a bit crap but then not every reservations desk can be perfect, I had no problem personally. Just enjoy it!

Stayed: April 2005
10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Windsor Berks
112
Reviewed 11 July 2005

We camp regularly, usually in Scotland where we have been to a big variety of sites from small and select to huge family centres with club, on site pool etc. We went to Holmsley with a group of 50 friends but I don't intend to go again. The site was fairly flat, the toilets were clean and the weather was good as was the company so we were OK but there was a lot wrong with the site.

BOOKING
1. We couldn't do a block booking and I don't understand why.
2. We tried for over a week to book. The phone line was only open 9-5 and we were constantly put on hold.
3. We had problems booking on the internet because our card expired at the end of the month we were trying so hard to book!

FACILITIES
4. The size of the site created problems. The layout was quite confusing. There weren't many ways of checking where you were because there were no marked pitches. I really feel a site that large would have been better for marked pitches.
5. Because there were no pitches people sort of got in each others way. One family really got on our nerves because their kids kept playing round our car. Even my placid partner told them to go in the end.
6. There were only 3 toilet blocks. For some reason, they were all in the areas with electric hook ups. We were in the tent area at the end and it was a real hike to the loo. Most of the men just pee'd in the woods after dark.
7. There was no security lighting at night.
8. The take away was shut on Sundays.
9. There were no facilities for adults at all and we were nowhere near a pub even.
10. There WAS a play area for toddlers but there was nothing for older kids, say the over 7s.

NOISE
11. On the Friday night there were people playing guitars and singing at 11.30. I went over and asked them to stop and they did.
12. Aside from them, the noise levels generally were unbelievable. People were shouting, banging car doors etc till gone 1 o'clock. On Saturday night there was a major argument featuring some women shouting the odds and swearing and some blokes who I guess had gone to complain.

DOGS
13. We took our dog and she nearly went stir crazy. There were no marked exercise areas and we had to keep her on a lead all the time. There were ponies and cattle outside the camp and I didn't feel I could let her off there either. There were no disposal bins for dog muck. (I think our friends may have been tipped off since we were the only ones daft enough to take a dog!)

PRICE
14. Not cheap.

Stayed: July 2005
12  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
BASINGSTOKE, HANTS
112
Reviewed 11 September 2003

Found it eventually in the dark! First impression: busy, big, friendly. Toilets and showers were very clean and were well situated. Park was good for the kids. Only one disappointment: the shop and take away closed to early. Other than that the visit was very enjoyable.

12  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews