We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Location”
Review of Ashurst Campsite

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Southampton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ashurst Campsite
Certificate of Excellence
St Mary Bourne
Level 6 Contributor
262 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Brilliant Location”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Having read the previous negative reviews around staff rudeness I approached our weekend stay with interest. We were four families (dads and kids) 3 tents 1 van. The site is great in that it is large, well presented, some good areas for game playing, great cycle routes for the kids. The shower block was shiny clean and a pleasure to use.

There is no camp shop.

As to the staff there are plenty of them and they are out and about, did see them picking up litter and suchlike. Yes they are slightly officious we were told in the first half hour not to hang a rubbish bag from a tree. As BBQs were lit the guy came and told us not to burn logs there was a fairly long explanation of how logs might not be burnt through and horses nosing about may burn their noses. This was the only info we had received didn't see a problem with it they were just letting us know the drill. Our kids played lots of noisy games and slept soundly, no drama.

What is really cool is how close this site is to the motorway, it's only minutes away and you would never know it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    64
    19
    21
    25
See reviews for
89
54
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We are a family of five (me and wifey, and three children 8,5 and 3). We camp regularly and try and choose sites that will get the kids away from iPads, TV's and Xboxes and having visited this site around 14 years or so ago when child free, we decided to try it again this week. Important to us are wide open spaces, areas where the children can explore yet remain in view and good facilities. The latter is a given here as the toilets and showers are great but apparently, someone complained that our children were laughing to much and making too much noise playing dinosaurs in an unoccupied area of woodland immediately next to our pitch. This complaint was made at around midday when many other children were running around and enjoying the great outdoors yet the rather than explain this to the complainants and ask them to accept that during school holidays there may be children roaming wild, the park rangers instead told us politely to ask our children to stop playing. Worth mentioning is that our children are not animals, they have been taught respect to others and their environment and would never seek to irritate people yet the ranger made us feel like a chav family allowing their ferrel kids to run riot which simply wasn't the case.

My son and I are keen bush crafters and I would have thought that introducing kids to the wonders of UK forestland is important - but perhaps not as important as keeping a couple of old meanies in the caravan happy

Don't let this put you off bringing your family here - just be aware that some people are just plain miserable. Also of note is how helpful the general staff are - the girls on reception (hut) Andy and the great guy we talked about motor homes with!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Markncat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

stayed here over a bank holiday weekend (was a bit wet) booked in advance and has it had been wet they managers were restricted on places available to pitch up, as we were in a camper van we could only go on the hard standing pitch, there was only about 4 or 5 left but, we found a nice spot not to far from the facility block.

Very clean facilitys, plenty of hot water & toliet paper, chemical toilet disposal and grey waste drive over pit.

cycle track leaving the site straight out into the forest, large pub right next door over a field, easy walk into Ashurst and nice little cycle into Lyndhurst.

Cows, horses and ponies wander around the site, very well ran, and onsite staff very good.
some rules to stick to, but these allow for a good stay, not for groups of younger people couples and young familes will love it.

will definatly return, although an electric hook up would be great.

Room Tip: get there early as pitches are not allocated
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Collo68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I stayed here for a weekend in May. A very picturesque campsite, pleasant and helpful staff, very clean facilities and lots of space. Would definitely go back. (Keep to the west of the site if train noise bothers you).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Matt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We have just returned from a weekend at Ashurst Campsite and absolutely loved it. The site is in a great location, with good facilities. Also, the staff on site were really friendly and helpful.

We will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChelsW89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

nestled between the A35 (main road through the New forset) and a high speed railway line, this is hardly the peaceful campsite we expected. It is barely in the New Forest and so close to Southampton you can see the aircraft circling for the airport. nevertheless the site is pretty, lost of choice where to pitch. Some boggy areas, but that was not unexpected given recent weather. We happened to choose a weekend with a influx of midges and mosquitos and were bitten to pieces, but again, hardly the campsite's fault.
The staff moaning about the state of the washing up room was irritating.
The 3 day old pony with its mum wandering around the site was a treat.

Room Tip: If you can hack the road noise, the pitches at the boundary are good- some privacy with trees and op...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SurreyLils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

3 adults shared 1 big tent for Friday/Sat night camping at end of April 2014. Very quiet at this time plenty of spaces to pitch although it had been raining so we were a little more selective as a few puddles had started to form.
Some bit are gravely so take decent pegs and a mallet.
Quite a big camp site and well laid out so you can tuck yourself away or be as close as you like to the facilities.
Toilets and showers were great, always clean, as were the washing up facilities. Plentiful water taps about the camp site. Bins/recycling located appropriately.
Always saw staff out maintaining the site, keeping in clean and tidy, they always smiled and said hello. Staff at reception were really nice and knowledgeable about the area, advising on places to walk and things to do.
The pub just by the entrance to the site is a lovely traditional pub serving good food and looked to have a nice garden although we didn't get to enjoy it as the rain came when we were there. There is also a chippy, Chinese and Indian just round the corner for those less in to camping cooking.
Decent maps are on sale that show you all the local area and places to walk, we didn think and should have brought along the one we already had. Nice walk in to Lyndhurst through the woods, if its been raining then you will need wellies!
All in all no complaints and most enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Bring wellies if its been raining for a few days!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southampton
4.4 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,605 reviews
2.0 mi away
Lime Wood Hotel
Lime Wood Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lyndhurst
1,273 reviews
1.4 mi away
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Woodlands
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
1,155 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beaulieu
788 reviews
5.1 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashurst Campsite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashurst Campsite

Property: Ashurst Campsite
Address: A35, 5 miles south west of Southampton, Southampton SO4 2HH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Southampton
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for seasoned or novice campers, this beautiful campsite is set in a woodland glade, surrounded by the majesty of ancient oak trees. Set on the edge of a small area of woodland known as Ashurst Wood, the wood opens up onto Matley Heath, an expanse of New Forest heathland criss-crossed with tracks ideal for walking or cycling. With countless direct routes into the unique New Forest environment via cycle and footpaths, this is a perfect base for exploring local flora and fauna. From the sanctuary of your tent you may be lucky enough to spot deer during quieter times and see the famous New Forest and Shetland ponies roaming freely. Unfortunately dogs are not allowed, however guide dogs are. There is also no electricity, however, there are toilets, a refurbished shower block and a launderette. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ashurst Campsite Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing