We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (277)
Filter reviews
277 results
Traveller rating
229
36
7
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
229
36
7
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssuperb hostsenglish breakfastselection of cerealsplace to stayquiet areabed and breakfastbus stopguest houseroom was largepower showerroom was clean and comfortableyogurtbreakfast was deliciousvisit southamptonwould definitely stay here againtwo nightscentral station
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 277 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2018 via mobile

Roddy and his wife are so lovely, and friendly. Nothing is too much trouble. The rooms and building are so clean, the carpets look Brand new throughout. Breakfast was delicious just the right portion size. Very quiet at night no door bells ringing because the door is coded so every guest let's themselves in. Do not change a thing!

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank vikkiandwade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2018

Hi booked for 1 night based on the reviews and the owner was great. Ok I dont like seperate charges for breakfast but thats a small thing.

Issue 1: stayed in room 10 and the socket that had been pat tested a few weeks ago did not work but sadly this was not next to my bed as there were none. got up in morning to find mobile had not charge to be carefull
Issue 2 breakfast: spoon for cereal was huge and I have big mouth on a big head!! my business partner agreed
Issue 3: coffee filter was not working so coffee was full of bits. nice touch freash coffee but drinking ground beans is not nice!
Issue 4: was not asked about colour of toast and then the owner was giving the asian woman a hard time whilst we were eating. Sounded like her husband / pal/ son was meant to be working but had cleared off. Not good hearing this whilst eating breakfast. also only 2 small butters on the plate so took more of another table. never understood why places dont provide enough considering how cheap they are
Issue 5: not enough parking and tring to turn you car around when the rear car park is full is tricky . we were in a family car anything bigger would have been even more fun
issue 6: was told bill would be under the door. had to ask for it and though it had a vat number not seperate vat ammount was there

put simply this is 4 star but more like an average 3 with a nice host. sorry pal but i can not give you a high score based on the problems we had and please put plugs near the bed and make sure they work.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daveinglasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018

Ive stayed here a couple of times and its lovely,
clean, comfortable, very welcoming
breakfast was lovely nothing is too much trouble
lovely couple who run it i was there on business
would defiantly recommend

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2017 via mobile

Stayed in a twin room with my mum and we had a lovely large room on the first floor overlooking the front. Did not get up in time to try their breakfast so cannot comment on this but pleasant short stay and good location for visiting a relative who lives nearby. Will stay again.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Holly1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2017

We really enjoyed our stay here in a beautiful old traditional house. Jihea and Roddy were very friendly and welcoming. The room was very comfortable with everything we could need, and a delicious breakfast. There is a cosy lounge and bar which looked inviting although we weren't there long enough to use it. An easy walk to/from the theatre and railway station, around 10- 15 minutes walk. We thoroughly enjoyed our Southampton weekend and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fran D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews