We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Parking?!?! 11 rooms and only 3 spaces”
Review of Landguard Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Landguard Lodge
Ranked #25 of 43 Southampton B&B and Inns
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Parking?!?! 11 rooms and only 3 spaces”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

I work away from home and travel by car so when i book a hotel/b&b i always ask if they have parking available and the owner John told me he did. I got there after work on Monday to find there was only 3 parking spaces at the front which are VERY tight. Luckily there was one available but it was so close to the other car they wouldn't have been able to get in. I was really quite annoyed as i was expecting parking like the owner said anyway i knocked on the door and John came out and i asked him where am i suppose to park? He said find a space in the road which was full, this annoyed me further. After waiting in my car for 5 mins thinking that i wish i had never booked here i found a spot down the road.

John said he had parking which is not a lie but VERY MISLEADING when you have 11 rooms and only 3 spaces. I think he should be more HONEST and say he only has 3 TIGHT spaces.
Also you cannot park on the road between 8am and 6pm also the spaces are very limited.

There are several B&B's on the same road all next door to each other all with about 3 spaces at the front apart from Hunters Lodge who have 10.

He also demanded payment up front and said this is our policy. This was NOT mentioned prior to me arriving. I asked if i could pay tomorrow as i needed to go to the cash point but he said no, so i gave him £100 which is all i had at the time.

I stayed in a double it was clean. Just watch you dont burn yourself as the water in the hot tap is VERY hot after about a minute

wifi was a 4 out of 10

Breakfast was about a 6 out of 10

I would stay again if i had no other choice. I didn't like the fact that he mislead me just to get my business and demanded payment up front.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Revelatio00x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    12
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
12
7
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kingsbridge
1 review
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Pros:

1) the room was clean and in good condition
2) the bed was comfortable
3) the breakfast was tasty: two rashers of bacon, one sausage, mushrooms, tomato, eggs, toast, tea, cereal
4) the host was friendly and welcoming
5) the price was reasonable


Cons:

None that I can think of. The radio didn't work properly, but it didn't matter because I could get radio on the TV.

Room Tip: I was in room 5, which had a nice big bathroom, and it was at the back of the house, so was pretty q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank True G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2012

I am just back home and I can't help but write about my stay in this lovely B&B. I was staying in this charming b&b for two weeks (no weekends) for the purposes of my studies and exams and I was totally happy with it. The owner/manager, John, was very friendly and helpful with the booking, accommodation,any requests that I had and really makes the guest feel welcome.
The room I stayed at was a twin room, spacious with large windows, en suite, very cosy and very clean. The room was made up every day as well. Bathroom was very clean, small, but yet functional and comfortable. Towels were crispy white and smelled nice.
There were coffee and tea facilities refreshed every day, flat screen tv and free wi-fi!
Breakfast is served in a nice dining room, typical English breakfast, which I personally am not very fond of. However, there is a plenty of cereals, juices, toasts, just as per the menu on their website.
Location - on a quite street with quite a few other b&b-s,very convenient for the station, 5 min
walking to the station. There is a parking, 3 spaces in front of the house and across the street you can park over the night.
All in all, the place is a perfect place, clean, comfortable, quiet and definitely value for money!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RadostVV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Stayed here one night while watching a comedy show.
The owner was lovely and very welcoming. The room had everything we needed and was very clean. Bed was comfortable. The breakfast the next morning was lovely. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2012

We stayed as a family group at Landguard Lodge: older grandparents in a twin room and mum/aunt and two children in a family room. We were made extremely welcome, and had lots of contact with the owner in the week beforehand to make sure we were clear about and happy with arrangments for our stay. The whole place was spotlessly clean, with warm, comfortable and well-equipped rooms in which everything worked. Breakfast was a real treat! Our trip to Southampton was a 1-off trip down memory lane, but we will be back to stay at Landguard Lodge and see a show at the Mayflower just down the road.

The price we paid was a real bargain for such a great stay.

Room Tip: Family room on the top floor (no 12) was spacious and very well-organised.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank welshrainbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2012

All you could ask for. The room was very clean and warm and the TV worked perfectly. The bathroom appeared to be newly installed and the towels were crisp and well cleaned. Had a great night's sleep and then the breakfast was amazing. I already booked again for next week.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl-TFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wildbird@aol.com
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Stayed four nights at Landguard Lodge (not to be confused with Landguard House). The hosts were very helpful and efficient. The room was a first floor twin with double and single beds. Extremely clean and newly furnished, excellent beds and modern bathroom. Breakfast was great, as you like it. After an unpleasant B&B the night before, Landguard was a heaven sent! Very comfortable and well located. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Front rooms seem to be larger and have nice windows to open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rexWildbird_aol_com
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.5 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 24 in Southampton
1,709 reviews
0.2 mi away
Asturias House
Asturias House
#24 of 43 in Southampton
8 reviews
0.1 mi away
Landguard House
Landguard House
#14 of 43 in Southampton
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Flying Dutchman Hotel
Flying Dutchman Hotel
#35 of 43 in Southampton
7 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mayview Guest House
Mayview Guest House
#27 of 43 in Southampton
48 reviews
0.0 mi away
Argyle Lodge
Argyle Lodge
#19 of 43 in Southampton
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Landguard Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landguard Lodge

Property: Landguard Lodge
Address: 21 Landguard Road | Shirley, Southampton SO15 5DL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Southampton
Hotel Class:4 star — Landguard Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Landguard Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing