We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Elizabeth House Hotel
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We had a family room for myself, wife & daughter (adult!), which was very spacious & comfortable. Staff very friendly & helpful. Breakfast was one of the best I've had in a hotel for years - freshly cooked, good choice, plenty of it & delicious! They even had Marmite & Peanut Butter available for toast!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WiltshireFlax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    143
    31
    6
    4
See reviews for
90
127
24
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Livingston, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Stayed at this hotel for our first ever family holiday with our 7.5month old. Room was a good size and at the back with made it very quiet. Room very comfortable and spotlessly clean. The owners and all the staff were very friendly and could not do enough for us. They even spotted things that would be helpful to us before we did. Breakfast was delicious and efficient. Location is excellent with a nice 10 to 15 mins walk into the city center. Would not hesitate to stay here again if we had the need.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Campbell T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Our third stay there and obviously we would have no hesitation in recommending it. Good size bedroom which was spotlessly clean. Excellent breakfast which was plentiful. Yes, book the Elizabeth hotel and you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Jays200810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

We stayed here for one night whilst visiting our daughter, who is at the university and lives just around the corner in Portswood.We requested adjoining rooms for ourselves and our 15 year old son, but our room was very spacious and had an additional single bed, so we could easily have shared. The ensuite facilities were very good. We chose to eat out at the Cowherds inn, just five minutes walk along the road. Breakfast was excellent, and our daughter joined us, at no charge, which we really appreciated as a kind gesture.We would definitely stay here again and have no hesitation in recommending it.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DLR1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

We stayed one night here whilst delivering my son to university. We had Room 21, one of three refurbished rooms, and it was ideal for our requirements. Very spacious, comfortable bed (neither too hard nor soft), well decorated, and plenty of room to move around in the bathroom. Good shower with plenty of hot water.
Breakfast was excellent.
The hotel is situated on a main road, although set back from it, and room 21 is at the front. I am quite sensitive to noise when I'm sleeping but didn't find the traffic a problem. (NB It was autumn so we didn't have the window open). Just flagging up that this might possibly be an issue for some.
Service was very good and the owner was helpfully able to recommend an excellent Indian restaurant (Kuti in Oxford St) to us.
Will definitely return.

Room Tip: Refurbished rooms are 21, 14 &16
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank perjam55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

A well situated hotel for looking around Southampton and well placed for the University which we were visiting.
Good clean comfortable room, well furnished and decorated and quiet.
Traditional hotel with breakfast being served rather than a buffet. Good service, would recommend. No horror stories here!!

Room Tip: The back rooms will be quieter as it is near a main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clipclop62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

We needed a hotel for one night as we were visiting a friend in Portswood. Once again, we returned to this hotel after an absence of two years. It was even better than before. We were given a spacious room with all mod cons - spotlessly clean, courtesy tray, immaculate bathroom, excellent comfortable beds and chairs, and flat screen television.
Breakfast was a feast with cereals , grapefruit halves, fruit juices, yogurts, ham, cheese and a large choice and variation of full Engllish, and two fish dishes. We shall definitely return, hopefully not having left it for so long.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lacey27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.5 mi away
The Blue Keys
The Blue Keys
#1 of 24 in Southampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,680 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
1.1 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#9 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,635 reviews
0.8 mi away
Highfield House Hotel
Highfield House Hotel
#13 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elizabeth House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elizabeth House Hotel

Property: Elizabeth House Hotel
Address: 43-44 The Avenue, Southampton SO17 1XP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Southampton
#5 Romantic Hotel in Southampton
#5 Business Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Elizabeth House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Elizabeth House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elizabeth Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing