We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired and dusty but great breakfast!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Elizabeth House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights recently.
The first room we were shown to was horrible.It was in the annexe next door.The paint was peeling off the windows and the hall and stairs very grubby.The room was really dusty-you could write your name in it.The bathroom ceiling was covered in mould.
The second room we were offered (no. 5)was better but still very tired and still dusty in places.The ensuite had a very annoying creaky floor and ,apart from the windowsill , nowhere to put anything.The skirting boards needed a good clean.
The bath was huge with lots of hot water and shower over.The towels were nice and white and fluffy.
The bed was very comfortable.A fridge would have been handy.
The breakfast was great.Very generous portions and very tasty.
Most of the staff were very friendly and helpful.
Location wise the hotel is on a very busy road near the common.We DIDNT walk into the centre of town as we had a car but I reckon it would take about 30 mins to get there.
This hotel needs refurbishing and I can see why it only gets 2 stars.In fact the room in the annexe does not deserve ANY stars.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ilovesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (368)
There are newer reviews for Elizabeth House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

237 - 243 of 368 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2013

A great english type hotel in a great town , the hotel was well located , the staff all exceptionally polite and helpful , our room was very welcoming , great furnishings and ambience , we felt really comfortable and at home . We enjoyed a great english style breakfast . So much to see in Southampton , so much history , kept us busy for our stay there , we certainly recommend the hotel .

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rohan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Comfortable beds, quiet (even though it was pretty full), crisply clean linen and towels, a good array of in-room hot drink options and tradtional shower gel / shampoo portions which seems to be something of a dying breed these days, clean throughout and attentive staff. The breakfast is excellent, help-yourself buffet with the main course cooked to order and includes options of haddock or kippers in addition to the usual Full English staple. Only downsides if trying to pick fault would be a minor performance issue on a door which the proprietor is already aware of and a slightly leakily pouring kettle.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

The Elizabeth House Hotel is very conveniently situated for the city centre but also provided a good base to tour the area. The common just a few hundred yards away makes it an ideal place to visit with a dog. We were made very welcome with our pooch with no extra charge for her and no long list of dos and don'ts which are common in other hotels. We had a very spacious ground floor room with easy access to the outside, a large en suite and a comfortable bed. The owners were very friendly as were the rest of the staff and the service was exemplary. We enjoyed a delicious breakfast each morning with a good choice offered. Many of those staying are going on cruises and leave their cars in the car park for the duration but an ingenious system means there is always car parking for everyone. There is a bistro/ bar in the hotel which offers room service at no extra charge which we did not use but is an added attraction. We look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: If travelling with a dog the room right next to reception is ideal.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

I've never really understood the hotel star system but two stars for this hotel just doesn't seem right - three would make more sense. Comfortable room, very decent breakfast and the most helpful and welcoming staff you could wish for.

The only thing I could possibly find to complain about was that the toilet roll was on the holder back to front :-) so that says it all really.

It might seem a bit more expensive than the plethora of budget chains but once you've added on car parking, WiFi, breakfast and service (all included at Elizabeth House) its probably cheaper.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

This hotel has only two stars, But the welcome received, By my self and my wife was four star.
The room number 21 was spacious with a view to the front of the hotel. The breakfast was 1st
class. The in house restaurant, Lizzes, was excellent. The bathroom had been recently refurbished. I will stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VernonWhaleybridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Super location for the Cruise Terminal,car parking no problem, help was at hand to unload and e load 5 suitcases,very friendly staff, along with a really delightfull room,and a real good breakfast.Will book again for our next cruise

Room Tip: Some say a room at the rear would be better but the room we had was on the front no noiose whatsoev...
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barriekc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 25 in Southampton
934 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Blue Keys
The Blue Keys
#1 of 25 in Southampton
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 25 in Southampton
1,739 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 25 in Southampton
1,841 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elizabeth House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elizabeth House Hotel

Address: 42-44 The Avenue, Southampton SO17 1XP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Southampton
#5 Business Hotel in Southampton
#5 Romantic Hotel in Southampton
Price Range: £93 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Elizabeth House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Elizabeth House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elizabeth Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing