We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Elizabeth House Hotel
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
Certificate of Excellence
St.helens
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Second visit”
Reviewed 8 June 2013

This was our second stay at Elizadeth House Hotel and i am pleased to report no dropping of the high standards for service and cleanliness. The warm welcome and great breakfast will see us return next time we cruise from Southampton.

Room Tip: We prefer the main house to the annex
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyChapSt_helens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    146
    31
    6
    4
See reviews for
93
129
24
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013 via mobile

When we arrived the owner immediately came out to help us. That act of kindness summed up our stay. The hotel is lovely, the staff can't do enough for you, they really care. It is three star service at two star prices. This was our first visit to the hotel but I have no doubt we will be regulars. Thank you for making us feel so welcome, we loved it.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

This was a last minute booking and we needed to take the Dog. We were granted our request for a ground floor room even though they were quite busy. The room was comfortable and very clean and the breakfast really good. The Staff were friendly and warm without being too intrusive. We thought it was excellent value for money and will be back,

Room Tip: We had a ground floor double overlooking the front garden and the beautiful flowering "roddy&qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
55 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights recently.
The first room we were shown to was horrible.It was in the annexe next door.The paint was peeling off the windows and the hall and stairs very grubby.The room was really dusty-you could write your name in it.The bathroom ceiling was covered in mould.
The second room we were offered (no. 5)was better but still very tired and still dusty in places.The ensuite had a very annoying creaky floor and ,apart from the windowsill , nowhere to put anything.The skirting boards needed a good clean.
The bath was huge with lots of hot water and shower over.The towels were nice and white and fluffy.
The bed was very comfortable.A fridge would have been handy.
The breakfast was great.Very generous portions and very tasty.
Most of the staff were very friendly and helpful.
Location wise the hotel is on a very busy road near the common.We DIDNT walk into the centre of town as we had a car but I reckon it would take about 30 mins to get there.
This hotel needs refurbishing and I can see why it only gets 2 stars.In fact the room in the annexe does not deserve ANY stars.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ilovesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

A great english type hotel in a great town , the hotel was well located , the staff all exceptionally polite and helpful , our room was very welcoming , great furnishings and ambience , we felt really comfortable and at home . We enjoyed a great english style breakfast . So much to see in Southampton , so much history , kept us busy for our stay there , we certainly recommend the hotel .

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rohan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Comfortable beds, quiet (even though it was pretty full), crisply clean linen and towels, a good array of in-room hot drink options and tradtional shower gel / shampoo portions which seems to be something of a dying breed these days, clean throughout and attentive staff. The breakfast is excellent, help-yourself buffet with the main course cooked to order and includes options of haddock or kippers in addition to the usual Full English staple. Only downsides if trying to pick fault would be a minor performance issue on a door which the proprietor is already aware of and a slightly leakily pouring kettle.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterbrough, Cambs
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

The Elizabeth House Hotel is very conveniently situated for the city centre but also provided a good base to tour the area. The common just a few hundred yards away makes it an ideal place to visit with a dog. We were made very welcome with our pooch with no extra charge for her and no long list of dos and don'ts which are common in other hotels. We had a very spacious ground floor room with easy access to the outside, a large en suite and a comfortable bed. The owners were very friendly as were the rest of the staff and the service was exemplary. We enjoyed a delicious breakfast each morning with a good choice offered. Many of those staying are going on cruises and leave their cars in the car park for the duration but an ingenious system means there is always car parking for everyone. There is a bistro/ bar in the hotel which offers room service at no extra charge which we did not use but is an added attraction. We look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: If travelling with a dog the room right next to reception is ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
809 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Blue Keys
The Blue Keys
#1 of 24 in Southampton
460 reviews
1.1 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#9 of 24 in Southampton
1,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
1.4 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
1,737 reviews
0.8 mi away
Highfield House Hotel
Highfield House Hotel
#12 of 24 in Southampton
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elizabeth House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elizabeth House Hotel

Property: Elizabeth House Hotel
Address: 43-44 The Avenue, Southampton SO17 1XP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Southampton
#5 Romantic Hotel in Southampton
#5 Business Hotel in Southampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Elizabeth House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Elizabeth House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elizabeth Hotel Southampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing